Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Love and Other Wounds - Stories - cover

Love and Other Wounds - Stories

Jordan Harper

Publisher: Ecco

  • 3
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

In the hard-edged tradition of Hubert Selby Jr., Daniel Woodrell, and Donald Ray Pollock, and with the fresh, complex humanity of Breaking Bad and Reservoir Dogs, a blistering debut collection that unsparingly confronts the extreme, brutal parts of the human heart. 
A man runs away from his grave and into a maelstrom of bullets and fire. A Hollywood fixer finds love over the corpse of a dead celebrity. A morbidly obese woman imagines a new life with the jewel thief who is scheming to rob the store where she works. A man earns the name “Mad Dog” and lives to regret it. 
Denizens of the shadows who live outside the law—from the desolate meth labs of the Ozark Mountains to the dog-fighting rings of Detroit to the lavish Los Angeles mansions of the rich and famous—the characters in Love and Other Wounds all thirst for something seemingly just beyond their reach. Some are on the run, pursued by the law or propelled relentlessly forward by a dangerous past that is disturbingly close. Others are searching for a semblance of peace and stability, and even love, in a fractured world defined by seething violence and ruthless desperation. All are bruised, pushed to their breaking point and beyond, driven to extremes they never imagined. 
Crackling with cinematic energy, raw and disquieting yet filled with pathos and a darkly vital humor, Love and Other Wounds is an unforgettable debut from an electrifying new voice. 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery - cover

    The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery

    Bonnie C. Monte

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Thirty-five-year-old Rae Sullivan owns a thriving home décor shop in the San Francisco Bay area, near majestic Mt. Tamalpais (to locals, The Sleeping Lady). But when her business partner, Thalia, confides that she has a lover in France, Rae’s comfortable life starts to unravel. Soon, an anonymous note-writer threatens to reveal the affair, and Thalia—who, unswayed by Rae’s warnings, insists on confronting the blackmailer—turns up dead in Golden Gate Park.
    
    The police, convinced the crime was a random mugging, are dismissive of Rae’s story of blackmail. Then a scandal from Rae’s past job comes to light, and the police start to eye her as a suspect. To clear her reputation and ensure justice for Thalia, Rae decides it’s up to her to unmask the murderer—despite her husband’s objections.
    
    Rae’s sleuthing leads her to France, where she enlists the help of Thalia’s handsome half brother. As they collaborate to catch the killer, sparks fly between them, and Rae has to contend with these newly aroused feelings—even as she strives to outmaneuver a cold-blooded murderer who wants to silence her.
    Show book
  • In the Blood - cover

    In the Blood

    Ruth Mancini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'If you loved Apple Tree Yard, you'll love In the Blood. Totally gripping and compelling – perfectly crafted' Sarah Flint, author of Mummy's Favourite. 
     
    In southeast London, a young mother has been accused of an unthinkable crime: poisoning her own child –  and then leaving him to die. 
     
    The mother, Ellie, is secretive and challenging – she's had a troubled upbringing – but does that mean she's capable of murder? 
     
    Balancing the case with raising her disabled five-year-old son, criminal defence lawyer Sarah Kellerman sets out in desperate pursuit of the truth. But when her own child becomes unwell, Sarah realises she's been drawn into a dangerous game. 
     
    Unsettling and compulsive, In the Blood is a chilling study of class, motherhood and power from a new star in crime fiction.
    Show book
  • Night Prayers - cover

    Night Prayers

    Santiago Gamboa

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    A thrilling literary novel about crime and corruption in Latin America told in alternating voices and perspectives, Night Prayers is the story of Manuel, a Colombian philosophy student arrested in Bangkok and accused of drug trafficking. Unless he enters a guilty plea he will almost certainly be sentenced to death. But it is not his own death that weighs most heavily on him but a tender longing for his sister, Juana, whom he hasn't seen for years. Before he dies he wants nothing more than to be reunited with her. Fans of both Roberto Bolaño and Gabriel García Márquez will find much to admire in this story about the mean streets of Bogotá, the sordid bordellos of Thailand, and a love between siblings that knows no end. As a boy, Manuel was a dreamer, a lover of literature, and a tagger. His sister Juana made a promise to do everything in her power to protect him from the drug-and violence-infested streets of Bogotá. She decided to take him as far from Colombia as possible, and in order to raise the money to do so, she went to work as a high-priced escort and entered into contact with the dangerous world of corrupt politicians. When things spun out of control she was forced to flee, leaving her beloved brother behind. Juana and Manuel's story reaches the ears of the Colombian counsel general in New Delhi, and he tracks down Juana, now married to a rich Japanese man, in Tokyo. The counsel general takes it upon himself to reunite the two siblings—a feat that may be beyond his power. With the stylishness that has earned him a reputation as one of "the most important Colombian writers" (Manuel Vázquez Montalbán), Santiago Gamboa lends his story a driving, irresistible rhythm.From the Trade Paperback edition.
    Show book
  • Hell's Belles - Damned Girl #3 - cover

    Hell's Belles - Damned Girl #3

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Hell's hottest new intern.  
    Nessa has no magic licence, no money, and no choice but to take up an apprenticeship in Hell. Working for her old friend Satan isn't so bad – Hell, it turns out, is a lot like Las Vegas. Well, except for the dungeons out back which Nessa is forbidden from visiting. 
    Trouble is, Nessa thinks there might be someone in those dungeons who has what she wants: information. Maybe they can tell her why everyone from Satan to The Department of Magic and Death to the annoying (to put it mildly) poltergeist Ed is so interested in her abilities. 
    When a goblin turns up dead in Hell – a problem, since he didn’t arrive that way – Nessa needs to find out who killed him. Murder is not good for tourism, after all, and if the matter is not cleared up quickly, Satan might just lose her cool. 
    And let's be honest, that won’t end well for anybody. 
    It’s Hell like you’ve never seen it before! If you enjoy funny paranormal mysteries, this series is for you. Download now to join Nessa on her adventures in the underworld.
    Show book
  • Justified - An Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller #2 - cover

    Justified - An Agent Jade Monroe...

    C.M. Sutter

    • 3
    • 15
    • 0
    They can’t keep up with the body count he leaves behind. FBI agents Jade Monroe and J.T. Harper are on the trail of their most recent serial killer, but they know his whereabouts only by the carnage left in his wake. By the time they reach his most recent location, he’s long gone. 
    Without a clear description of the man, they’re chasing a shadowy figure that people see from a distance—a ghost—that’s killing at an alarming rate. 
    A stroke of luck brings the agents face-to-face with a survivor. What they learn from the woman’s hospital bed description of her brutal attacker changes everything. The situation has suddenly become more than dangerous—and to Jade, more than personal. 
    Note: All Jade Monroe books are standalone stories but since characters carry over, they are best read in chronological order. 
    Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Maniacal 
    #2 Captive 
    #3 Fallacy 
    #4 Premonition 
    #5 Exposed 
    Note: The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series. 
    Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series 
    #1 Snapped  
    #2 Justified 
    #3 Donors 
    #4 Leverage 
    #5 Malice 
    "Editorial Review 
    Investigators believe three young women were mauled by bears but soon find out they were actually victims of a monstrous murderer, and newly minted FBI agent Jade Monroe is brought in to help find him. The killer is clever enough never to be seen on surveillance camera, and Jade and company start to believe they’re following a ghost. The body count goes up, and so do the stakes for finding this madman, who begins to strike closer to home. Fans of Jade Monroe are in for an emotionally charged ride with Sutter’s latest, a most welcome addition to her terrific new FBI series.” Angela M., Editor, Red Adept Editing
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book