Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Outlaw Platoon - Heroes Renegades Infidels and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Outlaw Platoon - Heroes Renegades Infidels and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan

John Bruning, Sean Parnell

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A riveting story of American fighting men, Outlaw Platoon is Lieutenant Sean Parnell’s stunning personal account of the legendary U.S. Army’s 10th Mountain Division’s heroic stand in the mountains of Afghanistan. 
Acclaimed for its vivid, poignant, and honest recreation of sixteen brutal months of nearly continuous battle in the deadly Hindu Kesh, Outlaw Platoon is a Band of Brothers or We Were Soldiers Once and Young for the early 21st century—an action-packed, highly emotional true story of enormous sacrifice and bravery. 
A magnificent account of heroes, renegades, infidels, and brothers, it stands with Sebastian Junger’s War as one of the most important books to yet emerge from the heat, smoke, and fire of America’s War in Afghanistan.

Other books that might interest you

  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • Bad Behavior - cover

    Bad Behavior

    Noire, Kiki Swinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NINE LIVESKIKI SWINSONWild-card Aiden. Dead-shot Ava. Efficient, fast, and brutal, this notorious brother-sister hit team grew up abused, unwanted—and in lethal tune with each other. Killing nine targets in ten days will be their biggest score yet. But as Ava sets up their final target, she falls hard for him and a chance at a normal life. And that's a betrayal she may not live to regret . . . THE CRUSHED ICE CLIQUENOIREAt first all ghetto princesses Honore and Cucci want is quick cash-flow. But after sexing jewelry distributor Slimy Sam and learning his illegal tricks of the trade, they assemble a crack team of thieves for one dazzling scam. Replacing diamonds with fakes and selling the reshaped real deal on the black market is making them crazy-rich. But when Sam double-crosses them, these diamond divas must survive to steal another day . . . “Treachery, betrayal, and revenge add to the twists and turns and lots of drama in this book. Loved it! Can’t wait until the sequel comes out.”—RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars on Kiki Swinson’s The Score “Noire has created one of the liveliest urban fiction series headed by a most memorable protagonist. Fans will get a hoot out of the biting insults and dark humor marking practically every page.”—Library Journal STARRED REVIEW on Noire’s Stone Cold Liar
    Show book