A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Steinopoly - Inspired by the events of the Steinhoff corporate crash - cover

Steinopoly - Inspired by the events of the Steinhoff corporate crash

Jordan Hilligenn

Publisher: Kabeeg Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Steinopoly is a fictional account inspired by the events of the Steinhoff corporate crash that shocked the world.
 
City lawyer Josh Carter has developed a sterling reputation as a commercial lawyer representing big corporations. After another impressive victory in the courtroom he joins an investigative team headed by the State Prosecutor’s Office and Commercial Crimes Unit.
 
The tables are turned when Josh represents the other side and investigates the worst corporate crash the South African stock market has ever experienced. Over R200 billion is wiped off the Johannesburg Stock Exchange in a matter of days when the world’s largest furniture group admits to accounting irregularities.
 
With his commercial mind and investigative ability, Josh uncovers dirty corporate secrets and disturbing business transactions conducted by the wealthiest and most powerful business people. He soon discovers the investigation is a lot more dangerous than it first appears.
 
Josh Carter believes in justice, but will he risk everything to get it?

Other books that might interest you

  • A Gift of Sanctuary - The Owen Archer Series - Book Six - cover

    A Gift of Sanctuary - The Owen...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    “Robb deftly interweaves a complex story of love, passion and murder into the troubled and tangled fabric of Welsh history, fashioning a rich and satisfying novel.” —PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
    
    Under the pretense of escorting his father-in-law and the archbishop’s secretary on a pilgrimage to the sacred city of St. David’s in Wales, Owen Archer and Geoffrey Chaucer, in truth, are carrying out a mission for the Duke of Lancaster. England and France are at war, and the southern coast of Wales is vulnerable to invasion—Owen and Geoffrey are to recruit archers for the duke’s army and inspect his Welsh fortifications on the coast, while quietly investigating whether the duke’s steward at Cydweli Castle is involved in a French plot to incite rebellion in Wales. 
    
    But trouble precedes them in the cathedral city of St. David’s. On Whitesands Beach beyond the city a young man is beaten and left for dead, then spirited away by a Welsh bard. Shortly afterward a corpse clothed in the livery of the Duke of Lancaster is left at the city gate, his shoes filled with white sand. Meanwhile, at Cydweli Castle, a chain of events begun by the theft of money from the castle’s exchequer ends in a violent death and the disappearance of the steward’s beautiful young wife. Owen and Geoffrey begin to see connections linking the troubles in city and castle, and learn they must unravel the complex story of betrayed love and political ambition to prevent more deaths. But in the course of his investigations in the land of his birth, Owen is haunted by doubts about his own loyalties...
    Show book
  • The Bowness Bequest - cover

    The Bowness Bequest

    Rebecca Tope

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    DARK SECRETS ARE UNEARTHED IN THE LAKE DISTRICT 
    As winter settles in Windermere, it hails the death of Frances Henderson, long-time friend to Persimmon ‘Simmy’ Brown and her family. Coupled with the grief of losing such a beloved woman, Simmy has to cope with the increasing antagonism and confusion of Frances’s remaining family after being bequeathed something in her will. 
    Then a violent murder is discovered and Simmy must face the fact that the family she was once so close to as a child holds some dark and sinister secrets. Her efforts to avoid the investigation are frustrated when people from the past resurface, rumours of infidelity in the Henderson household abound, and her friends Ben and Bonnie try some detecting themselves. 
    ‘A cracking good read’ Mystery People
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • Gallows Thief - A Novel - cover

    Gallows Thief - A Novel

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1820. Rider Sandman, a hero of Waterloo, returns to London to wed his fiancée. But instead of settling down to fame and glory, he finds himself penniless in a country where high unemployment and social unrest rage, and where men—innocent or guilty—are hanged for the merest of crimes. 
    When he's offered a job as private investigator to re-open the case of a painter due to be hanged for a murder he didn't commit, Sandman readily accepts—as much for the money as for a chance to see justice done in a country gone to ruins. 
    Soon, however, he's mired in a grisly murder plot that keeps thickening. Sandman makes his way through gentlemen's clubs and shady taverns, aristocratic mansions, and fashionable painters' studios determined to rescue the innocent young man from the rope. But someone doesn't want the truth revealed.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 27
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Random Acts - A Joanna Brady and Ali Reynolds Novella - cover

    Random Acts - A Joanna Brady and...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author 
    J. A. JANCE 
    comes an all- new novella, 
    in which Sheriff Joanna Brady and investigator 
    Ali Reynolds join forces to solve a crime that 
    has hit dangerously close to home 
      
    Sheriff Joanna Brady has a lot on her plate—she is up for re-election as sheriff, pregnant with her third child, and her eldest is packing up to leave for college. Then Joanna is woken in the middle of the night by a call reporting a motor vehicle accident. Her mother and stepfather’s RV ran off the road at high speed and hit the pillar of an overpass.  
    Something about the accident seems suspicious, though, and when Joanna gets a call from Ali Reynolds, a journalist turned investigator, she accepts her offer to help. They come up with a plan to find out who was responsible…even if that person is not the villain they’d expected. 
      
    Published by William Morrow
    Show book