Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Room in the Dragon Volant - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Room in the Dragon Volant

Joseph Le Fanu

Publisher: Obscure Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This early work by Sheridan Le Fanu was originally published in 1863. Born in Dublin in 1814, he came from a literary family of Huguenot origins; both his grandmother Alicia Sheridan Le Fanu and his great-uncle Richard Brinsley Sheridan were playwrights, and his niece Rhoda Broughton would go on to become a successful novelist. Le Fanu entered Trinity College, Dublin to study law. While there, he was elected Auditor of the College Historical Society, and between 1838 and 1840 published his first series of short stories, which were later collected as The Purcell Papers. At his peak, le Fanu was the leading ghost-story writer of the nineteenth century, and he is now seen as central to the development of the genre in the Victorian era. His work is credited with turning the Gothic's focus from the external sources of horror to the inward effects of terror, thus helping to create the psychological basis for supernaturalist literature that continues to this day. Many of the earliest books, particularly those dating back to the 1900's and before, are now extremely scarce and increasingly expensive. We are republishing these classic works in affordable, high quality, modern editions.
Available since: 10/20/2015.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Curse Of Abundance - cover

    The Curse Of Abundance

    Stories From The Attic

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    I was going to say that it all started with a toothache, but that’s not quite right. It really started the day before, with a decision. A stupid decision made with the sort of offhand nonchalance with which people like me make decisions about places like theirs. It was a bad decision, one that I regret to this day and one that I probably always will. On the other hand, the decision to go to Greece in the first place had been a good one. Though of course that decision wasn’t really mine. It had been the run up to exam season and as the teacher with the highest number of exam classes in the school (and as a consequence the teacher with the highest number of mock examination papers to mark) by the time the half term break came around I was absolutely exhausted. For what seemed like months I was either in the classroom teaching, planning the lessons I would be teaching the following day, or marking examination papers from one of the four exam classes, all of which had multiple papers for me to plough through.
    Show book
  • Lesath - cover

    Lesath

    A. M. Kherbash

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Locked in his dark cell, Greg lay awake in bed, fidgeting with the small cassette recorder, pressing the rewind and stop buttons to listen to the heavy click and spring-loaded clank that initiated and punctuated the faint whirring mechanics. He knew well enough no one was going to come looking for him―not while he was in between jobs, living in a four-door pickup truck, and had traveled to an undisclosed location without telling anyone. 
    What brought him here were rumors of an abandoned building that was said to be part of a black site―rumors that were circulated amongst truckers and drifters: some exaggerated the sinister aspect of the place, detailing with morbid relish the methods of enhanced interrogation that were being developed or deployed there, while others assumed the contrarian position and downplayed the horrors, if not downright dismissed the whole story as hyperbole. 
    Questionable as the lead was, the story seemed too good for an amateur journalist like Greg to pass up. All the same, he did not expect there would be some truth to those rumors, that the building is not quite derelict as he had imagined. And that, thanks to a case of mistaken identity, he was now incarcerated there as an inmate. 
    Greg stopped the rewinding mechanism when he detected rustling and soft thumps coming through the ceiling vent―or thought he did, since the quirky nature of unidentified noise is that it usually ceases whenever one stops to listen. Like a living body, no running building is without its small, unaccountable bumps and muffled clanks; yet even if they're mostly benign noise, at night, they're magnified by the ever-present hush, and their unfamiliarity never fails to inflame the imagination of the sleepless newcomer.
    Show book
  • The Uninvited - A Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    The Uninvited - A Gripping...

    J.A. Baker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Finding Eva presents a suspenseful story of a fragile woman, an unwelcome intruder, and a house full of secrets . . .  
     
    Faye and her husband Hugh have had a traumatic year. Wanting to start again, the couple decides to buy a large rundown property, Cross House, in a village in North Yorkshire, hoping to leave the past behind them. However, the tranquillity is soon ruined when Faye begins to awake, every night, to the sound of somebody creeping around the bedroom. She tries to explain it to Hugh, frightened for the safety of their two children—but Hugh dismisses her claims, thinking she is heading for another breakdown. 
     
    But when Faye discovers some diaries that contain secrets about the family that lived in the house before them, she starts to wonder if the intruder might be closer to home than she first thought. Obsessed with finding answers, Faye is determined to learn about the Wentworth family, a fractured family with a tragic past. And when she learns that Hilary Wentworth fell to her death down the stairs in Cross House, Faye realises she is in mortal danger . . .  
     
    From the bestselling author of The Other Mother and Her Dark Retreat, The Uninvited is a brooding and suspenseful thriller.
    Show book
  • The Sea of Lost Girls - A Novel - cover

    The Sea of Lost Girls - A Novel

    Carol Goodman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author 
    In the tradition of Daphne du Maurier, Shari Lapena, and Michelle Richmond comes a new thriller from the bestselling author of The Lake of Dead Languages—a twisty, harrowing story set at a prestigious prep school in which one woman's carefully hidden past might destroy her future. 
    Tess has worked hard to keep her past buried, where it belongs. Now she's the wife to a respected professor at an elite boarding school, where she also teaches. Her seventeen-year-old son, Rudy, whose dark moods and complicated behavior she's long worried about, seems to be thriving: he has a lead role in the school play and a smart and ambitious girlfriend. Tess tries not to think about the mistakes she made eighteen years ago, and mostly, she succeeds.  
    And then one more morning she gets a text at 2:50 AM: it's Rudy, asking for help. When Tess picks him up she finds him drenched and shivering, with a dark stain on his sweatshirt. Four hours later, Tess gets a phone call from the Haywood school headmistress: Lila Zeller, Rudy's girlfriend, has been found dead on the beach, not far from where Tess found Rudy just hours before.  
    As the investigation into Lila's death escalates, Tess finds her family attacked on all sides. What first seemed like a tragic accidental death is turning into something far more sinister, and not only is Tess's son a suspect but her husband is a person of interest too. But Lila's death isn't the first blemish on Haywood's record, and the more Tess learns about Haywood's fabled history, the more she realizes that not all skeletons will stay safely locked in the closet.
    Show book
  • Cursed - A Ghosts of Thores-Cross Short Story - cover

    Cursed - A Ghosts of...

    Karen Perkins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jennet's back. No one's safe. 
    A skeleton is dug up at the crossing of the ways on Hanging Moor, striking dread into the heart of Old Ma Ramsgill - the elderly matriarch of the village of Thruscross. And with good reason. The eighteenth-century witch, Jennet, has been woken. 
    A spate of killings by a vicious black dog gives credence to her warnings and the community - in particular her family - realise they are in terrible danger. 
    Drastic measures are needed to contain her, but with the imminent flooding of the valley to create a new reservoir, do they have the ability to stop her and break her curse?
    Show book
  • The Spirit Engineer - cover

    The Spirit Engineer

    A.J. West

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘A fiendishly clever tale of ambition, deception, and power.’ DERREN BROWN 
    Belfast, 1914. Two years after the sinking of the Titanic, high society has become obsessed with spiritualism, attending séances in the hope they might reach their departed loved ones. 
    William Jackson Crawford is a man of science and a sceptic, but one night with everyone sitting around the circle, voices come to him – seemingly from beyond the veil – placing doubt in his heart and a seed of obsession in his mind. Could the spirits truly be communicating with him or is this one of Kathleen’s parlour tricks gone too far? 
    Based on the true story of Professor William Jackson Crawford and famed medium Kathleen Goligher, and with a cast of characters including Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Harry Houdini, The Spirit Engineer conjures a haunted, twisted tale of power, paranoia and one ultimate, inescapable truth... 
    PRAISE FOR THE SPIRIT ENGINEER 
    ‘I adored this book. Haunting, witty and deeply moving, The Spirit Engineer is surely set to become a gothic classic. I was instantly drawn into the mystery and swept along by the shocking twists and turns. A beautifully written novel.’ JODIE WHITTAKER, ACTOR 
    ‘A.J. West has history at his fingertips and writes brilliantly - so clever it makes your head spin! The Spirit Engineer is a work of true invention and drama that moves at a cracking pace from the very first page and keeps you guessing. A compelling and daring book.’ JEREMY VINE, BROADCASTER 
    ‘Set in a historical moment where science and spiritualism meet, The Spirit Engineer is an ingeniously plotted debut novel.’ SARAH BURTON, AUTHOR OF THE STRANGE ADVENTURES OF H 
    ‘A marvellous and menacing gothic chiller, filled with secrets and soaked in atmosphere, in which the ghouls and fiends are not of the other world, but this one...’ NEIL BLACKMORE, AUTHOR OF THE INTOXICATING MR LAVELLE  
    ‘A spooky tale of frustrated ambition, hidden loyalties, and desperation, told with wit, charm and devastating twists. A gothic novel that also manages to make you laugh, even if you shouldn't.’ JONATHAN HARVEY, PLAYWRIGHT 
    ‘With a skilful misdirection that any Edwardian spirit medium would be proud to demonstrate, A.J. West soon turns the screw in this fascinating novel… Obsession builds until the stunning climax of the final shocking séance and its awful repercussions. Was William right to be convinced? Did he prove ghosts exist?’ ESSIE FOX, AUTHOR OF THE SOMNAMBULIST 
    ‘A gripping, gothic story anchored in the political and spiritual chaos of Edwardian Belfast. Part horror, part history, The Spirit Engineer is a chilling and thought-provoking tale of exploitation, faith, deception, fraud, séances, hubris, and prejudice… accomplished and page-turning. Fans of Penny Dreadful and The Nevers will love it.’ GARETH RUSSELL, HISTORIAN AND AUTHOR OF THE SHIP OF DREAMS: THE SINKING OF THE TITANIC AND THE END OF EDWARDIAN BELFAST
    Show book