Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
On Strike Against God - A Love Story - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

On Strike Against God - A Love Story

Joanna Russ

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A radical novel of love, gender, and being seen for who you are from the groundbreaking author of The Female Man.   Meet Esther, an English professor. Since her divorce more than a decade ago, she has lived in a kind of limbo—a sexless, cold, and self-contained existence. Though surrounded by so-called intellectuals, she is still boxed into life according to her gender, expected to defer to her male colleagues and mocked for her feminist beliefs.   But when Esther’s feelings for her friend Jean take a turn from the platonic to the passionate, a new world opens up before her. Lost in a tumult of lust and happiness, she is unprepared for the patriarchal voices in her own head that threaten to derail her newfound freedom. Societal chaos would ensue if she were to follow her heart. It would open the floodgates to boys wearing pink! And girls, blue! How would the world survive?   In On Strike Against God, Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Joanna Russ turns from science fiction to 1970s small-town life, where desire simmers in the shadows, rebellion is taking root, and humor becomes a weapon against the status quo.   “An engrossing, darkly funny, and genre-defying classic. Russ’s voice is raw and unfiltered here, delivering the same ironic humor, wry wit, and devastating insight into messy human conceptions of gender and sexuality that permeate her science fiction work. Perfect for fans of Kelly Link and Carmen Maria Machado.” —Kameron Hurley, author of The Light Brigade   “A master of putting the truth in fiction, from her SF to her realist work, and On Strike Against God is filled to the brim with honesty.” —Tor.com  Praise for Joanna Russ   “She was brilliant in a way that couldn’t be denied. . . . She was here to imagine, to invent wildly, and to undo the process, as one of her heroines puts it, of ‘learning to despise one’s self.’” —The New Yorker
Available since: 11/16/2021.
Print length: 111 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Best Friends for Never - cover

    Best Friends for Never

    Lauren Pearson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Zoe and Ava have been best friends for ever. So have Lottie and Isabel. All four of them together make the perfect group. Zoe thinks life is just as it's meant to be—until an extra chair appears in the Year 3 classroom. Now Ava is having play dates with the new girl. And Isabel is making friendship bracelets for someone other than Lottie. Suddenly everything feels wrong. Are the best friends for ever going to become best friends for never?
    Show book
  • David Sedaris: Live For Your Listening Pleasure - cover

    David Sedaris: Live For Your...

    David Sedaris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    If you were lucky enough to have caught a performance on David Sedaris's most recent sold-out, 34-city tour, you already know that David Sedaris Live For Your Listening Pleasure is a must-have album! If you didn't hear it live and in person, then you're in for a treat-hilarious brand-new recordings from performances in Denver, New York, Durham, LA, and Atlanta, in one convenient audiobook collection, on sale November 24 for only $17.98.From the bold feral rabbits of his French backyard to the eating habits of a carnivorous bird Down Under, Live For Your Listening Pleasure takes listeners on a veritable tour of natural wonders, beginning with a fable, "Cat and Baboon," and moving on to the peculiarly American habitat of the "big-box" store. 
    Track Listing: 
    1: Cat and Baboon (Temple Hoyne Buell Theatre in Denver, Colorado)2-5: Author, Author (Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in New York City)6-8: Innocence Abroad (Durham Performing Arts Center, in Durham, North Carolina)9-13 Laugh, Kookaburra (Royce Hall, UCLA  in Los Angeles, California)14-16: Diary Entries (Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, Georgia)
    Show book
  • Uncle Remus and Brer Rabbit - cover

    Uncle Remus and Brer Rabbit

    Joel Chandler Harris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Uncle Remus' stories feature a trickster hero called Br'er Rabbit ("Brother" Rabbit), who uses his wits to slide out of trouble and gain the advantage over the slower witted other animals, many of whom are trying to eat him. Br'er Rabbit stories were mostly collected directly from the afro-american oral story-telling tradition and are said to be a direct interpretation of Yoruba tales of Hare. This book contains 11 unique stories and was the last one published before the author's death. (Introduction by Phil Chenevert)
    Show book
  • Mrs Queen Takes the Train - A Novel - cover

    Mrs Queen Takes the Train - A Novel

    William Kuhn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A witty, contemporary story of the Downton Abbey-esque tensions between servants and employers, the young and the old, and tradition and modernity.” — GlamourAn absolute delight of a debut novel by William Kuhn—author of Reading Jackie: Her Autobiography in Books—Mrs Queen Takes the Train wittily imagines the kerfuffle that transpires when a bored Queen Elizabeth strolls out of the palace in search of a little fun, leaving behind a desperate team of courtiers who must find the missing Windsor before a national scandal erupts. After decades of service and years of watching her family's troubles splashed across the tabloids, Britain's Queen is beginning to feel her age. An unexpected opportunity offers her relief: an impromptu visit to a place that holds happy memories—the former royal yacht, Britannia, now moored near Edinburgh. Hidden beneath a skull-emblazoned hoodie, the limber Elizabeth (thank goodness for yoga) walks out of Buckingham Palace and heads for King's Cross to catch a train to Scotland. But a colorful cast of royal attendants has discovered her missing. In uneasy alliance a lady-in-waiting, a butler, an equerry, a girl from the stables, a dresser, and a clerk from the shop that supplies Her Majesty's cheese set out to bring her back before her absence becomes a national scandal.Comic and poignant, fast-paced and clever, Mrs Queen Takes the Train tweaks the pomp of the monarchy, going beneath its rigid formality to reveal the human heart of the woman at its center.
    Show book
  • Some Maintenance Required - cover

    Some Maintenance Required

    Marie-Renée Lavoie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It is 1993, the last year of school and Laurie’s final spring before adulthood. She works part time at a restaurant and looks after Cindy, her neglected potty-mouthed little neighbor. Like her mother, Laurie devours books and dreams big. Her father works at a garage, where she constantly struggles to keep her car running. It is here that a budding romance intensifies her understanding of class differences and opens her eyes to a more complicated world. With her big heart, she takes Cindy globe-trotting without even leaving town and learns how to come to terms with circumstances beyond her control.
    Show book
  • The Horse's Arse - cover

    The Horse's Arse

    Laura Gascoigne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Patrick Phelan is an ageing artist who has never made it big but who somehow manages to live on air in a North London suburb.
    
    When not running art classes for amateurs, Patrick wrestles in the shed at the bottom of his garden with his life's work: a series of visionary canvases of The Seven Seals.
    
    When his wheeler-dealer son Marty turns up with a commission from a rich client for some copies of paintings by modern masters, Phelan reluctantly agrees; it means money for his ex-wife Moira. However the deal with Marty is, typically, not what it seems.
    
    What follows is a complex chain of events involving fakery, fraud, kidnapping, murder, the Russian Mafia and a cast of dubious art world characters. A contemporary spin on Joyce Cary's classic satire The Horse's Mouth, The Horse's Arse by Laura Gascoigne is a crime thriller-cum-comic-fable that poses the serious question: where does art go from here?
    Show book