Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Alternative Remedies for Loss - cover

Alternative Remedies for Loss

Joanna Cantor

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An Amazon Best of the Month Selection for May 2018 
 
A slyly funny coming-of-age novel about a young woman fumbling her way into the mysteries of loss and the travails of adulthood as she tries to make sense of a vanished mother's legacy.  
 
When 22-year-old Olivia learned that her mother had only months to live, she pulled up roots, leaving Vassar and her career plans far behind to be with her mother for her last days. And yet, just four months after her mother's death, everyone in Olivia's family already seems ready to move on. Her brothers are settled comfortably in careers and families of their own; her father has already started to date again, inviting a woman named June on a family trip. Still reeling from the loss, Olivia looks for a new start of her own, throwing herself headlong into Manhattan's fast-moving media world, where she is alternately demeaned by bosses and pursued by men. 
 
But as Olivia tries to piece together an adulthood without her mother to guide her, she makes a shocking discovery: a secret romantic correspondence her mother had with a man who only signed each letter “F.” As she tries to untangle the mystery of F, Olivia will journey halfway across the world, to an ashram in rural India, on a quest that will reconfigure everything Olivia thought she knew about her family and her own place in an increasingly complex world.  
 
 
A profoundly moving and keenly observed contemplation of the debts we owe to the past and the ways we discover our futures, Alternative Remedies for Loss is the rare sort of book that can break and mend your heart in a single and unforgettable read.

Other books that might interest you

  • Magic Kingdom Apple Tree - cover

    Magic Kingdom Apple Tree

    Zenith Publishing

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Magic Kingdom” is a rich mix of delightful tales and entertaining activities that make this magazine ideal for preschool children and children of primary school age. Your toddler will be fascinated by bright and colorful illustrations.Our magazine is specially designed for little hands and growing minds; it will inspire your kids to make their first attempts in reading, painting, drawing, writing. Also, it will encourage your child to play, imagine and explore with his friends. Beautifully illustrated fairy tales, interesting practical tasks, recipes to cook together with Mums, home workshops and board games give your children opportunity to enjoy time with parents, grandparents and loved ones.Welcome to the wonderful world of good and wise tales, where everyone can find a pretty princess and naughty king, dwarves and fire-breathing dragons, all-powerful wizards and brave princes.
     
    In this issue:
     
    Fairy tale “Apple tree”
     
    Smart little tasks for little ones
     
    In the backyard garden
     
    Little cookery experts. Cooking with Mom
     
    Playdough country. Miracle-summer
    Show book
  • Dixiana - cover

    Dixiana

    James D McCallister

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When cuckolded ‘fruitshake’ millionaire Roy Earl Pettus inherits his grandfather’s fabled honkytonk, The Dixiana, he hurtles into full-prodigal-son mode: once the Bossman arrives back home in Edgewater County, South Carolina, he’s set to fix all that’s wrong with his hometown and its citizens. Whether they want his leadership, however, is another matter.
    
    Roy’s hippy-dippy cousin Button Sykes, on a higher consciousness trip fraught with the urge to serve, and with a little added magicking, spellcraft and telepathy to goose matters along, seems the only one able to stave off the full destructive power of Roy’s tremendous, wounded ego. He fancies himself a fixer, but guess who’s the one most in need of spiritual repair? If only Button weren’t so preoccupied with her own broken heart, she’d give Roy’s problems more of her attention.
    
    Through the eyes of a dozen major characters, we track the progress not only of Roy’s existential journey and Button’s quest to reconnect with her lost love Heather, but examine a few risky sexual affairs among the powerful; controversial and divisive political machinations; conflict over a Confederate monument both reviled and revered; Southern-fried organized crime figures who don’t take well to Roy’s fresh ideas; the disposal of a dead body or two; and even a pyromaniac of a ghost who occasionally burns down the town.
    
    A finalist for the 2015 Faulkner-Wisdom Literary Competition award, the Dixiana series represents a Neo-Southern Gothic ‘great American novel’ for the mid-to-late 2010s, one filled with humor, tragedy, appeals to a higher power, and a troubled character crashing a plane into a building. Dixiana holds its many characters in states teetering on the edge of either grace or ruin, and by the end, readers may not believe how far the story takes them—all the way to one possible ‘other side’ of reality. 
    Show book
  • Sail Away - cover

    Sail Away

    Celia Imrie

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The deliciously effervescent new novel from Celia Imrie, beloved character actress and author of Not Quite Nice, follows the exploits of two women on a cruise ship. 
      
    The phone hasn't rung for months. Suzy Marshall is discovering that work can be sluggish for an actress over sixty--even for the star of a wildly popular 1980s TV series. So when her agent offers her the plum role of Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest in Zurich, it seems like a godsend. Until, that is, the play is abruptly cancelled under suspicious circumstances and Suzy is forced to take a job on a cruise ship to get home. 
     
    Meanwhile Amanda Herbert finds herself homeless in rainy Clapham. The purchase of her new apartment has fallen through, and her children are absorbed in their own dramas. Then she spots an advertisement for an Atlantic cruise and realizes that a few weeks onboard would tide her over and save her money until her housing situation is resolved. 
     
    As the two women set sail on a new adventure, neither can possibly predict the questionable characters and strange dealings they will encounter, nor the unexpected rewards they will reap. Vividly evoking the old-world glamour of a cruise ship--and the complex politics of its staff quarters--Sail Away is at once a hilarious romp and a thrilling adventure.
    Show book
  • An Afternoon to Kill - cover

    An Afternoon to Kill

    Shelley Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This Victorian mystery with twists and turns will keep you gripped until the very last page: “Prim and petticoated and poisonous” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).   Lancelot Jones was on his way to his first job—as tutor to an Indian Rajah’s son. But the Rajah’s ancient plane and incompetent pilot dropped him in the middle of a desert. The wrong desert, at that.   Seeking shade, he finds the only dwelling of any size within miles and its curious owner, an old Englishwoman named Alva Hine. Taking him into her home, Alva begins to tell Lancelot an incredible tale. She tells him a strange story of a summer fifty years ago, of love and hate and murder in a respectable middle-class Victorian household . . .   And as the afternoon wears on, Alva’s story begins to take on an increasingly sinister note for the weary Mr. Jones. Soon, he has more than one reason to want to hear the end of the story . . .   “[An] amazing novel . . . I am completely under the spell of this fine writer.” —Pretty Sinister Books   “Entirely credible.” —Birmingham Post
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • Rage of Angels - cover

    Rage of Angels

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A worldwide bestseller first published in 1980, this novel tells the story of Jennifer Parker, a successful lawyer who is loved by two men, one a politician, the other, a mafia don.
    Show book