Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The House by the Church-Yard - cover

The House by the Church-Yard

Joseph Le Fanu

Publisher: Charles River Editors

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu was a famous Irish writer best known for Gothic and mystery fiction.  Le Fanu was the most prominent ghost-story writer in the 19th century.  This edition of The House by the Church-Yard includes a table of contents.
Available since: 03/22/2018.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Eye of the Tigress - cover

    The Eye of the Tigress

    Paul Coggins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Cash McCahill, a criminal lawyer at the top of his game, turns down cartel clients and their dirty money. That is, until a lethal drug czarina, La Tigra, forces him to defend an unwinnable case and win it—or else.Criminal defense lawyer Cash McCahill pleads for his life before a jury of one: La Tigra, the lethal leader of a drug cartel. To avoid ending up as an appetizer for her pet tiger, he promises to defend the case of her choice and win it.When La Tigra calls in the chit, Cash has no way out of cartel hell, except death. Lose at trial, and he will pay with his life. Win, and he becomes the go-to mouthpiece for merchants of death—surviving only as long as he keeps winning.A rival cartel moves into Texas and gives Cash a choice: work for the new killers on the block or die at La Tigra’s side. Bombings on both sides of the border put Cash in the crosshairs of two gangs and two governments.As if there is a difference.To escape the clutches of the cops and the cartels, Cash must broker a ceasefire, but peace and his deliverance will come with a heavy price.
    Show book
  • Black List - Ryan Drake Book 4 - cover

    Black List - Ryan Drake Book 4

    Will Jordan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A nerve-shredding action thriller from the author of Redemption. Fast-paced and gripping, Black List will appeal to fans of David Baldacci, Lee Child and Vince Flynn.With no money and no prospects, hacker Alex Yates's life is going nowhere until he is given a lucrative but dangerous offer – £100,000 to breach the Central Intelligence Agency's network and recover a file known as the ‘Black List'. At first reluctant, the disappearance of an old friend leaves Alex with no choice but to return to a world he'd sworn to leave behind. But before he can unlock the file's secrets, he finds himself the target of a nationwide manhunt. Someone wants him out of the picture fast. Plunged into a deadly race against time, and wanted by police, intelligence operatives and a ruthless covert unit, Alex is left with no choice but to accept help from the violent and unpredictable woman who first hired him.
    Show book
  • James Fabulous Feline - Further Adventures of the Connoisseur Cat - cover

    James Fabulous Feline - Further...

    Harriet Hahn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The excellent adventures of the aristocratic British feline continue as James puts his best paw forward to solve crimes while indulging in the finer things in life James is enjoying life at Baron’s Chambers, the London apartment house where he shares a flat with his sometime handler, an American fine arts agent. But his deductive abilities will be put to the test when he’s called on to detect philatelic forgeries at Thwaites, one of the city’s great auction houses. The recently knighted cat also finds time to coach a croquet team, oversee rehearsals of a sequel to Cats, and help deliver a baby. Not to be outdone by cheesy actors or blundering attorneys, he makes his film debut and testifies in a criminal trial at the Old Bailey. But he has a special place in his heart for St. James’s Palace, the address he longs to call home. This delightful sequel to James the Connoisseur will prove irresistible catnip for feline lovers.James, Fabulous Feline is the 2nd book in the Connoisseur Cat novels, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • The Book Stops Here - A Bibliophile Mystery - cover

    The Book Stops Here - A...

    Kate Carlisle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Brooklyn Wainwright is thrilled to be appearing on the hit TV show This Old Attic as a rare-book expert. Her first subject is a very valuable first-edition copy The Secret Garden. Its owner, Vera, is eager to have Brooklyn recondition it for resale. But a furious man viciously accosts Brooklyn, claiming that Vera found the first edition at his garage sale, and he wants it back - or else. Randolph Rayburn, the handsome host of This Old Attic, is terrified by the man's threats. He confides in Brooklyn that he fears he is being stalked. In the days that follow, Brooklyn visits Vera's flower shop...and discovers her dead. Brooklyn had better find the clever killer soon or more than her chance at prime time may be canceled...permanently.
    Show book
  • Inky Odds - cover

    Inky Odds

    L. Ron Hubbard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The greatest American journalists of the 20th century all made their names on as war correspondents, but none of them would beat out Bat Conroy to a good story. When it comes to the Japanese invasion of China, Bat's always been top dog... until now. An unknown writer is stealing his thunder and maybe even his job — and the most shocking news of all is the true identity of the elusive journalist. Get the news hot off the presses as the audio version of Inky Odds goes to war and delivers the extraordinary story behind the story.
    Show book
  • The Dance Teacher of Paris - An absolutely heart-breaking and emotional WW2 historical romance - cover

    The Dance Teacher of Paris - An...

    Suzanne Fortin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'I actually teared up, reading about the sacrifices those brave people were willing to make in order to save innocent lives. This is a must-read for any historical fiction lover!' NetGalley review, 5 starsOne brave woman will risk her life to save innocent Jewish children in occupied Paris. Paris, 1942. During the dark days of Nazi occupation, Adele Basset continues to teach in her dance studio, providing a beacon of light and hope amongst so much terror and suffering.When the Germans demand the names of her Jewish students, Adele realises they are in terrible danger. Only she can save them. Hiding her Jewish pupils in the school attic, Adele puts her life on the line to keep them safe.As the war rages, keeping her secret becomes more and more dangerous. Adele starts to question who she can trust and just how far she will need to go to protect the innocent children in her care.She must find a way for them to escape, if they have a chance of making it out of Paris alive...  An absolutely heart-breaking and unforgettable novel about the strength of the human spirit and the courage of ordinary people in the darkest days of war. Fans of The Lost Girls of Paris, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Rose Code will be hooked from the very first page. Readers are gripped by The Dance Teacher of Paris:'Heart-wrenching and emotive read that is also full of hope... I couldn't put it down' NetGalley review, 5 stars'Beautiful dual timeline book... a captivating story that will take you on an emotional journey...  I simply couldn't put it down' NetGalley review, 5 star'The best book I have read all year... I couldn't put it down' NetGalley review, 5 stars'Grabs the heart... I recommend this for anyone who likes historical fiction' NetGalley review, 5 stars
    Show book