Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Alternative Remedies for Loss - cover

Alternative Remedies for Loss

Joanna Cantor

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An Amazon Best of the Month Selection for May 2018 
 
A slyly funny coming-of-age novel about a young woman fumbling her way into the mysteries of loss and the travails of adulthood as she tries to make sense of a vanished mother's legacy.  
 
When 22-year-old Olivia learned that her mother had only months to live, she pulled up roots, leaving Vassar and her career plans far behind to be with her mother for her last days. And yet, just four months after her mother's death, everyone in Olivia's family already seems ready to move on. Her brothers are settled comfortably in careers and families of their own; her father has already started to date again, inviting a woman named June on a family trip. Still reeling from the loss, Olivia looks for a new start of her own, throwing herself headlong into Manhattan's fast-moving media world, where she is alternately demeaned by bosses and pursued by men. 
 
But as Olivia tries to piece together an adulthood without her mother to guide her, she makes a shocking discovery: a secret romantic correspondence her mother had with a man who only signed each letter “F.” As she tries to untangle the mystery of F, Olivia will journey halfway across the world, to an ashram in rural India, on a quest that will reconfigure everything Olivia thought she knew about her family and her own place in an increasingly complex world.  
 
 
A profoundly moving and keenly observed contemplation of the debts we owe to the past and the ways we discover our futures, Alternative Remedies for Loss is the rare sort of book that can break and mend your heart in a single and unforgettable read.

Other books that might interest you

  • Only the River - A Novel - cover

    Only the River - A Novel

    Anne Raeff

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    For fans of sweeping historical and family sagas like those by Michael Ondaatje, Sarah Blake, or Claire Lombardo's recent debut, The Most Fun We've Ever Had, as well as for fans of Anthony Marra or Anthony Doerr, and fans of Jewish historical fiction
    Anne Raeff tells her story not in linear time, but instead by weaving into her chapters the different families' generations, exploring the parallels and echoes between them; the structure is ambitious, and the award-winning author pulls it off
    Raeff always writes about exiles in her fiction, beginning with the Flannery O'Connor Award-winning story collection The Jungle Around Us. In Only the River, this theme becomes deeply personal, as Raeff draws from aspects of her own grandparents' history of fleeing Vienna
    A compelling, engrossing read perfect for book clubs, with moving characters who charm, complicated family relationships (including among mothers and their children, siblings, and second families rebuilding after the loss of their first), and vivid settings that range from the Soviet Union to a remote riverside village in Nicaragua, to New York City
    Raeff's fiction so brilliantly reads like real experience, lyrically, intimately attentive to the wide variety of lives at hand: hers are often queer characters, mixed race characters, New Yorkers who move back and forth between English and Spanish; they are people the reader quickly feels at home with, swept up in their worlds
    In the 1930s and 1940s, not all Jews fled the persecution of the Nazis to North America from Europe; instead, some Jews landed in Central and South America first. Only the River follows the reverberations of one Jewish family's flight to Nicaruagua, before they move on to Manhattan. 
    Raeff lives in the Bay Area, CA
    Acquired by Counterpoint editor in chief, Dan Smetanka
    
     
    Bookseller Praise for Only the River
    
     
    "This book delighted me by both its elegance and its excellence. The story begins and ends with Pepa, whose doctor parents escaped Nazi persecution and fled with her to Nicaragua. As a teen, she flourished and fell in love with Guillermo, only to be uprooted again to New York. Over the ensuing years, their family's lives continue to entwine with neither Pepa nor Guillermo knowing all that the reader knows. Though the book is only three hundred pages, it's a feast." —Susan Buschmann, Anderson's Bookshop (Naperville, IL)
    
     
    "Spanning the world from Vienna to Nicaragua to New York, Only the River is a love story, and a story of revolution, as well as what happens when a family moves to avoid trouble but ends up causing pain and anger. I felt for Pepa—being moved around without her consent and losing the young love of her life. The side story of her parents’ attempts to rid the small town of El Castillo of the yellow fever plaguing the area near San Juan River was insightful and went a ways toward forgiving them for taking Pepa away from her love. This story is focused on family trials as well as current world affairs. I learned a lot and you will, too, while you enjoy the skill and insight displayed by this award-winning author." —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
    
     
    "Loved it!" —Anne Holman, The King's English Bookshop (Salt Lake City, UT)
    Show book
  • An Impartial Witness - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    An Impartial Witness - A Bess...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Todd’s novels are known for compelling plotting with a thoughtful whodunit aspect, rich characterization, evocative prose, and haunting atmosphere.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch 
    “Readers who can’t get enough of [Jacqueline Winspear’s] Maisie Dobbs…are bound to be caught up in the adventures of Bess Crawford.”—New York Times Book Review 
    To great critical acclaim, author Charles Todd introduced protagonist Bess Crawford in A Duty to the Dead. The dedicated World War I nurse returns in An Impartial Witness, and finds herself in grave peril when a moral obligation makes her the inadvertent target of a killer. As hauntingly evocative as Todd’s award-winning, New York Times bestselling Ian Rutledge novels, An Impartial Witness transports readers to a dark time of war and involves us in murder, intrigue, and the fascinating affairs of a truly unforgettable cast of characters.
    Show book
  • Uniform Justice - cover

    Uniform Justice

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A wall of silence surrounds a cadet’s death at an elite military academy: “Superb . . . This is an outstanding book.” —Publishers Weekly   Detective Commissario Guido Brunetti has been called to investigate a parent’s worst nightmare. A young cadet has been found hanged, a presumed suicide, in Venice’s elite military academy.   Brunetti’s sorrow for the boy, so close in age to his own son, is rivaled only by his contempt for a community that is more concerned with protecting the reputation of the school, and its privileged students, than understanding this tragedy. The young man is the son of a doctor and former politician—a man of impeccable integrity, all too rare in politics. Dr. Moro is clearly devastated; but while both he and his apparently estranged wife seem convinced that the boy’s death could not have been suicide, neither appears eager to talk to the police or involve Brunetti in any investigation of the circumstances in which he died.   As Brunetti pursues his inquiry, he is faced with a wall of silence. Is the military protecting its own? And what of the other witnesses? Is this the natural reluctance of Italians to involve themselves with the authorities, or is Brunetti facing a conspiracy far greater than this one death?   “Brunetti is a compelling character, a good man trying to stay on the honest path in a devious and twisted world.” —The Baltimore Sun
    Show book
  • Shattered - A Drew Patrick Crime Thriller Novel - cover

    Shattered - A Drew Patrick Crime...

    Jason Richards

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Murdered escorts. A hired assassin. And a race to catch the killer before all is lost.
     
    A missing person case takes a tragic twist. Private detective Drew Patrick finds himself in the middle of multiple murder investigations, and on the trail of a contract killer. As Drew digs deeper into the connections between the victims, he uncovers a secret that lands him in the cross-hairs of one Boston’s most dangerous criminals.
     
    The tenacious private eye is determined to bring the killer to justice, but only if he can avoid being taken out himself. Just as the net is about to drop on the assassin, Drew must fight with all he has to save the one person who matters most.
     
    If you like Robert B. Parker’s Spenser, Robert Crais’ Elvis Cole, or Michael Connelly’s Bosch, then you won’t be able to put down hard-boiled detective Drew Patrick in this entertaining and gripping crime thriller series.
     
    Read Shattered today and be part of the pulse-pounding thrills!
    
     
    Reader Praise for Shattered:
     
    “This book grips you the minute you start reading!!!” – Rich L.
     
    This was a really fun book to read. I love the characters, quirky and very real. I highly recommend it. Can’t wait for more!” – Gulliver’s Mom 
     
    “If you enjoy a good thriller this is for you. I highly recommend this book.” – JoBear
     
    “‘Shattered’ is an easy read and thoroughly enjoyable as we join Drew’s investigation. Drew’s character is reminiscent of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser, but distinct and enjoyable as his own self. A good read!” – ReaderPhil 
    Show book
  • The Legends of King Arthur and His Knights - cover

    The Legends of King Arthur and...

    Sir James Knowles

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    The beloved tales of Camelot, Merlin, the Round Table, the quest for the Holy Grail, and more. Today, the figure of King Arthur lives on in everything from fantasy novels to comedy films, but the legends surrounding him date back to somewhere in post-Roman times and were first collected by Geoffrey of Monmouth in the twelfth century. Edited for the modern reader by Sir James Knowles, Monmouth’s original collection features familiar tales of wizardry and prophecy, loyalty and leadership, battle and quest. With mystery still surrounding the historical origins of these romantic legends, this volume is an intriguing and absorbing journey into the medieval imagination.
    Show book
  • Borrowed Time - cover

    Borrowed Time

    David Mark

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Adam Nunn's search for his true identity has horrifying consequences in this compelling psychological thriller.
    
    A badly mutilated body has been discovered in a remote woodland pond on the Essex borders – a location known to be the haunt of the ruthless crime gang that ruled London in the 70s. When one of the victim's hands is found nearby, forensic tests reveal a number scrawled on the palm. It is quickly identified as the National Insurance number of struggling family man Adam Nunn.
    
    As Adam is arrested in connection with the murder, it emerges that the dead man was a private investigator he had hired to find out the identity of his birth parents. Just what did Larry Paris discover that got him killed?
    
    As Adam seeks the truth surrounding his origins and promises justice for the mother he never knew, he is drawn into a lurid criminal world of violence and violation, reprisal and merciless death.  Torn between the man he wants to be and the man he fears becoming, Adam's investigations will lead him ever deeper into darkness.
    Show book