Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Terror Town USA - The Untold Story of Joliet's Notorious Serial Killer - cover

Terror Town USA - The Untold Story of Joliet's Notorious Serial Killer

John Ferak

Publisher: WildBlue Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The veteran true crime author chronicles the terrifying murders, surprising arrest and dramatic trial of Illinois serial killer Milton Johnson.   In the summer of 1983, an elusive serial killer stalked the blue-collar industrial city of Joliet, Illinois. One overnight killing spree took five victims, including members of the Will County Sheriff’s Office. The following month brought a quadruple murder inside a shop known for its pottery classes.   The plague of violence sparked the controversial New York City-based Guardian Angels to descend on Joliet, generating more unwanted media attention for the community. The National Enquirer labeled Joliet “Terror Town, U.S.A.”   With an arrest that seemed to come out of nowhere, authorities linked their suspect to a chilling fourteen homicides, plus three women who miraculously survived their agonizing encounters. But with multiple murder trials on the horizon, it remained anyone’s guess whether Milton Johnson was guilty of mass murder and if so, would he die by means of lethal injection at the Illinois Department of Corrections?

Other books that might interest you

  • Possessed - The Infamous Texas Stiletto Murder - cover

    Possessed - The Infamous Texas...

    Kathryn Casey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The officer responding to a 911 call at one of Houston's hippest high-rises expected the worst. After all, domestic violence situations can be unpredictable. But nothing could've prepared him for what he found: a beautiful woman drenched in blood, an older man lying dead on the floor, and a cobalt blue suede stiletto with tufts of white hair stuck to its five-and-a-half-inch heel.With her stunning looks, magnetic personality, and erratic behavior, Ana Trujillo had a notorious reputation on the downtown Houston scene. She spoke often of occult powers, though few knew how deeply she believed such boasts. Stefan Andersson was a gentle soul, a Swedish transplant with a good career and trusted friends, who was desperate to find someone special. Theirs is a story of obsession, madness, and tragedy. Because once Stefan fell head over heels for Ana, he was under her control-and he didn't have a chance in hell.
    Show book
  • Summary Execution - The Seattle Assassinations of Silme Domingo and Gene Viernes - cover

    Summary Execution - The Seattle...

    Michael Withey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “An incredible true story that reads like an international crime thriller.”—Steve Jackson, New York Times bestselling authorOn June 1, 1981, two young activists, Silme Domingo and Gene Viernes, were murdered in Seattle in what was made to appear like a gang slaying. But the victims’ families and friends suspected they were considered a threat to the dictatorship of Philippines dictator Ferdinand Marcos and his regime’s relationship to the United States. In Summary Execution, attorney and author Michael Withey describes his ten-year battle for justice for Domingo and Viernes that he fought because “They killed my friends.” Follow along as he embarks on a long and dangerous investigation and into the courtroom to obtain convictions of three hitmen, and then prove in U.S. federal court that Marcos was behind the assassinations. If so, it would be the first time in U.S. history that a foreign head of state would be held liable for the murder of American citizens on U.S. soil.However, to accomplish this Withey and his legal team, working with the victims’ families and friends, would have to overcome numerous obstacles including exposing the perjured eyewitness testimony of an FBI informant, uncovering the brutal murder of an accomplice who was being sought to turn state’s evidence, and working around the failure by local authorities to prosecute the Marcos operative who planned the murders.“Remarkable . . . The story has so many twists—as well as amazing turns—that prove the point that conspiracy theories aren’t necessarily fiction.”—Eric Nalder, Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative journalist 
    Show book
  • Jack the Ripper - The Forgotten Victims - cover

    Jack the Ripper - The Forgotten...

    John Bennett, Paul Begg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Two Ripper experts examine unsolved murders—from Great Britain and around the world—that occurred during the era of the notorious killer.   The number of women murdered and mutilated by Jack the Ripper is impossible to know, although most researchers now agree on five individuals. These five canonical cases have been examined at length in Ripper literature, but other contemporary murders and attacks bearing strong resemblance to the gruesome Ripper slayings have received scant attention. These unsolved cases are the focus of this intriguing book.   The volume looks at a dozen female victims who were attacked during the years of Jack the Ripper’s murder spree. Their terrible stories—a few survived to bear witness, but most died of their wounds—illuminate key aspects of the Ripper case and the period: the gangs of London’s Whitechapel district, Victorian prostitutes, the public panic inspired by the crimes and fueled by journalists, medical practices of the day, police procedures and competency, and the probable existence of other serial killers. The book also considers crimes initially attributed to Jack the Ripper in other parts of Britain and the world, notably New York, Jamaica, and Nicaragua. In a final chapter, the drive to identify the Ripper is examined, looking at suspects as well as several important theories, revealing the lengths to which some have gone to claim success in identifying Jack the Ripper.“When it comes to the meticulous details of a murder, the minute-by-minute examination of a crime and its policing, Messrs. Begg and Bennett are the very best in the true-crime genre.”—Judith Flanders, Wall Street Journal
    Show book
  • Kingdom of Lies - Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime - cover

    Kingdom of Lies - Unnerving...

    Kate Fazzini

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement.A 19-year-old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village. Soon, she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions — without knowing the first thing about computers.A veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top-notch hackers in one of the world’s largest banks. But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex-military personnel to “help”.A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high-performance shop in Newark. But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his help.A hotel doorman in China once served in the People’s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies. Now, he uses his skills to build up a private side business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghai’s commercial center.Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis.A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they are.Like Traffic set in the cybercrime world, Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye-opening.
    Show book
  • No Regrets - And Other True Cases - cover

    No Regrets - And Other True Cases

    Ann Rule

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A ship's pilot legendary for guiding mammoth freighters through the narrows of Puget Sound, Rolf Neslund was a proud Norwegian, a ladies' man, and a beloved resident of Washington State's idyllic Lopez Island. Virtually indestructible even into his golden years, he made electrifying headlines more than once: after a ship he was helming crashed into the soaring West Seattle Bridge, causing millions in damages; and following his inexplicable disappearance at age 80. Was he a suicide, a man broken by one costly misstep? Had he run off with a lifelong love? Or did a trail of gruesome evidence lead to the home Rolf shared with his wife, Ruth? On an island where everyone thought they knew their neighbors, the veneer of the Neslunds' marriage masked a convoluted case that took many years to solve. And, indeed, some still believe that the old sea captain will come home one day. 
     
    "The Sea Captain" is a classic tale as blood chilling as murder itself. Along with six other equally riveting, detailed accounts of destruction and murder committed without conscience or regret, Ann Rule takes listeners into frightening places they never could have imagined in No Regrets.
    Show book
  • Through a mother's eyes - cover

    Through a mother's eyes

    Cary Allen Stone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A chilling look at human nature in a context where the lines between right and wrong become sadly blurred. It’s a compelling account of one woman's life, and what drove her to take the life of her six-year-old son. How everyday choices shape our perceptions, justifications, and actions. One must consider how close to the edge we all are. It’s a true story told in layman’s terms, with the hope of preventing another tragic loss.
    Show book