Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Heaven and Hell - cover

Heaven and Hell

John Jakes

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

The searing conclusion to the North and South Trilogy brings the battle between the Mains and Hazards—and Confederate and Union armies—to a brilliantly satisfying end The last days of the Civil War bring no peace for the Main and Hazard families. As the Mains’ South smolders in the ruins of defeat, the Hazards’ North pushes blindly for relentless industrial progress. Both the nation and the families’ long-standing bond hover on the brink of destruction. In the series’ epic conclusion, Jakes expertly blends personal conflict with historical events, crafting a haunting page-turner about America’s constant change and unyielding hope.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of John Jakes including rare images from the author’s personal collection.
Available since: 07/10/2012.
Print length: 786 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Masquerade - Book Two of the Unchained Trilogy - cover

    Masquerade - Book Two of the...

    Maria McKenzie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Celebrated actress Lavinia Hargraves performs her most challenging role offstage. Although born in 1872 to Daniel Taylor, a white man and wealthy landowner in Southern California, Lavinia's mother, Lori, is a Negro and former slave. Lavinia, who appears white, is desperate to hide her Negro ancestry, as well as pursue her dream of becoming the world's greatest actress. After eloping with the much older Vernon Hargraves, owner of New York's premier theater company, Lavinia is provided with all she could ever want: a new life as white, stardom on the stage, and an abundant supply of money. Soon Lavinia's seduction by a young and handsome actor sets in motion a devastating turn of events. Dashing millionaire contractor Andrew Standish comes into Lavinia's life at a time when she needs him most. However, the secret of Lori's existence could demolish her daughter's carefully constructed facade. To what lengths will Andrew go to uncover Lavinia's past?
    Show book
  • A Tapestry of Light (Dreams of India) - cover

    A Tapestry of Light (Dreams of...

    Kimberly Duffy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Calcutta, 1886. 
     
    Ottilie Russell is adrift between two cultures, British and Indian, belonging to both and neither. In order to support her little brother, Thaddeus, and her grandmother, she relies upon her skills in beetle-wing embroidery that have been passed down to her through generations of Indian women. 
     
    When a stranger appears with the news that Thaddeus is now Baron Sunderson and must travel to England to take his place as a nobleman, Ottilie is shattered by the secrets that come to light. Despite her growing friendship with Everett Scott, friend to Ottilie's English grandmother and aunt, she refuses to give up her brother. Then tragedy strikes, and she is forced to make a decision that will take Thaddeus far from death and herself far from home.  
     
    But betrayal and loss lurk in England, too, and soon Ottilie must fight to ensure Thaddeus doesn't forget who he is, as well as find a way to stitch a place for herself in this foreign land.
    Show book
  • Murder in Morningside Heights - cover

    Murder in Morningside Heights

    Victoria Thompson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the latest from the bestselling author of Murder on St. Nicholas Avenue, former police sergeant Frank Malloy and his wife adjust to life in New York high society as they investigate a death in the field of higher learning...  
    After spending his first few weeks as a private detective by investigating infidelities of the wealthy, Frank has a more serious case at hand.  
    Abigail Northrup of Tarrytown, New York, was her parents' pride and joy. After graduating from a prestigious women's college in Morningside Heights, she took a job there as an instructor. She also joined the ranks of the New Women, ladies planning for a life without a husband in which they make their own decisions and make a difference in the world. Unfortunately, her murder ended all that.  
    When the police declare the incident a random attack and refuse to investigate further, Abigail's parents request Frank's help. Of course, he'll need Sarah's assistance as she's more familiar with the world of academia, and it will be far easier for her to interview the lady professors. Yet difficulties arise as they learn that although Miss Northrup may have been an exemplary student and teacher, she lived in a world of secrets and lies.
    Show book
  • To the Wild Horizon - A totally captivating story of love and endurance on the Oregon Trail - cover

    To the Wild Horizon - A totally...

    Imogen Martin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Missouri, 1846: In the frontier town of Independence the sound of a gunshot shatters the night. As the pistol drops from her hand and clatters to the ground, Grace knows she has no choice but to leave. Now.
    
     
    In this inspiring and deeply moving story of love, courage and endurance, a young woman on the run from the law sets off on a desperate journey of survival on the treacherous Oregon Trail.
    
     
    Terrified she’s wanted for the murder of her landlord, Grace is certain that, even though she acted in self-defence, no one will believe her. Quickly packing the few belongings she and her little brother Tom possess, they race to join the line of dusty wagons preparing to leave for Oregon.
    
     
    As they set off, over the perilous Great Plains, knowing the wild rivers and the Rocky Mountains they must cross, Grace vows to do whatever it takes to protect Tom and get them both to safety. She will prove herself capable of surviving the hardest journey of her life.
    
     
    This unputdownable and heart-wrenching historical novel shows the true strength and resilience of a woman’s heart, even when she has everything to lose and the odds are stacked against her. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Amy Harmon and Olivia Hawker will lose themselves in To the Wild Horizon.
    
     
    Readers are captivated by Imogen Martin’s historical novels:
    
     
    “Absolutely LOVED this book. I was reading it far too late into the night to find out what happened next.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “Wonderful… I genuinely struggled to put this book down, in the end giving up completely and staying exactly where I was until I’d finished it.” Eva Glyn, author of The Olive Grove, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    "Captivating… will leave an indelible mark on your heart." Rachel Wesson, author of Darkness Falls
    
     
    “Stayed awake half the night to finish this book – I couldn’t put it down!” Sue MacDonagh, author of The Sea Sisters Swimming Club, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “I adored this book.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “Enthralled from the very first page. I’ll be recommending this book to everyone.” Luisa A. Jones, author of The Gilded Cage, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “A great read… I just couldn’t put it down.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “Wonderful. I loved every minute.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • Secrets Of The Rubicon - Rome’s Ruby Red Line - cover

    Secrets Of The Rubicon - Rome’s...

    Ivo Ragazzini

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Once there was a time when Romagna was named Flaminia and the Rubicon was not only a river. When in 49 BCE Julius Caesar arrived he found waiting for him a wooden palisade coloured ruby red where he deployed his legions for several months on that border defended by the legionaries of Pompeo. 
    But who and for what reason was it built, even before Caesar was born, a red line of defence built even to the sea and what would Caesar and his legions do to breach it? 
    Born out of the historical events that have never before been seen, this book will lead you to discover for the first time what the Rubicon really was, what did the legionaries of Caesar do when they decided to attack Rom and many other unpublished news that you never even suspected and will lead, step by step, to discover for the first time: • What was the Rubicon really? • Who and for what reason was it constructed even before the birth of Caesar? • Why have historians never been able to agree about where the Rubicon was? • What plans and strategies did Caesar employ to cross it? • And Pompeo’s legions in its defence? • Had someone made a curse against whoever dared to cross it armed? • Did Caesar and his legions had nightmare from the ‘Malanotte’ before crossing it? • What was Romagna and what did it symbolise in the time of Caesar? • What was the festival of ‘New Years’ that took place in Roma? • What Latin insults did their legions tell each other? And much other unpublished news that you have never suspected. A book that for the first time will cast on the historical darkness left to fall on these events.
    Show book
  • The Scarlet Letter - cover

    The Scarlet Letter

    Nathaniel Hawthorne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    First published in 1850, "The Scarlet Letter" is a historical fiction novel set in 17th-century Puritan Massachusetts Bay Colony. The book centers on Hester Prynne, who conceives a daughter through an extramarital affair and struggles with the repercussions in a highly religious and morally strict society. She is forced to wear a red "A" on her dress, signifying her as an "adulteress." The novel delves into themes of sin, guilt, and social judgment, and it's considered one of the cornerstones of American literature
    Show book