Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Bird Therapy - cover

Bird Therapy

Joe Harkness

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Nature writing meets wellness: Bird Therapy combines practical advice about birdwatching with a deeply personal account of its mental health benefits.Features a foreword by author and Springwatch presenter Chris Packham.Joe has become a spokesperson for the positive effects of birdwatching: he has appeared on BBC Radio 4 and been invited to Downing Street.For fans of Richard Mabey's Nature Cure, Kate Bradbury’s The Bumblebee Flies Anyway, Patrick Barkham’s Badgerlands and Amy Liptrot’s The Outrun.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sapiens - A Brief History of Humankind - cover

    Sapiens - A Brief History of...

    Yuval Noah Harari

    • 20
    • 610
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    A Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg  
    From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.” 
    One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one—homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us? 
    Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 years ago with the appearance of modern cognition. From examining the role evolving humans have played in the global ecosystem to charting the rise of empires, Sapiens integrates history and science to reconsider accepted narratives, connect past developments with contemporary concerns, and examine specific events within the context of larger ideas. 
    Dr. Harari also compels us to look ahead, because over the last few decades humans have begun to bend laws of natural selection that have governed life for the past four billion years. We are acquiring the ability to design not only the world around us, but also ourselves. Where is this leading us, and what do we want to become? 
    Featuring 27 photographs, 6 maps, and 25 illustrations/diagrams, this provocative and insightful work is sure to spark debate and is essential reading for aficionados of Jared Diamond, James Gleick, Matt Ridley, Robert Wright, and Sharon Moalem.
    Show book
  • Science and the City - The Mechanics Behind the Metropolis - cover

    Science and the City - The...

    Laurie Winkless

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Cities are a big deal. More people now live in them than don't, and with a growing world population, the urban jungle is only going to get busier in the coming decades. But how often do we stop to think about what makes our cities work?  
     
    Cities are built using some of the most creative and revolutionary science and engineering ideas  – from steel structures that scrape the sky to glass cables that help us communicate at the speed of light – but most of us are too busy to notice. Science and the City is your guidebook to that hidden world, helping you to uncover some of the remarkable technologies that keep the world's great metropolises moving.  
     
    Laurie Winkless takes us around cities in six continents to find out how they're dealing with the challenges of feeding, housing, powering and connecting more people than ever before. In this book, you'll meet urban pioneers from history, along with today's experts in everything from roads to time, and you will uncover the vital role science has played in shaping the city around you. But more than that, by exploring cutting-edge research from labs across the world, you'll build your own vision of the megacity of tomorrow, based on science fact rather than science fiction. 
     
    Science and the City is the perfect read for anyone curious about the world they live in.
    Show book
  • Green Guide to Butterflies Of Britain And Europe - cover

    Green Guide to Butterflies Of...

    Robert Goodden, Rosemary Goodden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Aimed at both the general reader and amateur naturalist, this guide offers information on observing and identifying 150 of the most commonly encountered butterfly species in Britain and Europe. Each butterfly's habits, range and important characteristics are described, while colour paintings show each butterfly in detail. There are sections on the four stages of the life-cycle of butterflies and on breeding butterflies. Sound advice on conservation issues is also offered. The book can be used as both a home reference and a pocket companion in the field.
    Show book
  • Concise Seashore Wildlife Guide - cover

    Concise Seashore Wildlife Guide

    Bloomsbury

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This mini guide covers almost 180 species that live in the area between land and sea called the intertidal or littoral, zone. It includes all the most common molluscs, crustaceans, seaweeds, fishes, spiny creatures such as starfishes and sea urchins, mammals and many other species found here, and is invaluable for anyone wanting to find out more about the fascinating shells and other objects they may pick up on our shores. All the species are illustrated with superb full-colour artworks, and a concise written account covers information such as size, general description, habitat, ecology, and distribution in Britain and the near Continent.  
     
    Sandra Doyle, Bridgette James, Denys Ovenden, Melanie Perkins, Helen Senior and Lyn Wells painted the illustrations.
    Show book
  • 71+10 New Science Activities - An interactive approach to learning science - cover

    71+10 New Science Activities -...

    Editorial Board

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this book, 71+10 New Science Activities, the author has taken up the simple facts and principles of Science, such as: Air Force, Pressure, Weight, Emulsification, Osmosis, Gravity and Motion, Rotation, Types of Energy, Vibrations, Good and Bad Conductors of Electricity, Experiments with Magnets, Light and Sound for children, and projected them in a very simple and lucid language for the readers-- particularly the school kids who can easily perform these activities at home or school , of course with the help and able guidance of their parents, elders or teachers. The book is meant for children of all age groups, particularly from 6 to 13, who can perform and experience the thrill of these fun-filled experiments as well as learn the basic principles of Science easily and quickly. #v&spublishers
    Show book
  • Philosophy of Physics - Quantum Theory - cover

    Philosophy of Physics - Quantum...

    Tim Maudlin

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A sophisticated and original introduction to the philosophy of quantum mechanics from one of the world’s leading philosophers of physics 
    In this book, Tim Maudlin, one of the world’s leading philosophers of physics, offers a sophisticated, original introduction to the philosophy of quantum mechanics. The briefest, clearest, and most refined account of his influential approach to the subject, the book will be invaluable to all students of philosophy and physics. 
    Quantum mechanics holds a unique place in the history of physics. It has produced the most accurate predictions of any scientific theory, but, more astonishing, there has never been any agreement about what the theory implies about physical reality. Maudlin argues that the very term “quantum theory” is a misnomer. A proper physical theory should clearly describe what is there and what it does—yet standard textbooks present quantum mechanics as a predictive recipe in search of a physical theory. 
    In contrast, Maudlin explores three proper theories that recover the quantum predictions: the indeterministic wavefunction collapse theory of Ghirardi, Rimini, and Weber; the deterministic particle theory of deBroglie and Bohm; and the conceptually challenging Many Worlds theory of Everett. Each offers a radically different proposal for the nature of physical reality, but Maudlin shows that none of them are what they are generally taken to be.
    Show book