Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Eight Times Up - cover

Eight Times Up

John Corr

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Ever since his mom left, Riley has been a mess. He feels nervous all the time. His heart pounds, his neck is tight, and he can't seem to turn off his brain. His dad signs him up for aikido, hoping it will help.

In the dojo, Riley meets boys who are much rougher than he is and a girl who is tougher than all the rest of them put together. For Wafaa, aikido is not her first choice. She was disqualified from competing in judo for wearing a hijab. From the first time she steps on the mat, it's clear she is far more skilled than anyone expected.

Through the teachings of their sensei, Riley and his classmates come to understand that aikido is not about winning or losing or about being perfect. Sensei shows them how to tap into their inner strength and find their place in the universe.

Other books that might interest you

  • Queen of Shadows - cover

    Queen of Shadows

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 5
    • 17
    • 0
    Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume. 
     
    Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past... 
     
    She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.  
     
    She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return. 
     
    Celaena's epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena's story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
    Show book
  • Warriors: A Vision of Shadows #2: Thunder and Shadow - cover

    Warriors: A Vision of Shadows...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 bestselling Warriors series continues with the second book in the A Vision of Shadows arc. 
    Nearly a moon has passed since Alderpaw returned from his journey to SkyClan’s gorge, where he found the territory taken over by rogues. Now the same vicious cats that drove out SkyClan have traced Alderpaw’s path back to the lake… and ShadowClan may be the next to fall. 
    Full of epic adventure and thrilling intrigue, this fifth Warriors series is the perfect introduction for readers new to the Warriors world—while for dedicated fans, it’s a long-awaited return to the era of Bramblestar’s ThunderClan, after the events of Omen of the Stars.
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend of the Rift - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    Jack, Marco, Cass, and Aly’s quest to find the seven magic orbs buried beneath each of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World has hit a perilous snag. King Uhla’ar has kidnapped Aly and taken her and an orb back through a rift in time. A giant, merciless behemoth guards the opening, and so Jack and his friends realize that their only hope to rescue Aly is to rush to find the rest of the lost Loculi. This mission takes them around the world—to the Temple of Artemis to fend off a mighty army and then to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, where they wind up swallowed in the belly of a beast. But before all is said and done, they must return to where it all began, to Atlantis, to save Aly, themselves…and the world. 
    Don’t miss The Legend of the Rift, the epic finale to Peter Lerangis’s earth-shattering, New York Times bestselling adventure series, Seven Wonders.
    Show book
  • Throne of Glass - cover

    Throne of Glass

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 36
    • 0
    After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. 
     
    Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.  
     
    Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 
     
    Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.
    Show book
  • Laugh-Out-Loud Christmas Jokes for Kids - cover

    Laugh-Out-Loud Christmas Jokes...

    Rob Elliott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first-ever Christmas collection from the #1 bestselling author of Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids is finally here with hundreds of holiday- and winter-themed jokes to make the season bright. 
    The holiday season just got a whole lot merrier now that Rob Elliott is back with another instant classic full of fresh, frosty fun to bring the whole family together. These pages are bursting with laughter to warm up the fireside, the sledding slopes, and everywhere in between. 
    Why don’t lobsters give Christmas presents?  
    Because they’re shellfish!
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 5
    • 81
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. 
    In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book