Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
It's a Stupid Game; It'll Never Amount to Anything - The Golf Cartoons of Joseph Farris - cover

It's a Stupid Game; It'll Never Amount to Anything - The Golf Cartoons of Joseph Farris

Joseph Farris

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In his illustrious career as a cartoonist for the New Yorker and other publications, Joseph Farris has created dozens of hilarious cartoons about “the best game in the world at which to be bad.”A.A. Milne had it right, and Farris’s cartoons get to the heart of the game’s wonderful contradiction: over the course of eighteen holes, golf has the capacity to bring great joy and drive you crazy.Farris treats us to the sight of a blissfully happily newlywed with “Just Married” emblazoned on the back of his golf cart; of an archaeologist who discovers a hieroglyph featuring an annoyed-looking pharaoh breaking a golf club over his knee; and a TV-watching husband who rebuffs his naked wife’s amorous advances in no uncertain terms: “Not now, I’m watching Tiger Woods.”It’s been said that real golfers don’t cry.  That may or may not be true.   Joseph Farris’s cartoons are sure to make any golfer laugh.

Other books that might interest you

  • Straight Down the Middle - Shivas Irons Bagger Vance and How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Golf Swing - cover

    Straight Down the Middle -...

    Josh Karp

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Straight Down the Middle is a humorous and insightful account of journalist and former-18-handicap golfer Josh Karp's quest to achieve inner peace and improve his golf game—all through the art of Zen. Assisted by a quirky roster of excellent practitioners of esoteric, Eastern-fueled, nontraditional golf instruction, Karp embarks on a unique journey across the fairways of North America (and Scotland, of course!) that's as funny as it is illuminating. A golf story in the tradition of The Legend of Bagger Vance, Straight Down the Middle is a blend of helpful tips and hilarious memoir that's a must-read for golfers of all stripes and plaids.
    Show book
  • What's Wrong with US? - A Coach's Blunt Take on the State of American Soccer After a Lifetime on the Touchline - cover

    What's Wrong with US? - A...

    Bruce Arena, Steve Kettmann

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Every four years, Americans turn their attention to the world's game-soccer. As recently as 1998, the USMNT merely made up the numbers at the biggest sporting tournament of all, but once Bruce Arena took over the team, American soccer started to find its footing. In the 2002 World Cup, a highly-fancied Portugal team, featuring the great Ronaldo, lost to Arena's US team in a shock 3-2 victory, and but for a handball that wasn't given, they could well have knocked off eventual winners Germany. But that quarter final appearance proved once and for all that the USMNT, like the women's team before them, deserved to be considered a worthy opponent--and that's all thanks to Bruce Arena. 
    When he took over the USMNT, Arena was already the most successful club team coach in US history, having led DC United to the first two championships of the fledgling MLS. Arena--known for his tactical acumen and no-nonsense approach to coaching-inspired and instilled just enough fear into his teams to make them overachieve. By 2016, however, the national team was in a funk-coach Jurgen Klinsmann had brought the team to near elimination during the qualifying rounds for Russia. Cue Arena's return to the stage, and the team's return to form. 
    Arena's book will appear just as the team makes its final preparations for the World Cup, and at last fans will learn what makes this hugely successful coach tick. And the thousands of coaches around the country will turn to What's Wrong With Us? to see exactly how they can instill Arena's blueprint for success on their own bands of young players.
    Show book
  • Waypoints - Seascapes and Stories of Scotland's West Coast - cover

    Waypoints - Seascapes and...

    Ian Stephen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Adventure, memoir, storytelling and celebration of all things maritime meet in Waypoints, a beautifully written account of sea journeys from Scotland's west coast. In the book Ian Stephen reveals a lifetime's love affair with sailing; each voyage honours a seagoing vessel, and each adventure is accompanied by a spell-binding retelling of a traditional tale about the sea. His writing is enchanting and lyrical, gentle but searching, and is accompanied by beautiful illustrations of each vessel, drawn by his wife, artist Christine Morrison. 
     
    Ian Stephen is a Scottish writer, artist and storyteller from the remote and bewitching Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides. He fell in love with boats and sailing as a boy, pairing this love affair with a passion for the beautiful but merciless Scottish coastline, an inspiration and motivating force behind his poems, stories, plays, radio broadcasts and visual arts projects for many years. 
     
    This book will be a delightful and absorbing read for anyone with a passion for sailing and the seas, Scotland's landscape and coastlines, stories and the origins of language and literature.
    Show book
  • Pitino - My Story - cover

    Pitino - My Story

    Rick Pitino

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On September 26, 2017, the biggest recruiting scandal in college basketball history sent shock waves through the world of sports. Caught up in a massive FBI and NCAA investigation—and the intense media spotlight—was Rick Pitino, the Louisville Cardinals’ Hall of Fame coach. Here, from Pitino himself, comes the real story of the  ongoing  case  and the hard truth about how college hoops has been pushed to the brink of disaster by greed, bad actors, and shoe company money. Rick Pitino has spent a lifetime in basketball. He is the recruiting and coaching maestro behind Final Four appearances with three different teams, and National Championships at two of them. He worked the early days of the legendary Five-Star camp and scouted players without the influence of agents, runners, or shoe companies. And he has run today’s recruiting gauntlet of sports apparel marketing, corrupted assistant coaches, unethical youth coaches, and powerful organizations hellbent against him. Rick Pitino has seen it all, dealt with it all, and now tells it all. Pitino is the story of an epic coaching career and the evolution of NCAA basketball to the multi-billion-dollar enterprise it is today. It is also a master’s course on the arts of coaching and recruiting. And in the telling, the one and only Rick  Pitino lays all his cards on the table in addressing scandals of his past and the  current headline-grabbing investigation that led a packed Board of Directors at Louisville to derail his career.
    Show book
  • Titanic: A Passenger's Guide Pocket Book - cover

    Titanic: A Passenger's Guide...

    John Blake

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This guide is a wonderful addition to Conway's best-selling pocket book series that examines this famous ship from a refreshingly different angle. Launched in May 1911, the triple-screw steamer Titanic was the pride of the White Star Line and at that time the largest passenger ship in the world. Built to carry passengers in comfort and luxury on the lucrative transatlantic route, her design, fittings and on board facilites epitomised the spirit of the age in terms of elegance and style.  
     
    Titanic: A Passenger's Guide is a unique guide to all aspects of the ship, incorporating authentic period literature – from sources including White Star Line themselves, Harland & Wolff shipyards, and important publications from the time.
    Show book
  • O God of Players - The Story of the Immaculata Mighty Macs - cover

    O God of Players - The Story of...

    Julie Byrne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Between 1972 and 1974, the Mighty Macs of Immaculata College—a small Catholic women's school outside Philadelphia—made history by winning the first three women's national college basketball championships ever played. A true Cinderella team, this unlikely fifteenth-seeded squad triumphed against enormous odds and four powerhouse state teams to secure the championship title and capture the imaginations of fans and sportswriters across the country. But while they were making a significant contribution to legitimizing women's sports in America, the Mighty Macs were also challenging the traditional roles and obligations that circumscribed their Catholic schoolgirl lives. In this vivid account of Immaculata basketball, Julie Byrne goes beyond the fame to explore these young women's unusual lives, their rare opportunities and pleasures, their religious culture, and the broader ideas of womanhood they inspired and helped redefine.
    Show book