Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Pig Goes to Hog Heaven - A Novel - cover

The Pig Goes to Hog Heaven - A Novel

Joseph Caldwell

Publisher: Delphinium Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“A triumphant conclusion” to the spirited Irish trilogy from the author of The Pig Did It and The Pig Comes to Dinner (Richmond Times-Dispatch).   Kitty McCloud, the trilogy’s leading lady, would let these words stand, even were she a reviser of aphorisms rather than a “fixer” of great literary works by the likes of Bronte, Hardy, and Eliot no less, by writing “improved” versions of which she makes an outsized bestselling living that affords her the dubious luxury of living in contentious bliss with her husband, Kieran Sweeney, in their ancient, haunted Irish Castle Kissane. For in Mr. Caldwell’s new comedy—well, tragicomedy, in the truly Irish sense—almost nothing seems to be over—disappeared characters rematerialize, romances that seemed dead burst back to ardent life, and even Taddy and Brid, Castle Kissane’s comely spirits, find new meaning in Yogi’s remark as they resolve themselves into much-longed-for conclusions. And the pig, ah yes, the pig! The pig who started it all by rooting up the bones of the past and tipping many lives topsy turvy—that pig goes wee wee wee all the way—er—home.
Available since: 10/19/2010.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Beautiful - cover

    Beautiful

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A remarkable debut that fills the void after Gone Girl” from the bestselling author of Angel and the Kat and Mouse Murder Mysteries (Betsy Reavley, bestselling author of Broken).   What happens when your innocence is taken away?   Amelia is a happy six years old. Then a chance encounter with a bad man in the park changes everything. Can she ever recover from the trauma in her childhood?   This is Amelia’s story. Follow her as she discovers that life, love and loss can be a killer. And sometimes revenge can be beautiful . . .   “In a year that has seen a few great psychological thrillers published, Beautiful is a standout because of its compelling simplicity.” —Crime Fiction Lover   “You’ll be left thinking about this book long after you finish it.” —Florrie Palmer, songwriter and author of The Decoy
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • The Kat and Mouse Murder Mysteries One to Four - Murder Undeniable Murder Unexpected Murder Unearthed and Murder Untimely - cover

    The Kat and Mouse Murder...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In one ebook volume: the first four books of the bestselling cosy series featuring the female sleuths of the Connection Investigation Agency. 
     
    Murder Undeniable 
     
    Katerina Rowe, a Deacon at the church in the sleepy village of Eyam, is happily married and her work is rewarding. But everything changes when she discovers the body of a man and a badly beaten woman, Beth, in the alleyway behind her husband’s pharmacy. With help from both Beth and her feisty grandmother, Doris, Kat finds herself trying to solve a baffling mystery. 
     
    Murder Unexpected 
     
    Kat and Beth, known as Mouse, have started a private investigation business in the sleepy village of Eyam. When a widow asks the sleuths for help, they find themselves searching for the birth mother of the widow’s husband—and are drawn into a deadly chase where nothing is what it seems. 
     
    Murder Unearthed 
     
    The local police have a double murder to contend with; two dead girls from the same village. Realising the murders aren’t linked, they summon the help of the Connection Investigation Agency, run by Kat, Mouse, and Doris. When it is discovered that one of the murdered girls was pregnant, the case takes an unexpected turn . . . 
     
    Murder Untimely 
     
    Early one morning, a body is discovered on the grounds of a local estate. The police soon learn that the victim is Nicola Armstrong, the mother of a child who disappeared ten years prior to her murder. The Connection investigators are brought in to help, but when a second body is found at Chatsworth, they must race against time to stop a killer.
    Show book
  • Blame - A Completely Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    Blame - A Completely Gripping...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A compelling exploration of the human psyche . . . stands out as an excellent piece of psychological fiction” from the bestselling author of #MeToo (Book Rant Reviews).What if the past came knocking? Frankie is running away from her past and the repercussions of a night that changed her life forever. Hoping for a fresh start she unexpectedly falls in love. Unbeknown to Frankie, the wheels of fate are set in motion when Herbert Dunne, a convicted murderer, is released from prison. When he moves in with Margaret, a woman he has formed an unlikely relationship with, their dark sides gradually emerge allowing their inner demons to blossom. News of Herbert’s release once again rocks the small village of Elkdale, as the locals remember the young woman he murdered. But what is Herbert hoping to achieve by stirring up the past? And who is behind the new spate of murders? One thing is clear—someone is out for revenge. Someone who thinks Frankie and her friends are to blame . . .“With settings I could get lost in, characters that inspired even my dark little heart and the thrill of bad meeting bad, I thoroughly recommend this.” —Melanie’s Reads
    Show book
  • Winterscroft - A Gripping Suspense Thriller - cover

    Winterscroft - A Gripping...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wedding plans at an English manor stir melancholy memories—and angry spirits—in this contemporary gothic thriller. 
     
    When Lavender Paulson dies in a tragic car accident, her family and fiancé Matt are left devastated. As the year’s pass and wounds heal, Matt remains close with the Paulson family, visiting them often at their beautiful home, Winterscroft, in Derbyshire. 
     
    When Matt falls in love again, the Paulsons are happy for him. But when he and his new love Beth announce their engagement, it sets off a series of bizarre and disturbing events. 
     
    As Matt and Beth make plans to wed at Winterscroft, the frightening truth becomes apparent. Lavender is back. And she is not happy.
    Show book
  • Nine Lives - A Gripping Mystery Thriller Full of Twists - cover

    Nine Lives - A Gripping Mystery...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The internationally bestselling author of Blood Red delivers “a masterfully written, first class mystery thriller with a jaw dropping twist” (Once Upon a Time Book Reviews). 
     
    Will this killer ever run out of luck? When DI Erica Cheetham and DS Beth Machin are called to investigate the murder of a young woman, whose naked body is discovered in a river, they realise an old foe is killing again. 
     
    The police realise this new death is linked to a spate of cold case murders and the killer is back. 
     
    Five years earlier, four young women were found murdered, their bodies left in woody areas, and the new victim shares similar hallmarks. 
     
    But why did the killer stop killing for all that time and what has inspired them to start again? 
     
    As more young women fall victim to a vicious and calculating murderer, Erica and Beth find themselves chasing their tails. 
     
    But when a witness is identified the case takes an unexpected and macabre turn. 
     
    Can Erica and Beth bring the killer to justice, or will this case prove too much? 
     
    “Quite a whirlwind of murder . . . Smartly plotted and—as always—so cleverly written, this is a gripping whodunnit.” —Grace J Reviewerlady
    Show book