Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Pallbearer - A Novel

Jordan Farmer

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • No 46 on the Greater Boston Hit List - A Murder Case with Many Twists and Turns - cover

    No 46 on the Greater Boston Hit...

    Richard Murphy

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    This novel is a quick read that tells about a murder which was first thought to be  a gangland slaying but it became more complicated leading to a trial that produced unexpected results.
    Show book
  • The Mira James Mysteries Complete Bundle - Books 1-10 - cover

    The Mira James Mysteries...

    Jess Lourey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From bestselling author Jess Lourey comes a compilation of ten full-length, suspenseful comic caper mysteries that will leave you guessing ―and laughing ―until the very end! Books included:May DayJune BugKnee High by the Fourth of JulyAugust MoonSeptember MournOctober FestNovember HuntDecember DreadJanuary ThawFebruary FeverJoin fish-out-of-water Mira James and her quirky Battle Lake, Minnesota, crew as they navigate hilarious romance, hidden mysteries, and a dead body a month. Ten laugh-out-loud page-turners in one convenient bundle!PRAISE FOR THE INCLUDED MIRA JAMES MYSTERIES"Lourey has a talent for creating hilarious characters in bizarre, laugh-out-loud situations, while at the same time capturing the honest and endearing subtleties of human life." ―The Strand"Snappy jokes...edgy dialog...and a classic romance setup enhance a clever plot. More spunky than sweet; get started on this Lefty-nominated series if you've previously missed it." ―Library Journal (starred review)"I loved Lourey's quirky, appealing sleuth and her wry yet affectionate look at small town life. I hope Mira's misfortune of stumbling over a dead body every month lasts for many years!" ―Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Stork Raving Mad"Lourey has a knack for wholesome sexual innuendo, and she gets plenty of mileage out of Minnesota." ―The Boston Globe
    Show book
  • The Sands of Time - cover

    The Sands of Time

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Four women leave their Spanish convent and enter an alien world of uncertainty, romance, and suspense.
    Show book
  • House Arrest - cover

    House Arrest

    Mike Lawson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “First-rate . . . Lawson’s series is the closest thing on the market today to the witty political thrillers of the late, great Ross Thomas.” —Booklist   As the fixer for Congressman John Mahoney in Washington, DC, Joe DeMarco has had to bend and break the law more than a few times. But when Representative Lyle Canton, House Majority Whip, is found shot dead in his office in the US Capitol and DeMarco is arrested for the murder, DeMarco knows he’s been framed. Locked up in Alexandria awaiting trial, he calls on his enigmatic friend Emma, an ex-DIA agent, to search for the true killer.   Emma’s investigation leads her to a ruthless and competitive CEO who had a motive for killing Canton, related to a personal connection from long ago. But the case the F.B.I. has built against DeMarco is airtight, and not a single piece of evidence points to the CEO. Using her cunning and her DC connections, Emma sets out to prove that the powerful businessman has been using some fixers of his own.   Featuring crimes of passion, corporate corruption, and partisan feuds, House Arrest is the latest fast-paced read from “a reliably excellent writer” (The Seattle Times).   “A great author.” —Lisa Gardner
    Show book
  • Butchered Dreams - Dreams and Reality #6 - cover

    Butchered Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    The Butcher is on a rampage. He's working his way across the state of Missouri, in a reign of terror, righting the wrongs he believes have been committed against his family and himself. In his wake, he leaves a blood bath; a string of mutilated victims that seem to have no pattern.  
     
    With The Butcher, it's personal. Both Aislinn Cain and Malachi Blake have ties to this monster. As a result, neither the SCTU nor the VCU can assist in his capture and the job is given to two untrained FBI agents. When one is murdered, Cain and Blake are forced to join the hunt, as consultants.  
     
    Both of them will have to battle their own demons to catch The Butcher. Demons that will show exactly how much monster they each have inside themselves. A truth that neither of them are ready to face.
    Show book