Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Nos4a2 - cover

Nos4a2

Joe Hill

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

NOS4A2 is a spine-tingling novel of supernatural suspense from master of horror Joe Hill, the New York Times bestselling author of Heart-Shaped Box and Horns. 
Victoria McQueen has a secret gift for finding things: a misplaced bracelet, a missing photograph, answers to unanswerable questions. On her Raleigh Tuff Burner bike, she makes her way to a rickety covered bridge that, within moments, takes her wherever she needs to go, whether it’s across Massachusetts or across the country. 
Charles Talent Manx has a way with children. He likes to take them for rides in his 1938 Rolls-Royce Wraith with the NOS4A2 vanity plate. With his old car, he can slip right out of the everyday world, and onto the hidden roads that transport them to an astonishing – and terrifying – playground of amusements he calls “Christmasland.” Then, one day, Vic goes looking for trouble—and finds Manx. That was a lifetime ago. Now Vic, the only kid to ever escape Manx’s unmitigated evil, is all grown up and desperate to forget. But Charlie Manx never stopped thinking about Victoria McQueen. He’s on the road again and he’s picked up a new passenger: Vic’s own son.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Manitou - cover

    The Manitou

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    An ancient, powerful, and vengeful spirit attempts to reenter the world through the body of a terrified young woman in this horror classic.   Phony psychic and conman Harry Erskine never really believed in the occult until Karen Tandy approached him with a rapidly growing tumor on her neck, complaining of dark and disturbing dreams. When the mass is revealed by doctors to contain something living, the stakes skyrocket—not only for Karen and Harry but for all humanity.   Something terrible is returning from the shadows to which it has been confined for centuries—a Native American monstrosity determined to destroy every vestige of the white race that oppressed and preyed upon America’s Indians. And unless a motley group of ill-prepared defenders can harness an ancient native magic, there will be no stopping the malevolent shaman’s terrible rebirth—and no escaping the wholesale carnage it will engender.  The Manitou introduced the great Graham Masterton to the canon of horror, instantly placing him among the genre’s elite. A longtime favorite for its bold originality, unrelenting creepiness, supernatural shocks, and otherworldly surprises that would have made H. P. Lovecraft proud, Masterton’s classic continues to stand tall alongside Stephen King’s Carrie, Peter Straub’s Ghost Story, and other unforgettable literary horror debuts.  
    Show book
  • Revenge of the Manitou - cover

    Revenge of the Manitou

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    No one believed little Toby Fenner when he described the man in his wardrobe. A man whose face seemed to grow from the very wood. People smiled when Toby insisted he heard voices begging him for help. Until one day Toby woke up as someone else... And by then, things had gone too far to stop the return of a timeless, malignant force with a burning mission of vengeance for events centuries in the past. The Manitou had been vanquished once before. This time he would not fail. This time evil reborn returned triumphant... 
     
    Graham Masterton's The Manitou marked in a milestone in leading occult bestsellers. Now the acclaimed master of horror has returned with a spine-tingling sequel steeped in blood-chilling terror.
    Show book
  • If You Are There - A Novel - cover

    If You Are There - A Novel

    Susan Sherman

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Set in the early 1900s, the novel follows young Lucia Rutkowski who, thanks to the influence of her beloved grandmother, escapes the Warsaw ghetto to work as a kitchen maid in one of the wealthiest neighborhoods in the bustling city of Paris. Too talented for her lowly position, Lucia is thrown out on the street. Her only recourse is to take a job working for two disorganized, rather poor married scientists so distracted by their work that their house and young child are often neglected. Lucia soon bonds with her eccentric employers, watching as their work with radioactive materials grows increasing noticed by the world, then rising to fame as the great Marie and Pierre Curie.Soon, all of Paris is alit with the news of an impending visit from Eusapia Palladino, the world’s most famous medium. It is through her now famous employers that Lucia attends Eusapia’s gatherings and eventually falls under the medium’s spell, leaving the Curie household to travel with her to Italy. Ultimately, Lucia is placed directly in the crosshairs of faith versus science –what is more real, the glowing substances of the Curie laboratory or the glowing visions that surround the medium during her séance?
    Show book
  • The Man From Congo - Warriors Series Shorts #4 - cover

    The Man From Congo - Warriors...

    Ty Patterson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Up there with Mitch Rapp, Pike Logan, and Jack Reacher' 
    Bwana hadn't heard of Ilya Gorshkin when he rescued the two women from a gang in Paris. It was only later, when they trusted him, that they told him of the master criminal. 
    European law enforcement authorities had tried to find and arrest Gorshkin, but had never succeeded. Gorshkin was not only several steps ahead, he was ruthless in taking out search teams. Gorshkin wasn't Bwana's problem. The U.S. Special Forces operative was vacationing in Paris and his mind should have been on fine food, wine, and the sights.  
    However, Bwana can't forget the terror in the women's eyes and decides to go after Gorshkin. All by himself. After all, he, Bwana Kayembe is one of the most lethal men alive and has always come out on top in battles. 
    The problem is Ilya Gorshkin doesn't do battle. He does war. He knows Bwana is hunting him, and he is ready.  
    Check out the Warriors Series Shorts, a series of short stories that link to the main Warriors series of action thrillers 
    Zulu Hour 
    The Watcher 
    The Shadow 
    The Man From Congo
    Show book
  • The Heirloom - cover

    The Heirloom

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    An antique chair comes into a family's possession. But they soon discover that this is no ordinary heirloom. All manner of strange things begin to occur, including shifts in the fabric of time itself... 
     
    In the vein of The Wells Of Hell and The Devils Of D-Day, The Heirloom is a fast-paced, entertaining horror.
    Show book
  • Figures of Fear - cover

    Figures of Fear

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you brave enough to discover what figures of fear haunt the imagination of the “master of modern horror”
    
    From the beginning of history, men and women have been haunted by figures of fear – and now, in his latest short story collection, award-winning horror writer Graham Masterton reveals the figures that haunt his own imagination and keep him awake at night.
    
    FIGURES OF FEAR presents eleven stories, introducing eleven new evils, guaranteed to unsettle and disturb.
    
    Meet the little girl whose mother is keeping something important from her, with fearful results . . . Tremble at the artist who can see the future and prevent it, at a price . . . Beware of the dark, and the evil that lurks within it . . . Tremble, and hide, at the sound of the jingle-bells . . .
    
    Do figures of fear really bring bad luck? Or are they nothing more than stories? Only you can figure out how fearful you are . . .
    Show book