Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
How to Speak and Write Correctly - cover

How to Speak and Write Correctly

Joseph Devlin

Publisher: Midwest Journal Press

  • 3
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Learn the Easy Way to Speak and Write Well. 
I found this book by accident while browsing through a now-defunct Los Angeles bookstore/cafe. It was the luckiest accident of my life.At that point I had been a professional writer for more than twenty years, but I rarely enjoyed my work, and I felt all of it was disposable in one way or another.  
At first, reading this book gave me an incredible, if unfamiliar, feeling of joy and self-confidence. Afterwards, I began to surprise the hell out of myself in terms of what I was able to accomplish.  
This little book is very practical and precise.  
The best plan is to follow the best authors and these masters of language will guide you safely along the way.  
There are chapters devoted to all the essential components to make writing interesting. Devlin delivers a concise book that allows you to starts improving your speech and writing quickly, and covers a truck load of good grammar taught well. 
As Devlin tells it: 
"In the preparation of this little work the writer has kept one end in view: To make it serviceable for those for whom it is intended, that is, for those who have neither the time nor the opportunity, the learning nor the inclination, to peruse elaborate and abstruse treatises on Rhetoric, Grammar, and Composition.  
"To them such works are as gold enclosed in chests of steel and locked beyond power of opening.  
"This book has no pretension about it whatever. It is neither a Manual of Rhetoric, expatiating on the dogmas of style, nor a Grammar full of arbitrary rules and exceptions.  
"It is merely an effort to help ordinary, everyday people to express themselves in ordinary, everyday language, in a proper manner.  
"Some broad rules are laid down, the observance of which will enable the reader to keep within the pale of propriety in oral and written language. Many idiomatic words and expressions, peculiar to the language, have been given, besides which a number of the common mistakes and pitfalls have been placed before the reader so that he may know and avoid them.  
"The writer has to acknowledge his indebtedness to no one in particular, but to all in general who have ever written on the subject.  
"The little book goes forth - a finger-post on the road of language pointing in the right direction. It is hoped that they who go according to its index will arrive at the goal of correct speaking and writing. 
"It is very easy to learn how to speak and write correctly, as for all purposes of ordinary conversation and communication, only about 2,000 different words are required. The mastery of just that many words, and knowing where to place them, will make us not masters of the English language, but masters of correct speaking and writing. 
"To use a big word or a foreign word when a small one and a familiar one will answer the same purpose, is a sign of ignorance. Great scholars and writers and polite speakers use simple words. 
"We find that a great many people who pass in society as being polished, refined and educated use less, for they know less. The greatest scholar alive hasn't more than four thousand different words at his command, and he never has occasion to use half the number. 
"It is the purpose of this book, as briefly and concisely as possible, to direct the reader along a straight course, pointing out the mistakes he must avoid and giving him such assistance as will enable him to reach the goal of a correct knowledge of the English language. It is not a Grammar in any sense, but a guide, a silent signal-post pointing the way in the right direction." 
Every writer should have this book as a ready reference and guide. 
Get Your Copy Now.

Other books that might interest you

  • History of the 101st Airborne Division - Screaming Eagles: The First 50 Years - cover

    History of the 101st Airborne...

    Colonel Robert E. Jones

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The History of the 101st Airborne Division is the epic story of the Division from its activation in August 1942 through the completion of Operation Desert Storm in April 1991. The Division’s progression through the sky took decades of hard work and tens of thousands of dedicated soldiers.      In World War II, the 101st became the first American troops to set foot in occupied France, when, on 6 June 1944, its paratroopers dropped behind enemy lines, clearing the way for the 4th Infantry Division landing on Utah Beach. The Division would become famous for its work in Holland during Operation Market Garden, and for its successful defense of Bastogne, Belgium, during the Battle of the Bulge.      In Vietnam, the “Screaming Eagles” engaged in battle from 1965 to 1972, when they began their evolution to Air Mobile by deploying by helicopter. In the Gulf War, the Division fired the first shots of Operation Desert Storm by destroying Iraqi radar sites, and during ground war of the operation, they made the longest and largest air assault in history.     In every engagement and during the training periods in between, the 101st Airborne Division has honored the words of its first commander, General William C. Lee, that it has a “rendezvous with destiny.” This book is a fitting record of that history, and of the men who are proud to be called “Screaming Eagles.”
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • the princess saves herself in this one - cover

    the princess saves herself in...

    Amanda Lovelace, ladybookmad

    • 10
    • 143
    • 0
    From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.the princess saves herself in this one is the first book in the "women are some kind of magic" series.
    Show book
  • Sons of the Republic of Texas - cover

    Sons of the Republic of Texas

    Turner Publishing

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Sons of the Republic of Texas tells the story of the Republic of Texas beginning with its birth on April 21, 1836. Includes a brief history of the Sons of the Republic of Texas from 1893 to the present. The text is complemented by over 100 pages of family and ancestral biographies of members of the Sons of the Republic of Texas past and present. Indexed
    Show book
  • Shakespeare’s Sonnets - cover

    Shakespeare’s Sonnets

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shakespeare's sonnets is the title of a collection of 154 sonnets by William Shakespeare, which covers themes such as the passage of time, love, beauty and mortality. The first 126 sonnets are addressed to a young man; the last 28 to a woman.
    Show book
  • The Phenomenology of Spirit (The Phenomenology of Mind) - cover

    The Phenomenology of Spirit (The...

    Georg Hegel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perhaps one of the most revolutionary works of philosophy ever written, "The Phenomenology of Spirit" is Hegel's 1807 work that is in numerous ways extraordinary. It begins with a Preface, written after the rest of the manuscript was completed, that explains the core of his method and what sets it apart from any preceding philosophy. The Introduction, written before the rest of the work, summarizes and completes Kant's ideas on skepticism by rendering it moot and encouraging idealism and self-realization. The body of the work is divided into six sections of varying length, entitled Consciousness, Self-Consciousness, Reason, Spirit, Religion, and Absolute Knowledge. A myriad of topics are discussed, and explained in such a harmoniously complex way that the method has been termed Hegelian dialectic. Ultimately, the work as a whole is a remarkable study of the mind's growth from its direct awareness to scientific philosophy, proving to be a difficult yet highly influential and enduring work.
    Show book