Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
What I Tell You In the Dark - A Novel - cover

What I Tell You In the Dark - A Novel

John Samuel

Publisher: The Overlook Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

This debut thriller of angels, demons, and corporate espionage is “part fantasy, part gripping depiction of delusional madness . . . Take the plunge” (Vanity Fair).   A nameless angel has been out of God’s favor since things went wrong with his last mission, two thousand years ago. He has spent the intervening millennia watching humanity fall into moral disrepair. Lately, he’s been watching Will, a London businessman attempting to expose his company’s dark dealings to the press. But Will’s campaign is not going well.   In a moment of weakness and bravado, the angel decides to spiritually take Will over—“jumping in” as he did with Jesus of Nazareth. But as the angel comes up against demonic forces fighting to maintain the status quo, Will increasingly loses his grip on himself. Is he truly caught in a cosmic struggle of good versus evil . . . or merely a delusional man crushed by the hypocrisies of modern society?   Powerfully written, fast-paced, and perfect for fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Joe Hill, and Bret Easton Ellis, What I Tell You in the Dark is an unsettling story of omnipotence, mayhem, capitalism, and corruption.

Other books that might interest you

  • Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 6
    • 32
    • 0
    Buckle up—the argeneaus are back in a sexy, witty new novel from New York times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    Dante Notte has heard it said that love hurts. He just wasn’t expecting it to run him over in an RV. Still, a punctured lung and broken ribs are nothing compared to the full-body shock he feels whenever he’s near the vehicle’s driver, Mary Winslow. He needs to keep her safe from their pursuers while he rescues his brother. Most challenging of all, he needs to claim this smart, stubborn woman as his life mate. 
    The naked, injured, insanely gorgeous younger man who clambered into her RV insists they belong together. If Mary wasn’t feeling their incredible connection in every inch of her being, she wouldn’t believe it. But now that the men who took Dante’s twin are after her too, trusting her gut means risking her life for an immortal who’s the very definition of a perfect stranger.
    Show book
  • Dead Man Walking - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dead Man Walking - A country...

    Simon R. Green

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “Call me Ishmael. Ishmael Jones. I am the man in the shadows, that even the shadows are afraid of. The secret agent whose life is the greatest secret of all. And some of the cases I work are trickier than others.”
    
    A rogue agent has come in from the cold and wants to spill his secrets. The Organisation wants Ishmael to find out if Frank Parker is who he says he is, what he really knows, and why he has emerged from the shadows after all this time. 
    
    Ishmael heads to Ringstone Lodge in Yorkshire where Parker is being held to find that an atmosphere of fear and suspicion prevails. As he and his fellow residents are menaced by a series of alarming and inexplicable incidents, Ishmael sets out to prove that it’s human trickery rather than any supernatural being behind the seemingly ghostly goings-on. But matters take an unexpected turn when one of their number is brutally murdered, and once again Ishmael must turn detective in order to entrap a twisted killer before they strike again.
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 28
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book
  • Kill Creek - cover

    Kill Creek

    Scott Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    -Shortlisted for the 2017 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel-Winner of the American Library Association's Horror Book of 2017 "Intensely realized and beautifully orchestrated Gothic horror." —Joyce Carol Oates  "A match for readers who enjoyed Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House." —Booklist (starred review)  At the end of a dark prairie road, nearly forgotten in the Kansas countryside, is the Finch House. For years it has remained empty, overgrown, abandoned. Soon the door will be opened for the first time in decades. But something is waiting, lurking in the shadows, anxious to meet its new guests… When best-selling horror author Sam McGarver is invited to spend Halloween night in one of the country’s most infamous haunted houses, he reluctantly agrees. At least he won’t be alone; joining him are three other masters of the macabre, writers who have helped shape modern horror. But what begins as a simple publicity stunt will become a fight for survival. The entity they have awakened will follow them, torment them, threatening to make them a part of the bloody legacy of Kill Creek.
    Show book
  • The Immortal Who Loved Me - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    The Immortal Who Loved Me - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 6
    • 37
    • 0
    A few hours ago, Sherry Carne would have sworn that vampires didn’t exist. That’s before rogue immortals rampage through her store, leaving bloody chaos (literally) in their wake. The kicker comes when Sherry learns that one of the vamps on the bad guys’ trail may be her life mate. Her head says it’s impossible. The rest of her takes one look at Basileios Argeneau and has much more interesting ideas. 
    Whatever Basil expected in a life mate, funny, outspoken Sherry isn’t it. But mind-blowing chemistry and instinct don’t lie. They tell him something else, too—that Sherry’s connection to the immortal world goes deeper than she knows. And that she’s in the kind of danger only Basil can save her from—if she’ll just trust him, now and forever . . .
    Show book
  • Vampire Interrupted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Interrupted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 16
    • 0
    After seven hundred years of life, Marguerite Argeneau finally has a career. Well, the start of one, anyway. She's training to be a private investigator, and her first assignment is to find an immortal's mother. It seemed simple enough, until Marguerite wakes up one evening to find herself at the wrong end of a sword. Now she realizes she's in way over her head. 
    Julius Notte wants to protect Marguerite, and not because someone just tried to take her head off. She doesn't know it yet, but she's his lifemate and he's determined to woo her. It's been over five hundred years since he last courted a woman, but surely the techniques haven't changed. Now if only he can keep her alive—so to speak—so they can have that happily-ever-after.
    Show book