Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The Noble Gentleman - "Free from the clamor of the troubled Court We may enjoy our own green shadowed walks" - cover

The Noble Gentleman - "Free from the clamor of the troubled Court We may enjoy our own green shadowed walks"

John Fletcher, Francis Beaumont

Publisher: Stage Door

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The English dramatists Francis Beaumont and John Fletcher, collaborated in their writing during the reign of James I of England (James VI of Scotland, 1567–1625; in England he reigned from 1603). 
Beaumont & Fletcher began to collaborate as writers soon after they met.  After notable failures of their solo works their first joint effort, Philaster, was a success and tragicomedy was the genre they explored and built upon.  There would be many further successes to follow. 
There is an account that at the time the two men shared everything.  They lived together in a house on the Bankside in Southwark, "they also lived together in Bankside, sharing clothes and having one wench in the house between them." Or as another account puts it “sharing everything in the closest intimacy." 
Whatever the truth of this they were now recognised as perhaps the best writing team of their generation, so much so, that their joint names was applied to all the works in which either, or both, had a pen including those with Philip Massinger, James Shirley and Nathan Field. 
The first Beaumont and Fletcher folio of 1647 contained 35 plays; 53 plays were included in the second folio in 1679. Other works bring the total plays in the canon to about 55. However there appears here to have been some duplicity on the account of the publishers who seemed to attribute so many to the team.  It is now thought that the work between solely by Beaumont and Fletcher amounts to approximately 15 plays, though of course further works by them were re-worked by others and the originals lost. 
After Beaumont’s early death in 1616 Fletcher continued to write and, at his height was, by many standards, the equal of Shakespeare in popularity until his own death in 1625.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fantasy World of Bettie Page #3 - cover

    Fantasy World of Bettie Page #3

    Michael Frizell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This issue: Bettie Page fights alone! Trapped in the enemy stronghold, Bettie must use all her acquired skills and singular charm to obtain the information necessary to prevent war with Russia and to stay alive! Meanwhile, Colonel Vetrov’s plan nears fruition, and the Red Menace is born!
    Show book
  • Singing and posture postural and osteopathic principles for singers - cover

    Singing and posture postural and...

    Mauro Banfi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A book dedicated to students and professional singers interested in a funcional perspective of the daily practice of singing.
    It rediscovers the often forgotten micro mobilities of the body, which are very useful for artists, by not considering posture as a static concept.
    It is not a manual of vocal technique but it is a text aimed at improving the “body posture for a good voice “.
    It’s dedicated to teachers and students who want to explore these topics with particular attention to the most frequent problems occurring to singers.
    It also proposes exercises and pratical prevention in support of the artistic training.
    Mauro Banfi, Osteopath and Physioterapist is specialised on the treatement of performing artists. His approach rapresents the updated result of practical experimentation, workshops, masterclasses for choirs , vocal groups , music schools and conservatories in over twenty years of experience.
    Show book
  • City as a Political Idea - Citizenship Sovereignty and Politics - cover

    City as a Political Idea -...

    PLYMOUTH UNIV

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The question of citizenship is becoming one of the central social and political problems, where sovereignty is being challenged by globalisation and militarisation. The old model of citizenship is no longer valid in the contemporary reality of mass migrations and ethnic, religious and cultural integration. Krzysztof Nawratek revives the socio-political potential of the city as a tool for social change. He proposes to establish the city’s own sovereignty by introducing a new type of multiple and flexible city citizenship. City as a Political Idea combines reflection on urban planning, architecture, politics and society. It questions reasons for the existence of contemporary cities as well as their future.
    Show book
  • Twelve Lessons on Breathing and Breath Control - For Singers Speakers and Teachers - cover

    Twelve Lessons on Breathing and...

    George E. Thorp

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This vintage book contains a detailed guide to the various breathing techniques employed by singers and public speakers. Written in simple, clear language and full of useful information, this timeless handbook is highly recommended for modern readers with a practical interest in singing. Contents include: "In Breathing", "A Study of the Movement in Ordinary Inspiration", "In Breathing", "The Parts of the Act of Inspiration", "In Breathing-The Backward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Forward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Upward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Upward Movement of the Chest, continued", "Power", "Breath Control", et cetera. Many vintage books such as this are increasingly scarce and expensive. Originally published in 1896, we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition.
    Show book
  • Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs and Classical Music - cover

    Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs...

    Blair Tindall

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.
    Show book
  • Knives & Ink - Chefs and the Stories Behind Their Tattoos (with Recipes) - cover

    Knives & Ink - Chefs and the...

    Wendy MacNaughton, Isaac Fitzgerald

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the authors of Pen & Ink--New York Times bestselling illustrator Wendy MacNaughton and BuzzFeed books editor Isaac Fitzgerald--the stories behind the tattoos that chefs proudly wear, with their signature recipes. 
     
    Winner of the International Association of Culinary Professionals [IACP] Cookbook Design Award. 
     
    Chefs take their tattoos almost as seriously as their knives. From gritty grill cooks in backwoods diners to the executive chefs at the world's most popular restaurants, it's hard to find a cook who doesn't sport some ink. Knives & Ink features the tattoos of more than sixty-five chefs from all walks of life and every kind of kitchen, including 2014 James Beard Award-winner Jamie Bissonnette, Alaska-fishing-boat cook Mandy Lamb, Toro Bravo's John Gorham, and many more. Each tattoo has a rich, personal story behind it: Danny Bowien of Mission Chinese Food remembers his mother with fiery angel wings on his forearms, and Dominique Crenn of Michelin two-starred Atelier Crenn bears ink that reminds her to do "anything in life that you put your heart into.†? Like the dishes these chefs have crafted over the years, these tattoos are beautiful works of art. Knives & Ink delves into the wide and wonderful world of chef tattoos and shares their fascinating backstories, along with personal recipes from many of the chefs.
    Show book