What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Blue Edge of Midnight - cover

The Blue Edge of Midnight

Jonathon King

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The Edgar Award–winning debut of the bestselling Max Freeman mystery series: A tormented ex-cop’s mission to solve a grisly murder and earn redemption for his dark pastAfter a shootout during a convenience store holdup led to the accidental death of a twelve-year-old, Max Freeman left behind the Philadelphia police department for a life in exile in the Florida Everglades. Since then, he has lived in seclusion, haunted by guilt, with the humid night and the nocturnal predators of the swamp as his only company. But everything changes when Freeman discovers a young girl’s body floating in the muddy waters and becomes the prime suspect for her murder. To prove his innocence, Freeman must uncover the real murderer—and confront his own tortured soul—before it’s too late. This ebook contains an illustrated biography of the author featuring never-before-seen photos.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Beijing Conspiracy - cover

    The Beijing Conspiracy

    Shamini Flint

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “I need your support. There is no one else I can trust. Please help her. Please help our daughter.”
    When ex-Delta Force operator Jack Ford receives a letter containing news of a daughter he never knew he had, he feels compelled to return to China, a country he hasn’t visited since 1989 when, as a young American spy, he fell in love with a beautiful student activist and found himself caught up in the horrors of the Tiananmen Square massacre. But why has Xia got in touch now, after a thirty-year silence?
    On arrival in Beijing, Jack finds himself accidentally in possession of an explosive piece of information both the Chinese and American governments are desperate to get their hands on.  Alone in a strange city, suspected of being a traitor by his own side, not knowing whom to trust, Jack is faced with an impossible dilemma: should he save his new-found daughter or prevent a new world war from breaking out?
    Show book
  • Humane Disposal - cover

    Humane Disposal

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A victim with no memory.Maria woke with no memory, rescued from the sex dungeon of a man who had held her captive. With her captor dead, now she may be the only hope for police to find another missing woman. 
     
    A cop ordered to lie.Detective Cody McGraw is tasked to help Maria recover her memories. Just one problem — Maria isn’t who she thinks she is. She’s not even human. She’s a robot that shouldn’t exist, a model so close to human that it had to be shut down years ago — all of them humanely disposed of. She’s the first of her kind that anyone has seen in years and now she is marked for destruction. But first, Cody is given a chance to find out what she knows.
     
    The clock is ticking.Government agents want to dismantle and destroy Maria to find out how she has survived after her kind were disposed of. Cody is given a vary narrow window to get close to her and find out what she knows about the missing woman.But getting close brings back his painful past, and he soon finds himself torn between his duty and doing the right thing.
     
    Humane Disposal is a twisty, gut punch of a sci-fi thriller from the bestselling authors Sean Platt and David Wright.
    Show book
  • I Know You Know - A Novel - cover

    I Know You Know - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Gilly Macmillan comes this original, chilling and twisty mystery about two shocking murder cases twenty years apart, and the threads that bind them. 
    Twenty years ago, eleven-year-olds Charlie Paige and Scott Ashby were murdered in the city of Bristol, their bodies dumped near a dog racing track. A man was convicted of the brutal crime, but decades later, questions still linger. 
    For his whole life, filmmaker Cody Swift has been haunted by the deaths of his childhood best friends. The loose ends of the police investigation consume him so much that he decides to return to Bristol in search of answers. Hoping to uncover new evidence, and to encourage those who may be keeping long-buried secrets to speak up, Cody starts a podcast to record his findings. But there are many people who don’t want the case—along with old wounds—reopened so many years after the tragedy, especially Charlie’s mother, Jess, who decides to take matters into her own hands.  
    When a long-dead body is found in the same location the boys were left decades before, the disturbing discovery launches another murder investigation. Now Detective John Fletcher, the investigator on the original case, must reopen his dusty files and decide if the two murders are linked. With his career at risk, the clock is ticking and lives are in jeopardy…
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Rabid - cover

    Rabid

    Kris Rimmer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rabid is to humans what King's Cujo was to dogs...
     
    Nestled among shady pines, a pair of brothers splash in a babbling brook, their faces lit up with childlike glee. Around them, squirrels frolic in trees, and rabbits nibble on grass. Birds sing a symphony of harmony.
     
    Shortly after their father’s death, Adam and his 14-year-old brother embark on a camping trip. Because their father was an abusive alcoholic, they both struggle with a myriad of sentiments—sadness that he’s gone, relief that the abuse is over, sorrow that they’ll never experience fatherly love or pride. Surely therapeutic nature can remedy their afflictions.
     
    Precipitously, horror replaces their tranquil panorama. Thrashing wildly, Adam spews obscenities, and foam bubbles from his lips. In a paradox of iniquity, brothers become enemies, as their inner demons spring to life. 
    Show book
  • A Fatal Obsession - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    A Fatal Obsession - A McCabe and...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    "James Hayman’s edgy, ingenious novels rival the best of Lisa Gardner, Jeffery Deaver, and Kathy Reichs. A Fatal Obsession is his finest to date: a ferocious live-wire thriller starring two of the most appealing cops in contemporary fiction." —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 
    Someone’s watching... 
    Zoe McCabe is a beautiful young actress on the verge of stardom who has been basking in the standing ovations and rave reviews she’s been getting from critics and fans alike for her portrayal of Desdemona in an off-Broadway production of Othello. As she takes her final bows, Zoe has no idea that, seated in the audience, a man has been studying her night after night, performance after performance. A man whose carefully crafted plans are for the young actress to take a starring role in a far deadlier production he has created just for her. 
    Portland, Maine detectives Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage are settling into the new rhythm of their relationship when McCabe gets a late night call from his brother Bobby that Zoe, McCabe's favorite niece and Bobby’s daughter, has suddenly disappeared. The NYPD is certain Zoe's abduction is the work of the man the tabloids have dubbed “The Star Struck Strangler,” a killer who has been kidnapping, abusing and finally strangling one beautiful young performer after another. Bobby begs McCabe to return to the New York City crime beat he’d left behind so many years ago, to work his old connections, and to help find Zoe before her time runs out. The stakes for McCabe and Savage have never been higher. Or more personal. And suddenly the race is on to stop a vicious attacker, before the McCabe family is torn apart beyond repair.
    Show book