Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dancing in Valhalla - Burning Books #2 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Dancing in Valhalla - Burning Books #2

John West

Publisher: John West

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

13 twisted tales of music, magick, mayhem & murder. 
Some set in sunny South Africa where, for many, these are part of everyday life. 
♠ 
Morag wants to fly to the States and shag her favourite singer. 
Noddy wants to leave Johannesburg, move to the coast and get a fresh start. 
Janine wants Noddy to find a job and settle down. 
Dirk just wants to run his nightclub and live a peaceful life. 
But Mick… ah, Mick… There will be no peace once Mick comes out of his coma. 
For anyone. 
Ever again. 
♠ 
In the title story, experience life on the streets in 1980s Hillbrow as five volatile personalities struggle to survive a violent rollercoaster ride through Johannesburg's underground club scene 
♠ 
Shop for shrunken heads in a village that time forgot. 
Experience an ancient ritual passed down from the Aztecs through Jack the Ripper to modern day London. 
Savour the sweet taste of revenge in a French restaurant. 
And sit in on the Grim Reaper's disciplinary hearing. 
♠ 
Sit back and enjoy an assortment of characters almost as twisted as the endings of these 13 tales.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Dream to Die For - A Novel - cover

    A Dream to Die For - A Novel

    Susan Z. Ritz

    • 1
    • 17
    • 0
    In Riverton Falls, a small New England town, globe-trotting bartender Celeste Fortune stands in her kitchen puzzling over last night’s frightening dream—a woman at a window, lilacs blowing in the breeze, someone’s hands tight around her neck. Celeste is sure the dream belongs to someone else. Perhaps she has finally broken through to the collective dreams of Dreamland cult. Hoping her therapist and cult leader will help her untangle it, she heads off into the cold November morning to her final appointment with him—or so she hopes. Her estranged fiancé has delivered an ultimatum: Leave the cult of Dreamers, or end their relationship for good.
    
    Instead of help, however, Celeste discovers her therapist dying in a pool of blood, skull stove in by his own healing crystal. His computer, containing the intimate dreams and secrets of half the town, is gone. Suspicion immediately falls on Celeste, known to be a rebellious member of his cult. To clear her name, Celeste enlists the help of her old friend, Gloria, and the two women set out to find the real culprit. But in the middle of their hunt, the stolen dreams seemingly come to life, terrifying the town—and Celeste and Gloria become the killer’s next target.
    Show book
  • Gradle Bird - cover

    Gradle Bird

    J.C. Sasser

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Sixteen-year-old Gradle Bird has lived her entire life with her Grandpa, Leonard, at a seedy motel and truck stop off Georgia’s I-16. But when Leonard moves her to a crumbling old house rumored to be haunted by the ghost of Ms. Annalee Spivey, Gradle is plunged into a lush, magical world much stranger and more dangerous than from the one she came. 
    Here she meets Sonny Joe Stitch, a Siamese Fighting Fish connoisseur overdosed on testosterone, a crippled, Bible-thumping hobo named Ceif “Tadpole” Walker, and the only true friend she will ever know, a schizophrenic genius, music-man, and professional dumpster-diver, D-5 Delvis Miles. 
    As Gradle falls deeper into Delvis’s imaginary and fantastical world, unsettling dangers lurk, and when surfaced Gradle discovers unforeseen depths in herself and the people she loves the most. 
    Gradle Bird is an unusual tale of self-discovery and redemption that explores the infirmities of fatherly love, the complexities of human cruelty, and the consequences of guilt, proving they are possible to overcome no matter how dark and horrible the cause.
    Show book
  • The Auguries - cover

    The Auguries

    F.G. Cottam

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An unexpected lunar eclipse. A poisonous fog that cripples the capital. Statues that weep blood.
    As the catalogue of calamities mount, fear and paranoia provoke rumours of terrorist attacks. But from whom?
    History professor Juliet Harrington is an authority on sixteenth-century mysticism and a long-time believer in the existence of the Almanac of Forbidden Wisdom, a potent spell-book legend insists was compiled in that period by a cabal of powerful occultists. Its magic is summoned though only at disastrous cost, signalled by The Auguries. Juliet is convinced that the recent plague of disasters means someone reckless is using the book - and she has little time left to stop them.
    Show book
  • Till Sudden Death Do Us Part - cover

    Till Sudden Death Do Us Part

    Simon R. Green

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Although he hasn’t seen Robert Bergin for 40 years, Ishmael feels duty bound to respond when his old friend calls for help. Robert’s daughter Gillian is about to be married, and he is afraid she’ll fall prey to the ancient family curse. 
    Arriving in rural Yorkshire, Ishmael and his partner Penny learn that the vicar who was to perform the ceremony has been found dead in the church, hanging from his own bell rope. With no clues, no evidence and no known motive, many locals believe the curse is responsible. Or is someone just using it as a smokescreen for murder? With the wedding due to take place the following day, Ishmael has just a few hours to uncover the truth.
    Show book
  • The Scarred - Dark Crossings - cover

    The Scarred - Dark Crossings

    Alex McGrath

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Some scars never heal.
     
    12-year-old street kid Paco has never had a friend in his life. So when he meets Vincent while visiting his aunt in West Virginia, Paco knows his fortunes have changed.
     
    But what sort of influence will Vincent have on the lonely kid from LA?
     
    A short story set in the bestselling Invasion Universe, “The Scarred” tells the story of two teens and one mysterious destiny. Pick up your copy today!
    Show book
  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 1
    • 17
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book