Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
On Strike Against God - A Love Story - cover

On Strike Against God - A Love Story

Joanna Russ

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A radical novel of love, gender, and being seen for who you are from the groundbreaking author of The Female Man.   Meet Esther, an English professor. Since her divorce more than a decade ago, she has lived in a kind of limbo—a sexless, cold, and self-contained existence. Though surrounded by so-called intellectuals, she is still boxed into life according to her gender, expected to defer to her male colleagues and mocked for her feminist beliefs.   But when Esther’s feelings for her friend Jean take a turn from the platonic to the passionate, a new world opens up before her. Lost in a tumult of lust and happiness, she is unprepared for the patriarchal voices in her own head that threaten to derail her newfound freedom. Societal chaos would ensue if she were to follow her heart. It would open the floodgates to boys wearing pink! And girls, blue! How would the world survive?   In On Strike Against God, Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Joanna Russ turns from science fiction to 1970s small-town life, where desire simmers in the shadows, rebellion is taking root, and humor becomes a weapon against the status quo.   “An engrossing, darkly funny, and genre-defying classic. Russ’s voice is raw and unfiltered here, delivering the same ironic humor, wry wit, and devastating insight into messy human conceptions of gender and sexuality that permeate her science fiction work. Perfect for fans of Kelly Link and Carmen Maria Machado.” —Kameron Hurley, author of The Light Brigade   “A master of putting the truth in fiction, from her SF to her realist work, and On Strike Against God is filled to the brim with honesty.” —Tor.com  Praise for Joanna Russ   “She was brilliant in a way that couldn’t be denied. . . . She was here to imagine, to invent wildly, and to undo the process, as one of her heroines puts it, of ‘learning to despise one’s self.’” —The New Yorker
Available since: 11/16/2021.
Print length: 111 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dad Jokes - The Punniest Joke Book Ever - cover

    Dad Jokes - The Punniest Joke...

    Press Editors of Portable

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Dad’s comedy arsenal is about to get a huge upgrade . . . to the relief of everyone around him! Cue the groans.Put an end to courtesy laughs and awkward silences with the jokes in this book! From the people who brought you Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader, this is an eclectic collection of the punniest, funniest, most outrageous knee-slappers that have ever been told! At work, at home, at the game—Dad will beat them all to the punch—line, that is! He’ll be hip and humorous with totally bodacious jokes like these:Einstein developed a theory about space. And it was about time, too! Why is Christmas just like another day in the office?Because you do all the work and some fat guy in a suit gets all the credit!Dad: “I wouldn’t want to be buried in this graveyard.”Kid: “Why not?”Dad: “Because I'm not dead yet!” And many more!
    Show book
  • Ferret Jokes - cover

    Ferret Jokes

    Joe King

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    SMILE is all you need.”
    Looking for funny jokes? Settle in: You're in the right place. From clean knock-knock jokes and the top corny jokes to hilarious one-liners and clever riddles, we've got the jokes guaranteed to bring on serious laughs.
    Browse Joe King's book list :
    • Animal Jokes • Ant Jokes • Antelope Jokes • Ape Jokes • Baboon Jokes • Badger Jokes • Bat Jokes • Bear Jokes • Bee Jokes • Bird Jokes • Buffalo Jokes • Bug Jokes • Bunny Jokes • Camel Jokes • Caterpillar Jokes • Cat Jokes • Centipede Jokes • Cheetah Jokes • Chicken Jokes • Chimp Jokes • Chipmunk Jokes • Cork In Pig Jokes • Cougar Jokes • Cow Jokes • Cris Cross Jokes • • Deer Jokes • Dinosaur Jokes • Dog Jokes • Donkey Jokes • Duck Jokes • Eagle Jokes • Elephant Jokes • Ferret Jokes • Fish Jokes • Flea Jokes • Flies Jokes • Fox Jokes • Frog Jokes • Giraffe Jokes • Goat Jokes • Guinea Pig Jokes • Hamster Jokes • Hedgehog Joke • Hippopotamus Jokes • Horse Jokes • Hunting Dog Joke • Kangaroo Jokes • Koala Jokes • Lamb Jokes • Lemur Jokes • Lion Jokes • Lizard Jokes (Iguana, Gecko) • Llama Jokes • Meerkat Jokes • Mole Jokes • Monkey Jokes • Moose Jokes • 
     
    Show book