If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Volleyball Coaching Wizards - Insights and Experience from Some of the World's Best Coaches - Volleyball Coaching Wizards #1 - cover

Volleyball Coaching Wizards - Insights and Experience from Some of the World's Best Coaches - Volleyball Coaching Wizards #1

John Foran, Mark Lebedew

Publisher: John Forman

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Eight master volleyball coaches with experience covering all levels, both genders, all over the world, indoors and on the sand. Their experience, insights, and expertise all in one place, just waiting for you to make them part of your own coaching!

 
Carl McGown: Renown for his 40+ years of work with the USA Men's National Team, the BYU men's college team, and being a promoter of the idea of specificity in volleyball training.

 
Giovanni Guidetti: 2016 Olympic coach for the Dutch Women's National Team and for Turkish professional club Vakifbank. Winner of two CEV Champions Leagues and an FIVB World Club Championship.

 
Ruth Nelson: AVCA Hall of Fame inductee with over 500 NCAA Division I victories alongside coaching at the national team level and in professional volleyball. Now dedicates her time to players under 10.

 
Jefferson Williams: Winner of nearly 60 league and cup titles in the UK. Coached at the national team level for both England and Team GB.

 
Teri Clemens: Won 7 NCAA Division III national championships in 14 years, including 6 in a row. Also won three straight state championships as a high school coach before moving to college volleyball.

 
Garth Pischke: The winningest men's collegiate volleyball coach in North American with nearly 1300 victories in Canada, including 9 national titles and 9 runner-up finishes.

 
Tom Turco: Winner of 17 state high school championships, including a 110 match winning streak. Twice selected National Coach of the Year.

 
Craig Marshall: Australian National Team beach coach for three Olympics. Nearly 20 years coaching on the international professional beach tour.

 
You may know a few of these coaches, at least by reputation. Chances are there are some you've never heard of at all, though. The thing they share is lots of of success in their particular volleyball arena, or in some cases across multiple arenas. They each have things they can share with you about how they got to where they are, including mistakes they've made along the way.

 
What is Volleyball Coaching Wizards?

 
The Volleyball Coaching Wizards project is about identifying great coaches from all categories of volleyball and making their experience, insights, and expertise available to people all over the world. We interview coaches from across the globe, all age groups, both genders, all competitive levels, indoor and beach. They share with us their philosophies, their thought processes, and their methodologies. We then share that with you.

 
This is not about drills and games. There are other great places to get that type of material.

 
Instead, Volleyball Coaching Wizards is about the thinking that surrounds the technical and tactical side of things. It's about letting you see what great volleyball coaches have in common, and where they differ despite all having great success over their career.

 
There are two main goals of the Wizards project. One is to provide information and inspiration to volleyball coaches everywhere. The other is to help develop a real volleyball coaching literature, one which matches what can be found in other sports.

 
About the Authors

 
John Forman is the author of the well-respected coachingvb.com blog. His coaching experience includes Juniors, college, and university in the US and U.K., plus professional coaching in Sweden. 

 

Mark Lebedew is currently the Australian Men's National Team Coach and coaches professionally in Poland. He previously coached five seasons in Germany where his teams won three straight league championships and a CEV Champions League bronze medal.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bounce - Mozart Federer Picasso Beckham and the Science of Success - cover

    Bounce - Mozart Federer Picasso...

    Matthew Syed

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success-in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you'd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell's The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.
    Show book
  • Play Golf Forever - A physiotherapist's guide to golf fitness and health for the over 50s - cover

    Play Golf Forever - A...

    Suzanne Clark

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Play Golf Forever is a practical guide to slowing down the gradual decline in your body as you get older. Suzanne Clark has 30 years' experience as a physiotherapist and is a keen, all-round sports player. She explains in layman's terms how your body works when you play golf and what you can do to make it healthier and fitter to enable you to play for longer. She describes how to strengthen key muscles as part of the everyday tasks you already do, how to prevent injury and what to do if you are injured. This book is for all the over 50s who want to keep playing golf.
    Show book
  • Toronto and the Maple Leafs - A City and Its Team - cover

    Toronto and the Maple Leafs - A...

    Lance Hornby

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    100 years of love, celebration, heartbreak, and even parades
     
    On December 19, 2017, the Toronto Maple Leafs officially turn 100. In the spirit of the centenary celebrations, Toronto and the Maple Leafs explores the city’s relationship with its most beloved sports team. No matter how many times the Jays and Raptors make the playoffs, it’s a Leafs game that still brings the city together on a cold Saturday night and fuels the talk shows all summer. But why are fans so absorbed by a team that has not won a Cup in 50 years?
     
    Veteran Leafs and NHL columnist Lance Hornby gives readers an insider’s perspective on how the pulse of the city and team became one through two world wars, the Depression, the zany Harold Ballard years, and, until recently, dysfunctional hockey operations. Toronto and the Maple Leafs includes insights and stories from Mayor John Tory to Joe Fan; from influential voices of the Leafs, such as Foster Hewitt and Joe Bowen, to the ushers, cleaners, and ticket scalpers. Not to mention a funeral director who performs Leafs-themed services.
     
    An unforgettable book about the good teams, bad games, and bizarre times of this franchise’s history, this is the perfect companion for every Leafs fan.
    Show book
  • Death of the Territories - Expansion Betrayal and the War that Changed Pro Wrestling Forever - cover

    Death of the Territories -...

    Tim Hornbaker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For decades, distinct professional wrestling territories thrived across North America. Each regionally based promotion operated individually and offered a brand of localized wrestling that greatly appealed to area fans. Promoters routinely coordinated with associates in surrounding regions, and the cooperation displayed by members of the National Wrestling Alliance made it easy for wrestlers to traverse the landscape with the utmost freedom. 
     
    Dozens of territories flourished between the 1950s and late ’70s. But by the early 1980s, the growth of cable television had put new outside pressures on promoters. An enterprising third-generation entrepreneur who believed cable was his opportunity to take his promotion national soon capitalized on the situation. 
     
    A host of novel ideas and the will to take chances gave Vincent Kennedy McMahon an incredible advantage. McMahon waged war on the territories and raided the NWA and AWA of their top talent. By creating WrestleMania, jumping into the pay-per-view field, and expanding across North America, McMahon changed professional wrestling forever. 
     
    Providing never-before-revealed information, Death of the Territories is a must-read for fans yearning to understand how McMahon outlasted his rivals and established the industry’s first national promotion. At the same time, it offers a comprehensive look at the promoters who opposed McMahon, focusing on their noteworthy power plays and embarrassing mistakes.
    Show book
  • The Athletic Development of the Dressage Horse - Manege Patterns - cover

    The Athletic Development of the...

    Charles de Kunffy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Howell Equestrian Library is a distinguished collection of books on all aspects of horsemanship and horsemastership. The nearly fifty books in print offer readers in all disciplines and at all levels of competition sound instruction and guidance by some of the most celebrated riders, trainers, judges and veterinarians in the horse world today. Whether your interest is dressage, show jumping or Western riding, or whether it's breeding, grooming or health care, Howell has a book to answer your needs.Get to know all the books in the Howell Equestrian Library: many are modern-day classics and have achieved the status of authoritative references in the estimation of those who ride, train and care for horses.The Howell Equestrian Library
    Show book
  • The One-Day Contract - How to Add Value to Every Minute of Your Life - cover

    The One-Day Contract - How to...

    Rick Pitino, Eric Crawford

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A life-changing guide to achieving your goals, by the 2013 NCAA champion college basketball coach and #1 New York Times bestselling author. Rick Pitino is famous as one of the most dynamic and successful basketball coaches of our time, leading the University of Louisville Cardinals to the NCAA basketball championship in 2013, and is renowned for writing the #1 New York Times best-selling success and leadership book, Success is a Choice.In his new book, The One-Day Contract, Pitino details his key to success, on the court and in life: to focus on making the most of each day, by creating a contract with yourself. Coach Pitino was able to turn Louisville into NCAA champions by applying this idea to everything he and the team did — every practice, every recruiting visit, every game preparation, every scouting report, every instruction that he gave players and coaches, and everything he did himself. Each day became just as important as reaching the national championship, and so, by honoring the one-day contract, he and Louisville moved through adversity toward their goal.In this inspiring and practical guide, Coach Rick Pitino illustrates how to set your own one-day contract, and follow through to honor it for each day, each goal, and each interaction with another person. Pitino shows how to:Establish focus as a discipline in everything you do: planning, strategy, priorities, and career advancement.Discover the true key to success: not ambition, not wealth, not power, but humility.Use technology wisely — but don't let it replace personal connection with the people you work and live with.Own up to your problems, tell the truth and they will become part of your past. Lie and they become part of your future.Make small changes and add value to every minute of your life.The One-Day Contract will reshape the way you approach your job, your goals, and your life. Includes an introduction read by the author.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book