Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
On Strike Against God - A Love Story - cover

On Strike Against God - A Love Story

Joanna Russ

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A radical novel of love, gender, and being seen for who you are from the groundbreaking author of The Female Man.   Meet Esther, an English professor. Since her divorce more than a decade ago, she has lived in a kind of limbo—a sexless, cold, and self-contained existence. Though surrounded by so-called intellectuals, she is still boxed into life according to her gender, expected to defer to her male colleagues and mocked for her feminist beliefs.   But when Esther’s feelings for her friend Jean take a turn from the platonic to the passionate, a new world opens up before her. Lost in a tumult of lust and happiness, she is unprepared for the patriarchal voices in her own head that threaten to derail her newfound freedom. Societal chaos would ensue if she were to follow her heart. It would open the floodgates to boys wearing pink! And girls, blue! How would the world survive?   In On Strike Against God, Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Joanna Russ turns from science fiction to 1970s small-town life, where desire simmers in the shadows, rebellion is taking root, and humor becomes a weapon against the status quo.   “An engrossing, darkly funny, and genre-defying classic. Russ’s voice is raw and unfiltered here, delivering the same ironic humor, wry wit, and devastating insight into messy human conceptions of gender and sexuality that permeate her science fiction work. Perfect for fans of Kelly Link and Carmen Maria Machado.” —Kameron Hurley, author of The Light Brigade   “A master of putting the truth in fiction, from her SF to her realist work, and On Strike Against God is filled to the brim with honesty.” —Tor.com  Praise for Joanna Russ   “She was brilliant in a way that couldn’t be denied. . . . She was here to imagine, to invent wildly, and to undo the process, as one of her heroines puts it, of ‘learning to despise one’s self.’” —The New Yorker

Other books that might interest you

  • Austenistan - cover

    Austenistan

    Laaleen Sukhera

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Heiress Kamila Mughal is humiliated when her brother's best friend snubs her to marry a social climbing nobody from Islamabad. Roya discovers her fiancé has been cheating on her and ends up on a blind date on her wedding day. Beautiful young widow Begum Saira Qadir has mourned her husband, but is she finally ready to start following her own desires?  
     
    Inspired by Jane Austen and set in contemporary Pakistan, Austenistan is a collection of seven stories; romantic, uplifting, witty, and heartbreaking by turn, which pay homage to the world's favourite author in their own uniquely local way.
    Show book
  • The Adventures of Spike the Wonder Dog - As told to Bill Boggs - cover

    The Adventures of Spike the...

    Bill Boggs

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Spike is an English Bull Terrier with a keen comedic eye for human foibles. He rockets to TV and internet fame after appearing on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, along with his master, Bud, who hosts a local morning show in High Point, North Carolina. Spike and Bud soon hit the fast track to bigger stardom when Bud signs on for a talk show in New York City.  They embark on an endless stream of mind-boggling adventures that include the world's first topless theme park, a rabbi promoting Christmas shows, and a yogi who discovers Spike's comical talent for teaching Transcendental Meditation. Spike's pop culture fame and the A-list crowd he mingles with in Manhattan exact a potentially fatal price. Dangerous forces enact a scheme to snatch the famous wonder dog and plunge him into an international dog fighting ring. Spike calls to mind the cultural icon Rocky Balboa as he goes into battle armed with humor and guile as well as the ancient, but never tested, skills of his breed. Will they be enough to enable him to survive?
    Show book
  • In This Economy? - cover

    In This Economy?

    Gary Gulman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this stand-up special, money is a wellspring for the comedy of funnyman Gary Gulman, who aims darts at the überwealthy — including Donald Trump.
    Show book
  • Terms & Conditions - cover

    Terms & Conditions

    Robert Glancy

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    Frank has been in a serious car accident and he's missing memories-of the people around him, of the history they share, and of how he came to be in the crash. All he remembers is that he is a lawyer who specializes in fine print, and as he narrates his story, he applies this expertise in the form of footnotes.* 
     
    Everyone keeps telling Frank that he was fine before the accident, “just a bit overwhelmed,” but as he begins to reclaim his memories, they don't quite jibe with what everyone is telling him. His odious brother Oscar is intent on going into business with an inventively cruel corporation.** Alice, Frank's wife, isn't at all like the woman he fell in love with. She's written a book called Executive X that makes Frank furious, though he isn't sure why. And to make matters even stranger, stored in a closet is a severed finger floating in an old mustard jar that makes him feel very, very proud.  
     
    As more memories flood in, Frank's tightly regulated life begins to unspool as he is forced to face up to the real terms*** and the condition of his life.**** Robert Glancy's debut novel is a shrewd and hilarious exploration of freedom and frustration, success and second chances, and whether it's worth living by the rules. 
     
     
    * Yes, exactly like this. 
     
    ** We can't tell you what it's called for legal reasons, but believe us, it's evil. 
     
    *** Which are rarely in his favor. 
     
    **** Which is a total mess.
    Show book
  • Ziska - cover

    Ziska

    Marie Corelli

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The story revolves around the mysterious Princess Ziska, who captivates a set of European tourists who are spending time in exotic Egypt. The story is a mystery involving reincarnation, romance & a touch of mild horror. (introduction by ilianthe)
    Show book
  • Me - By Jimmy Big Boy Valente As told to Garrison Keillor - cover

    Me - By Jimmy Big Boy Valente As...

    Garrison Keillor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A brilliant, biting, and wickedly funny send-up of American politics. This is satire at its best, delivered as only Keillor can.He's big. He's bold. He's brash. And as the new governor of Minnesota, Jimmy (Big Boy) Valente is the most compelling figure to appear on the state—and national—political landscape in decades.The new King of America Politics (and former UWA World Champion) tells all to best-selling author, public radio show host, and fellow Minnesotan Garrison Keillor in Me: By Jimmy (Big Boy) Valente—a brilliant, biting, and wickedly funny send-up of American politics.This is satire at its best, delivered as only Keillor can. Meet the fascinating Big Boy and join in on the wild ride!
    Show book