Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

The Pallbearer - A Novel

Jordan Farmer

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Shimmer of Hummingbirds - Birder Murder Mystery 4 - cover

    A Shimmer of Hummingbirds -...

    Steve Burrows

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Newly appointed police inspector Domenic Jejeune doesn’t mind ruffling a few feathers. Indeed his success has elevated him into a poster boy for the police. The problem is Jejeune doesn’t really want to be a detective at all; he much prefers watching birds.
    
    Recently reassigned to the small Norfolk town of Saltmarsh, located in the heart of Britain’s premier birding country, Jejeune’s two worlds collide with the grisly murder of a prominent ecological activist. His ambitious police superintendent foresees a blaze of welcome publicity, although doubts soon emerge when Jejeune’s best theory involves a feud over birdwatching lists. A second murder does little to bolster confidence.
    
    Jejeune must call on all his birding knowhow to solve the mystery and deal with unwelcome public acclaim, the mistrust of colleagues and his own insecurities. For, in the case of the Saltmarsh birder murders, the victims may not be the only casualties…
    Show book
  • In the Cool of the Evening - A Short Story - cover

    In the Cool of the Evening - A...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    With Star Over Bethlehem, the beloved Queen of Mystery Agatha Christie shines in a totally unexpected way, offering readers a wondrous collection of poems and holiday short stories. 
    A retelling of the Christmas Story in a way you’ve never heard it before. . . . The fable of a donkey who carries a mother and child safely to Egypt. . . . The tale of a widow who dislikes people until she meets a stranger. . . . 
    From the most popular writer of all time comes a treasured collection of short stories and poems celebrating the holiday season. 
    This special edition also contains a wealth of Agatha Christie rarities—not only all the stories, poems, and illustrations from her long out-of-print book Star over Bethlehem (1965) but also a reproduction of all her rare poetry from the two collections The Road of Dreams (1924) and Poems (1973).
    Show book
  • Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories - A Miss Marple Collection - cover

    Miss Marple: The Complete Short...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories gathers together in one magnificent volume all of Agatha Christie’s short stories featuring her beloved intrepid investigator, Miss Marple. It’s an unparalleled compendium of murder, mayhem, mystery, and detection that represents some of the finest short form fiction in the crime fiction field, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.Described by her friend Dolly Bantry as “the typical old maid of fiction,” Miss Marple has lived almost her entire life in the sleepy hamlet of St. Mary Mead. Yet, by observing village life she has gained an unparalleled insight into human nature—and used it to devastating effect. As her friend Sir Henry Clithering, the ex-Commissioner of Scotland Yard, has been heard to say: “She’s just the finest detective God ever made”—and many Agatha Christie fans would agree.
    Show book
  • The Sacred Art of Stealing - cover

    The Sacred Art of Stealing

    Christopher Brookmyre

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A robbery in Scotland might not seem like an unusual background for a crime novel—until it’s put into the hands of one of the U.K.’s leading satirists, Christopher Brookmyre. Now available for the first time in the U.S., The Sacred Art of Stealing is narrative catnip for fans of crime fiction laced with dark humor.  
     
    
    This is how the story goes: Their eyes met across a crowded room. She was just a poor servant girl and he was the son of a rich industrialist . . . Well, the eyes meeting across a crowded room part is true. Where it differs from the fairy tales is that the room in question was crowded with hostages and armed bank-robbers, and Zal Innez’s eyes were the only part of him that Angelique de Xavia could see behind his mask. Angelique had enough to be fed up about before the embarrassment of being a cop taken hostage by the most bizarrely unorthodox crooks ever to set foot in Glasgow. Disillusioned, disaffected and chronically single, she’s starting to take stock of the sacrifices she’s made for a job that’s given her back nothing but grief. So when her erstwhile captor has the chutzpah to phone her at work and ask her out on a date, Angelique finds herself in no great hurry to turn him in. She knows now that the cops will never love her back, but maybe one of the robbers will.
    Show book
  • The Breakdown: A Novel - cover

    The Breakdown: A Novel

    B. A. Paris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?
    
    Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods. It was on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, and a woman was sitting inside—the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm, and she probably would have been hurt herself if she’d stopped. Not only that, her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home.
    
    But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing. Where she left the car; if she took her pills; even the alarm code.
    
    The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.
    
    And the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…
    Show book
  • The Complete Tommy & Tuppence Collection - The Secret Adversary Partners in Crime N or M? By the Pricking of My Thumbs and Postern of Fate - cover

    The Complete Tommy & Tuppence...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The complete eBook collection of all five Tommy & Tuppence mysteries by the Queen of Mystery herself, Agatha Christie, including The Secret Adversary, Partners in Crime, N or M?, By the Pricking of My Thumbs, and Postern of Fate.
    Show book