Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Handball Practice 11 – Extensive and diverse athletics training - Strength and endurance training on the court - cover

Handball Practice 11 – Extensive and diverse athletics training - Strength and endurance training on the court

Jörg Madinger

Publisher: DV Concept

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The present training units can support you in improving your team's handball-specific fitness, especially in terms of speed, speed endurance, and strength.

The strength training units focus on improving core stability with musculoskeletal and dynamic stabilization exercises. Stability plays an important role in handball, as it is crucial to a high physical performance and can prevent injuries.

Considering speed and speed strength, reflexive jumping power, short sprints, and speed endurance are especially important. These skills are essential for succeeding in handball.

The training units combine course strength trainings with short contests and handball-specific exercises, thus showing the possibilities for creating a diverse fitness training that is also fun for the team.

The present training units are designed for older youth teams and adult teams. Hence, certain physical requirements must be met. The exercises can also be used in the training of younger teams, however, you have to make sure that the difficulty level is appropriate for the younger players.


This book contains the following training units:
TU 1 – Series of shots with reflexive jumping power training
This unit focuses on training the jumping power with handball-specific shooting exercises. After warm-up, a coordination run exercise, and a sprint contest, ball familiarization includes jumping and additional exercises with the ball. After the goalkeeper warm-up shooting, reaction time and jumping power are trained in two individual shooting exercises. A closing game completes this training unit.
 
TU 2 – Intensive speed strength/speed strength endurance training with various running directions
This athletics unit focuses on improving speed strength endurance. After warm-up and a short game, five athletics exercises train the various groups of thigh muscles by moving forwards, backwards, and to the side. This training unit is very intense and can thus be incorporated in preparation periods or season breaks.

TU 3 – Handball-specific endurance training with fast break movements
This unit trains handball-specific endurance focusing on running and jumping exercises. After warm-up including a coordination run exercise, ball familiarization includes a passing and running course across the whole court. Goalkeeper warm-up shooting includes a series of 4 shots combined with a subsequent 2-on-2 fast break. The following endurance unit requires jumping exercises and playing 2-on-2 across the whole court alternately. This intense unit ends with a team exercise and a team fast break contest.

TU 4 – Intense athletics training for arms and legs
This intense training unit focuses on athletics training. After warm-up including a game with high running intensity and a coordination run exercise, an athletics course is done. An additional jumping and strength exercise for the arms and a running exercise complete this training unit.

TU 5 – Handball-specific endurance training in game-like situations
This training unit contains a playful, handball-specific endurance unit. Each exercise is characterized by a high running intensity and is directly related to the handball game. After warm-up and ball familiarization as well as goalkeeper warm-up shooting, an endurance course is done. In this, two players have to accomplish a task as opponents. Which team is the first to score eight times? A sprint contest completes this intense training unit.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Chocolate Factory Ghost - cover

    The Chocolate Factory Ghost

    David O'Connell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Archie McBudge knows his lucky underpants must really work, because when he and his mum are summoned to Honeystone Hall in the remote Scottish village of Dundoodle, they find Archie has inherited not only the enormous hall, but the whole of the world-famous McBudge Confectionery Company from Great-Uncle Archibald. That's a new home, a fortune and a lifetime's supply of treats rolled into one!  
     
    But all is not well in Dundoodle, and when Archie reads the mysterious letter his great-uncle left him, he finds himself on a quest to save his family's company from ruin. With the help of his new friends Fliss and Billy, Archie has to try to figure out the puzzles of Honeystone before his sweet future melts away like an ice lolly in the sun! 
     
    Fans of How to Train Your Dragon and Tilly and the Time Machine will be hungry for this delicious mystery full of weird clues, strange creatures, malevolent relatives and lots and lots of SWEETS!
    Show book
  • Unicorn Princesses 1: Sunbeam's Shine - cover

    Unicorn Princesses 1: Sunbeam's...

    Emily Bliss

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Welcome to an enchanted land ruled by unicorn princesses!  
    Cressida Jenkins, a unicorn-obsessed girl who is sure that unicorns are real, is invited to visit, and readers will be thrilled to journey to the Rainbow Realm along with her! In each story, Cressida is called to help a unicorn princess and her sisters in a magical adventure. 
      
    In the first story, a blundering wizard-lizard casts a spell that accidentally robs Princess Sunbeam of her magic yellow sapphire. Without it, she loses her powers--the ability to create light and heat. The only way to reverse the spell is for a human girl who believes in unicorns to find the yellow sapphire and reunite Sunbeam with her gemstone. Sunbeam ventures into the human world and enlists Cressida's help, who is thrilled to visit the Rainbow Realm. But finding Sunbeam's sapphire isn't quite as easy as she thought it would be . . . 
     
    This sweet series is full of sparkle, fun, and friendship.
    Show book
  • Escape Book - The Museum Heist - cover

    Escape Book - The Museum Heist

    Stéphane Anquetil

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Overcome challenges, solve puzzles, and uncover the true culprit in the fourth installment of the Escape Book series! What started as a typical family vacation takes a turn for the worse when you and your grandfather, a security guard at the local museum, find yourselves at the center of a serious scandal. It turns out that one of the museum’s masterpieces was stolen on the same night you and your grandfather were taking an after-hours tour—since you were the only two people there, you’re the prime suspects! To prove your innocence, you must now find the stolen masterpiece by observing, analyzing, and investigating like a real detective! Are you ready for an adventure?
    Show book
  • Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit - cover

    Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit

    Aimée Carter

    • 0
    • 49
    • 0
    "Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." --Booklist on Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
     
    For fans of Rick Riordan and Spirit Animals, this thrilling follow-up to Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den continues the adventures of a boy who can shapeshift into an animal. 
     
    Simon Thorn only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam--one of a secret race who can shift into animals. Now, for the first time in his life Simon has real friends to train and study with at the secret Animalgam Academy. The only missing part is his mother, held captive by his evil grandfather, Orion, who's bent on taking over the animal world.  
     
    To rescue his mom, Simon must head cross-country with his friends, battling rogue Animalgams and their own doubts and torn loyalties along the way. But if Simon's going to succeed, he will need to keep Orion from gathering together the fragments of a terrible weapon, or the lives of everyone Simon loves will be at risk. 
     
    With plenty of action and adventure and characters full of heart, this story is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Spirit Animals series. 
     
    Don't miss the other books in the Simon Thorn series: 
    Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
    Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit 
    Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave
    Show book
  • 101+10 New Science Games - Learning science the fun way - cover

    101+10 New Science Games -...

    Ivar Utial

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Supplementary science books not only interest and excite young students,but also stimulate their interest in the subject. This exciting book shows you how to have fun with 101 Science Games. There is little doubt that science experiments can be quite interesting and useful in discovering mysteries of nature.In fact,it is the science that has led man from the lantern and the bullock-cart age to Electronics and Supersonic Jet age. The book is fully illustrated with step-by-step instructions to give you hands-on experience of making simple scientific equipments like:
    *Telescope
    *Barometer
    *Hectometer
    *Model Electric Motor
    *Electroscope
    *Periscope
    *Steam Turbine
    This project-work will acquaint you practically with the basic principles of specific applications. Now, you too can prepare for your next science fair. #v&spublishers
    Show book