Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Handball Practice 11 – Extensive and diverse athletics training - Strength and endurance training on the court - cover

Handball Practice 11 – Extensive and diverse athletics training - Strength and endurance training on the court

Jörg Madinger

Publisher: DV Concept

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The present training units can support you in improving your team's handball-specific fitness, especially in terms of speed, speed endurance, and strength.

The strength training units focus on improving core stability with musculoskeletal and dynamic stabilization exercises. Stability plays an important role in handball, as it is crucial to a high physical performance and can prevent injuries.

Considering speed and speed strength, reflexive jumping power, short sprints, and speed endurance are especially important. These skills are essential for succeeding in handball.

The training units combine course strength trainings with short contests and handball-specific exercises, thus showing the possibilities for creating a diverse fitness training that is also fun for the team.

The present training units are designed for older youth teams and adult teams. Hence, certain physical requirements must be met. The exercises can also be used in the training of younger teams, however, you have to make sure that the difficulty level is appropriate for the younger players.


This book contains the following training units:
TU 1 – Series of shots with reflexive jumping power training
This unit focuses on training the jumping power with handball-specific shooting exercises. After warm-up, a coordination run exercise, and a sprint contest, ball familiarization includes jumping and additional exercises with the ball. After the goalkeeper warm-up shooting, reaction time and jumping power are trained in two individual shooting exercises. A closing game completes this training unit.
 
TU 2 – Intensive speed strength/speed strength endurance training with various running directions
This athletics unit focuses on improving speed strength endurance. After warm-up and a short game, five athletics exercises train the various groups of thigh muscles by moving forwards, backwards, and to the side. This training unit is very intense and can thus be incorporated in preparation periods or season breaks.

TU 3 – Handball-specific endurance training with fast break movements
This unit trains handball-specific endurance focusing on running and jumping exercises. After warm-up including a coordination run exercise, ball familiarization includes a passing and running course across the whole court. Goalkeeper warm-up shooting includes a series of 4 shots combined with a subsequent 2-on-2 fast break. The following endurance unit requires jumping exercises and playing 2-on-2 across the whole court alternately. This intense unit ends with a team exercise and a team fast break contest.

TU 4 – Intense athletics training for arms and legs
This intense training unit focuses on athletics training. After warm-up including a game with high running intensity and a coordination run exercise, an athletics course is done. An additional jumping and strength exercise for the arms and a running exercise complete this training unit.

TU 5 – Handball-specific endurance training in game-like situations
This training unit contains a playful, handball-specific endurance unit. Each exercise is characterized by a high running intensity and is directly related to the handball game. After warm-up and ball familiarization as well as goalkeeper warm-up shooting, an endurance course is done. In this, two players have to accomplish a task as opponents. Which team is the first to score eight times? A sprint contest completes this intense training unit.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Case of the Feathered Mask - cover

    The Case of the Feathered Mask

    Holly Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this exciting mystery set in Victorian London, a young girl and her dog must search for a stolen artifact with just a feather to guide them. 
     
    In this fourth mystery about twelve-year-old Maisie, the young detective must solve a crime for her friend Professor Tobin. The professor travelled all over the world collecting strange and wonderful objects, and the British Museum is opening a special room to house his collection. But before the professor’s donation, a thief steals a valuable Amazonian tribal mask! With just a single feather left behind, Maisie doesn’t have much to go on, but the stakes in her newest case are higher than ever. 
     
    Can’t get enough of Maisie's mysteries? Look for The Case of the Stolen Sixpence, The Case of the Vanishing Emerald, and The Case of the Phantom Cat!
    Show book
  • Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Sky Ship and other stories: A...

    Geraldine McCaughrean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors.' (The Bookseller) 
     
    Brilliant historical fiction from double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    From ships that sail in a sea in the sky and children who witness the deadly effects of a scientific experiment, to a magic carpet that brings about a day of judgement and a year where eleven days are lost and never to be found, this short-story collection will have you on the edge of your seat! 
     
    This collection of gripping historical short stories from award-winning author Geraldine McCaughrean has beautiful black-and-white illustrations by Ian McCaughrean and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Red 
    Ideal for ages 10+
    Show book
  • Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Paleontology - cover

    Little Leonardo’s Fascinating...

    Jeff Bond

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Learn fun facts about dinosaurs and the scientists who study them, called paleontologists, with simple hands-on activities for young readers. The activities, designed to engage both the readers’ hands and minds, include fossilizing a sponge, making origami dinosaur tracks, preserving toy bugs in gummy amber, and more.
    Show book
  • The Miracle of Hanukkah - cover

    The Miracle of Hanukkah

    Malachy Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Miracle of Hanukkah is the perfect picture book to introduce children to the story and traditions of Hanukkah, with text by award-winning author Malachy Doyle and stunning, colourful illustrations from Christopher Corr, the talented team behind Rama and Sita: The Story of Diwali. 
     
    King Antiochus has destroyed the temple and city because the Jews won't worship him instead of God. With no oil left, how will Judah Maccabee and the Jewish people keep the temple's flame alight? Whether you're looking for a gift for Hanukkah or a simple introduction to the story to share with children, this beautiful picture book is ideal.
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Do Not Disturb the Dragons - cover

    Do Not Disturb the Dragons

    Michelle Robinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two intrepid girls go from ladies-in-waiting to knights-in-action when they rip up the rule book and go searching for adventure! 
     
    Wondermere is the luckiest kingdom in the land, all thanks to the dragons that nest on top of the castle. Nobody wants them to fly away, so everyone has to FOLLOW THE RULES and make sure everything STAYS THE SAME to keep the dragons HAPPY. 
     
    Princess Grace HATES the rules. They stop her doing everything she loves, like PLAYING TROLL-O and WEARING TROUSERS and training to be a BRAVE KNIGHT. Why do boys get all the FUN!  
     
    Determined to prove that the rules are a LOAD OF OLD SWAMP ROT, Grace and her sister Princess Portia secretly enter the year's BIGGEST TROLL-O TOURNAMENT. A couple of rule-breakers couldn't possibly disturb the dragons … could they?  
     
    Cheeky, charming and laugh-out-loud funny, the debut young fiction series from bestselling picture book author Michelle Robinson is chock-full of chuckles (and grumpy unicorns). Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell, Pamela Butchart and Emer Stamp.
    Show book