Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Pariah - And Other Stories - cover

Pariah - And Other Stories

Joan Williams

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Ten poignant and perceptive stories from one of the most distinctive voices in Southern literature In these deeply affecting tales, Joan Williams captures with heart-wrenching clarity the pain and confusion of characters struggling to come to terms with a changing world. “The Morning and the Evening,” which would later be expanded into Williams’s award-winning novel of the same name, is an exquisite and unsettling portrait of a mute man’s isolation. In “Spring Is Now,” a Mississippi town grapples with its prejudices as integration becomes a reality. “No Love for the Lonely” is the touching and gently humorous story of a bachelor liberated and bewildered by the death of his overbearing sister. In the vivid and unsettling title story, a troubled housewife faces her demons and mourns the life she never had.   Graceful, elegiac, and authentic, the stories of Joan Williams are marked by their compassion and clear-eyed insight. With remarkable skill and an astonishing generosity of spirit, she transforms the quiet lives of ordinary men and women into dazzling works of art.
Available since: 12/30/2014.
Print length: 182 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Something in It - cover

    Something in It

    R. L. Stevenson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Robert Louis Balfour Stevenson was a Scottish novelist, poet and writer.  There was a bay upon the island, but the native said that it was the death to bathe there. The missionary heard many tales from natives. He was aware of a house raised on piles above the sea that was built of yellow reeds.The natives warned him that there is something strange in this house and he should avoid it. “There is nothing in that,” said the missionary; and he came to the bay, and went swimming. Strong wind took him and bored towards the reef. He swam harder, but the wind carried him away. He had never seen such house. It was a fine house, but there was no man there, and when the missionary looked back he saw no island, only the heaving of the sea.A SmartTouch Media production.
    Show book
  • Suspense: Three Skeleton Key: Narrated by Vincent Price - cover

    Suspense: Three Skeleton Key:...

    Classics Reborn Audio Publishing

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fantastic Audio Selection! Highest Recommendation! Listen to one today! The book come highly recommended and its one you’ll really enjoy.
    Show book
  • The Taxidermist - cover

    The Taxidermist

    Sophie Bramly

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Provocative, chic and sexy, this audio book will open the doors to all the fantasies that will seduce you and set all your senses on fire.
    Show book
  • Welcome Thieves - Stories - cover

    Welcome Thieves - Stories

    Sean Beaudoin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Funny and propulsive” short stories blending black humor and sharply intelligent imagination (Sam Lipsyte, author of The Fun Parts).   In twelve virtuosic stories, Sean Beaudoin trains his absurdist’s eye on the ridiculous perplexities of adult life. From muddling through after the apocalypse (“Base Omega Has Twelve Dictates”) to the knowing smirk of “You Too Can Graduate with a Degree in Contextual Semiotics,” Beaudoin’s stories are edgy and profane, bittersweet and angry, bemused and sardonic. Yet they’re always tinged with heart.   The author of Wise Young Fool, The Infects, and You Killed Wesley Payne follows in the tradition of Vonnegut and Saunders with “a deviously spellbinding collection of short stories,” filled with playfulness, pathos, and a variety of young protagonists struggling to adapt to the bizarre and sometimes brutal world of adulthood (Garth Stein).   “The character-driven tales are darkly comedic, filled with misfits like Primo and The Albatross, Danny and Steak, Sad Girl, Razr and Roy Boi, and Butterfly and Cher—characters so compelling that they are at once savage and powerless, redemptive and sardonic. . . . [They] fill the pages of Welcome Thieves, their complexities and frailties enough to recommend Beaudoin as a student and brilliant interpreter of human nature.” —The Kansas City Star   “Thrilling and mercilessly readable, the stories in Welcome Thieves go off like a string of firecrackers, sizzling and popping with a narrative velocity that is equal parts grit and polish. Beaudoin is definitely a writer to watch.” —Jonathan Evison, author of This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!  
    Show book
  • 10 Bedtime Stories for Children - cover

    10 Bedtime Stories for Children

    Beatrix Potter, Hans Christian...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A great collection of short stories for children.
    Show book
  • Concerto to the Memory of an Angel - cover

    Concerto to the Memory of an Angel

    Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Stories from the bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Book in the World, “a prodigious storyteller with a style both elegant and assured” (Les Echos). 
     
    In this collection’s opening story, a woman with more skeletons in the closet than most falls in love with a parish priest, to whom she confesses her sins. But her motives and her intentions are anything but honorable or pious. The title story is the tale of two friends and rivals whose differences will at first lead to a terrifying and near fatal accident, and then to a vendetta lasting a lifetime. In “The Return,” while away at sea, a father is told that one of his four daughters has died but not which. He will ask himself the question no father should have to ask: which child would he want dead? His long ruminations will lead him to a realization of his failings as a man and a father and ultimately toward a touching transformation. “Love at the Elysée Palace” is as fine a short story as any in contemporary literature, and one that treats the themes of love, marriage, and forgiveness with superb delicacy and remarkable tenderness. 
     
    In this vivid collection, Schmitt writes about regret and redemption, about the roles of love and memory in our lives, all with a lightness and compassion that is as rare as it is inspiring. 
     
    “A wonderful book of remarkable everyday heroes who will haunt readers for a long time to come.” —L’Express 
     
    “A small masterpiece.” —Le Parisien
    Show book