Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
H is for Hawkesbury - Hawkesbury Upton Literature Festival Anthology 2015 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

H is for Hawkesbury - Hawkesbury Upton Literature Festival Anthology 2015

John Holland, Helen J Rolfe, Jean Burnett, John Lynch, Caroline Sanderson, Katie Fforde, Orna Ross, Rosalind Minett, Christine Jordan, Debbie Young, Ali Bacon, William Fairney, Marie Howard, Andrew Lowe, Michael MacMahon, P D Murphy, Lynne Pardoe, David Penny, Lindsay Stanberry-Flynn, Ellie Stevenson, Sophie E Tallis, Shirley Wright

Publisher: Hawkesbury Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This anthology has been compiled as a souvenir of the first ever Hawkesbury Upton Literature Festival, a new free celebration of books and reading, held in a small Cotswold village in Gloucestershire, England. It contains samples of the works of all the authors and poets who took part in the festival, and is designed to be both a souvenir of the first festival and an overture to the second one, which will be held on 23rd April 2016. The text includes both fiction and non-fiction, ranging from historical and contemporary fiction to travelogues and self-help, from sinister thrillers to light-hearted humour. As in the festival itself, there is something to interest all kinds of readers and to encourage festival guests to try books beyond their usual comfort zone. All of the authors have published books currently available to order in bookshops and online, and the Festival organisers hope that after enjoying this sampler, you will want to buy more books by the contributors. Thank you very much for supporting Hawkesbury Upton Literature Festival. For more information about the festival, visit its website at www.hulitfest.com.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • The Hands That Held Me - cover

    The Hands That Held Me

    Lisa Jo Symonds

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Hands That Held Me  is Lisa Jo Symonds’ personal journey through childhood trauma - of abuse, child trafficking, addiction, overdose, and ultimately victory over all that meant to destroy her. She describes in shocking and honest details - the various types of physical, emotional, and sexual abuse she encountered while growing up. At 15 years old, she became pregnant and ran away, surviving among drug and prostitution-filled streets, while searching herself for forgiveness for all who hurt her. Years after her sister's death to overdose and her own suicide attempt, Lisa describes her lowest points in life. Through her strength, determination, and faith, she survived a traumatic childhood, endured the challenges of being a single parent, overcame abusive relationships, and broke free from a lifetime of multiple addictions. She shares with readers how she was able to do this on her own without withdrawals or cravings, after repeated failed attempts with traditional addiction treatment programs and counselors.  This is a story of victory in the face of a lifetime of adversity. 
    Lisa Jo began sharing her story through a series of powerful posts on Facebook in May of 2018 that extended over a 2-month period.  Some of the actual posts are incorporated into The Hands That Held Me. As she exposed the horrific memories of her own childhood and publicly admitted to her addictions and afflictions, others stepped forth, inspired by her story, to tell their own story and begin their own journey of healing and recovery. 
    About the Author:  Despite it all, Lisa Jo earned a dual Bachelor and Masters degree in health sciences – Public Health.  She uses her life experiences and her education to improve the health and lives of others on a global scale.  Lisa Jo is the American Ambassador of ‘Hope For Rural Orphans,” an orphanage in Mbale, Uganda.  She also focuses much of her attention to actively raising awareness and pushing for public health policy changes regarding addiction and treatment.  Her goal is to help bring an end to policies that have cost hundreds of thousands of preventable deaths since the war on drugs and the opioid overdose epidemic began.  She is a voice and an advocate for all other survivors of abuse, domestic violence, and human trafficking and makes herself available to all who reach out to her on social media 24/7.
    Show book
  • The Grapes of Wrath (RSMediaItalia Nobel Collection) - cover

    The Grapes of Wrath...

    John Steinbeck

    • 3
    • 9
    • 0
    The Grapes of Wrath is an American realist novel written by John Steinbeck and published in 1939. The book won the National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize for fiction, and it was cited prominently when Steinbeck was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1962.
    Set during the Great Depression, the novel focuses on the Joads, a poor family of tenant farmers driven from their Oklahoma home by drought, economic hardship, agricultural industry changes and bank foreclosures forcing tenant farmers out of work. Due to their nearly hopeless situation, and in part because they were trapped in the Dust Bowl, the Joads set out for California. Along with thousands of other "Okies", they sought jobs, land, dignity, and a future.
    The Grapes of Wrath is frequently read in American high school and college literature classes due to its historical context and enduring legacy. A celebrated Hollywood film version, starring Henry Fonda and directed by John Ford, was made in 1940.
    Show book