Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Ballyhooman - Life of a Soccer Dad - cover

Ballyhooman - Life of a Soccer Dad

John Weich

Publisher: John Weich

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

On the field, the girls can’t lose. Off the field, they can’t win. Not in this town anyway, where a small oligarchy of men call all the shots. But when a soccer dad steps up to help, he nearly derails the girls, the community and most of all himself.
 
Hilarious and heartbreaking, Ballyhooman tackles every youth soccer cliché in the book –overzealous parents, cleat fetish, sexist refs, self-righteous volunteers, bad canteen coffee and teenage entitlement. But this novel set in a quiet community saves its most biting satire for a group of men who treat girls soccer as a sideshow. Jerry, the willfully blind club president. Sal, a local guru with a despot’s talent for making girls cry. Godzilla, a fantastically inept youth coach. And Statler and Waldorf, two grumpy volunteers struggling to keep up with the changing times.
 
As the season winds down to its climactic final, a father must ask himself the question: Is he doing all this for the kids or for himself?
 
Ballyhooman is a piercing portrait of parenting, age-old prejudices and standing up for what is right. A must read for every parent who has ever stood along the sidelines and cheered their children on. This book is nothing less than a referendum on fair play in youth sports today.
 
__
 
Writer, satirist, cultural critic, soccer dad – John Weich’s fast and furious tale of a soccer club in a picturesque community is as funny as it is infuriating. Hidden behind the upbeat tone and gut-busting dialogue is a truth that makes you want to cry. Through his biting satire Weich is shouting out what the soccer world needs to hear right now.
 
www.ballyhooman.com

Other books that might interest you

  • What Matters Most is How Well You - cover

    What Matters Most is How Well You

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    This second posthumous collection from Charles Bukowski takes readers deep into the raw, wild vein of writing that extends from the early 70s to the 1990s.
    Show book
  • Women - A Novel - cover

    Women - A Novel

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 54
    • 0
    Low-life writer and unrepentant alcoholic Henry Chinaski was born to survive. After decades of slacking off at low-paying dead-end jobs, blowing his cash on booze and women, and scrimping by in flea-bitten apartments, Chinaski sees his poetic star rising at last. Now, at fifty, he is reveling in his sudden rock-star life, running three hundred hangovers a year, and maintaining a sex life that would cripple Casanova. 
     
    With all of Bukowski's trademark humor and gritty, dark honesty, this 1978 follow-up to Post Office and Factotum is an uncompromising account of life on the edge.
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Bottle Grove - A Novel - cover

    Bottle Grove - A Novel

    Daniel Handler

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A razor-sharp tale of two couples, two marriages, a bar, and a San Francisco start-up from a best-selling, award-winning novelist. 
      
    This is a story about two marriages. Or is it? It begins with a wedding, held in the small San Francisco forest of Bottle Grove--bestowed by a wealthy patron for the public good, back when people did such things. Here is a cross section of lives, a stretch of urban green where ritzy guests, lustful teenagers, drunken revelers, and forest creatures all wait for the sun to go down. The girl in the corner slugging vodka from a cough-syrup bottle is Padgett--she's keeping something secreted in the woods. The couple at the altar are the Nickels--the bride is emphatic about changing her name, as there is plenty about her old life she is ready to forget. 
      
    Set in San Francisco as the tech-boom is exploding, Bottle Grove is a sexy, skewering dark comedy about two unions--one forged of love and the other of greed--and about the forces that can drive couples together, into dependence, and then into sinister, even supernatural realms. Add one ominous shape-shifter to the mix, and you get a delightful and strange spectacle: a story of scheming and yearning and foibles and love and what we end up doing for it--and everyone has a secret. Looming over it all is the income disparity between San Francisco's tech community and . . . everyone else.
    Show book
  • Pulp - cover

    Pulp

    Charles Bukowski

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    Opening with the exotic Lady Death entering the gumshoe-writer's seedy office in pursuit of a writer named Celine, this novel demonstrates Bukowski's own brand of humour and realism, opening up a landscape of seamy Los Angeles.
    Show book
  • Doctor In The House - cover

    Doctor In The House

    Richard Gordon

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Richard Gordon’s acceptance into St Swithan’s medical school came as no surprise to anyone, least of all him – after all, he had been to public school, played first XV rugby, and his father was, let’s face it, ‘a St Swithan’s man’. Surely he was set for life. It was rather a shock then to discover that, once there, he would actually have to work, and quite hard. Fortunately for Richard Gordon, life proved not to be all dissection and textbooks after all! This hilarious hospital comedy is perfect reading for anyone who’s ever wondered exactly what medical students get up to in their training. Just don’t read it on your way to the doctor’s!
    Show book