Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
An Apache Campaign In The Sierra Madre - cover

An Apache Campaign In The Sierra Madre

John Gregory Bourke

Publisher: Madison & Adams Press

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

An Apache Campaign In The Sierra Madre is a first-hand historical account written by a captain in the United States Army, John Gregory Bourke. The book presents the details of the expedition led by General Crook to the Sierra Madre, in 1883. As Crook's aide, Bourke had the opportunity to witness every facet of life in the Old West—the battles, wildlife, the internal squabbling among the military, the Indian Agency, settlers, and Native Americans, which are all presented in this read.
Available since: 05/10/2021.

Other books that might interest you

  • 81 Days Below Zero - The Incredible Survival Story of a World War II Pilot in Alaska's Frozen Wilderness - cover

    81 Days Below Zero - The...

    Brian Murphy, Toula Vlahou

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The untold story of Leon Crane, the only surviving crew member of a World War II B-24 crash on a remote mountain near the Arctic Circle, who managed to stay alive 81 days in sub-zero temperature by making peace with nature, and end his ordeal by walking along a river to safety. Part World War II story, part Alaskan adventure story, part survival story, and even part inspirational story, this is what we call " a good read."This is the first full length retelling of Crane' s incredible survivalist story. It has been noted in magazines and in story collections over the years: most notably, just after the war ended, Crane' s story was included in a book aptly titled,  The 100 Best True Stories of World War II , and in the 1970s, the story was a part of John McPhee' s hot-selling collection of Alaskan survival tales, Coming into the Country.
    Show book
  • Umbrellas and Their History - cover

    Umbrellas and Their History

    William Sangster

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A whimsically serious look at the umbrella and society. (summary by Clarica)
    Show book
  • Steps to Christ - cover

    Steps to Christ

    Ellen G. White

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ellen Gould White (1827 - 1915) was a prolific Christian writer, authoring 40 books in her lifetime. She was active in the Millerite movement, and was one of the principle founders of the Seventh Day Adventist Church.Steps to Christ, first published in 1892, is her most popular book. It has been translated into more than 70 languages. The theme of the book is how to come to know Christ better. (Summary by Donald Hines)
    Show book
  • Brigham Young - Pioneer Prophet - cover

    Brigham Young - Pioneer Prophet

    John G. Turner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Brigham Young was a rough-hewn craftsman from New York whose impoverished and obscure life was electrified by the Mormon faith. He trudged around the United States and England to gain converts for Mormonism, spoke in spiritual tongues, married more than fifty women, and eventually transformed a barren desert into his vision of the Kingdom of God. While previous accounts of his life have been distorted by hagiography or polemical exposé, John Turner provides a fully realized portrait of a colossal figure in American religion, politics, and westward expansion.After the 1844 murder of Mormon founder Joseph Smith, Young gathered those Latter-day Saints who would follow him and led them over the Rocky Mountains. In Utah, he styled himself after the patriarchs, judges, and prophets of ancient Israel. As charismatic as he was autocratic, he was viewed by his followers as an indispensable protector and by his opponents as a theocratic, treasonous heretic.Under his fiery tutelage, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints defended plural marriage, restricted the place of African Americans within the church, fought the U.S. Army in 1857, and obstructed federal efforts to prosecute perpetrators of the Mountain Meadows Massacre. At the same time, Young's tenacity and faith brought tens of thousands of Mormons to the American West, imbued their everyday lives with sacred purpose, and sustained his church against adversity. Turner reveals the complexity of this spiritual prophet, whose commitment made a deep imprint on his church and the American Mountain West.
    Show book
  • Closing Time - A Memoir - cover

    Closing Time - A Memoir

    Joe Queenan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood-with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary-and into the wider world. Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.
    Show book
  • Almost a Boffin - Why He Invented The Cruise Missile - cover

    Almost a Boffin - Why He...

    EE Vielle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tubby Vielle briefly mentions his schooldays, falling in love with his future wife when he was 15 years old and the effect the Great Depression and fear of starvation in 1931 had on his future.  He describes his flying training at the RAF College, Cranwell, his experience as a fighter pilot at Biggin Hill in 1934 and his two years as a pilot in the Fleet Air Arm at the time of the Abyssinian war. He explains his several narrow escapes from being killed – due to his amazingly good luck which was repeated many times during his career. He details the trick by which he escaped from the Fleet Air Arm and his delight at then being given one of the top flying jobs in the RAF.
    He explains the overriding problem that faced all aircrew (except fighters controlled from the ground) of knowing where they were and how to fly accurately to where they intended. His posting to the Special Duties List, first at RAE Farnborough and later (at US request) based in Washington, DC, was to help direct the scientists trying to solve that problem.
    He mentions the part he later played (as Head of Plans, Middle East) in the negotiations of the Anglo Egyptian Treaty, and his friendship with President Nasser. He describes how he found the solution to, and reduced the likelihood of further, fatal crashes of pilots flying the Canberra and, on his first supersonic flight in a fighter, solved the problem of some fatal crashes by high flying aircraft.
    His experiences after leaving the RAF cover an even wider field of interesting events.
    Show book