Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Hero In The Helmet - Colin Kaepernick - cover

The Hero In The Helmet - Colin Kaepernick

Joa Macnalie

Publisher: Joa Macnalie

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Hero in the Helmet is a biographical children's short-story, written in a third-person narrative, to educate both children and parents alike on the life and legacy of super-star athlete Colin Kaepernick. Colin Kaepernick or 'Kap' as he is affectionally called, was a gifted quarterback for the San-Francisco 49-ers who at the young age of twenty-five lead his team to the NFC championships on his first full season as a starter. His 16-of-21 passes for 233 yards, and one touchdown performance defeated the Atlanta Falcons, advancing them to super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans against the Baltimore Ravens. This was San Francisco's first super bowl appearance since 1994. 
In 2016, Colin Kaepernick became a national figure when he silently took a knee during the singing of The National Anthem; a sign of protest against racial injustice. Kap's actions started a political movement that stirred up a variety of responses from anger, hatred, and opposition to compassion, respect and support. The NFL responded by keeping Kap as a free agent and has not made it to any roster since, despite his undeniable skill and athletic record. 
Kaepernick changed platforms from football field to stages as he picked up public speaking to make clear that his decision for kneeling is and was not a sign of disrespect to the United States flag nor to military veterans, but a demonstration against racial injustice, systemic oppression, police brutality, and the lack of accountability for wrongful police murders in court against black and minority civilians. 
Colin Kaepernick remains active in his work as a social advocate against racial inequality, and because of his unwavering leadership has been awarded The Len Eshmont Award (voted on by his teammates) who best exemplifies the inspirational and courageous play of Len Eshmont, Best Breakthrough Athlete, Eason Monroe Courageous Advocate Award, The Sports Illustrated Muhammad Ali Legacy Selfless Award, and The GQ Citizen of the Year Award. In addition, he has pledged one million dollars of his own money to empower oppressed communities.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Great Shelby Holmes and the Haunted Hound - cover

    The Great Shelby Holmes and the...

    Elizabeth Eulberg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg continues her hilarious middle-grade twist on Sherlock Holmes as detective duo Shelby and Watson face their spookiest case yet--a haunting! 
     
    Now infamous in their Harlem neighborhood for solving the most difficult mysteries, super sleuths Shelby Holmes and John Watson stumble into their creepiest case yet. Residents of a local apartment building are hearing scary noises at night, like screams, scratching, and an unearthly dog's howl. It can't be a ghost . . . Can it? 
     
    Well, Shelby Holmes doesn't believe in ghosts, and she plans to prove they don't exist! But Watson can't help but wonder if there are more supernatural forces at work--especially after he and Shelby hear rumors that the building's previous owner, Hugo Baskerville, and his loyal hound haunt the premises. 
     
    If Shelby and Watson want to find out who (or what!) is behind the spookiness, they'll have to prove they're not afraid of ghosts--by surviving an overnight Halloween stakeout! 
     
    Elizabeth Eulberg's charming middle-grade take on Sherlock Holmes continues in this retelling of The Hound of the Baskervilles that reunites readers with the charming detective pairing of Shelby and Watson. 
     
    Don't miss the rest of the Great Shelby Holmes series: 
    The Great Shelby Holmes 
    The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match 
    The Great Shelby Holmes and the Coldest Case 
    The Great Shelby Holmes and the Haunted Hound
    Show book
  • The Confidence Code for Girls - Taking Risks Messing Up & Becoming Your Amazingly Imperfect Totally Powerful Self - cover

    The Confidence Code for Girls -...

    Katty Kay, Claire Shipman,...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller! 
    Girls can rule the world—all they need is confidence. This empowering, entertaining guide from the bestselling authors of The Confidence Code gives girls the essential yet elusive code to becoming bold, brave, and fearless.  
    Packed with graphic novel strips; appealing illustrations; fun lists, quizzes, and challenges; and true stories from tons of real girls, The Confidence Code for Girls teaches girls to embrace risk, deal with failure, and be their most authentic selves. 
    It’s a paradox familiar to parents everywhere: girls are achieving like never before, yet they’re consumed with doubt on the inside. Girls worry constantly about how they look, what people think, whether to try out for a sports team or school play, why they aren’t getting “perfect” grades, and how many likes and followers they have online. 
     
    Katty Kay and Claire Shipman use cutting-edge science and research, as well as proven methods of behavioral change, to reach girls just when they need it the most—the tween and teen years. 
    Plus don't miss Living the Confidence Code! Packed with photos, graphic novel strips, and engaging interviews, Living the Confidence Code proves that no matter who you are, or how old you are, nothing is out of reach when you decide to try. 
    Show book
  • Going Wild - cover

    Going Wild

    Lisa McMann

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Spider-Man meets Animorphs in this thrilling middle grade series from Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of the Unwanteds series.  
    Katherine Applegate—Newbery Medal winning author of The One and Only Ivan, Wishtree, and Endling—calls this book “gripping, action-packed, and filled with humor and heart.” 
    Charlie Wilde knew her life would change forever when her family moved from the city of Chicago to the suburbs of Arizona…and that was before she found the bracelet. After putting it on, she notices odd things start to happen. Suddenly Charlie seems to have the speed of a cheetah and the strength of an elephant—and that’s just the beginning. 
    She would be thrilled about her transformation if she had any idea how to use the device or control her amazing powers. So Charlie is forced to put her trust in new friends to help her uncover the surprising truth behind the mysterious bracelet. 
    The Going Wild series is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Ridley Pearson looking for a new twist on their middle grade adventures. It blends science fiction with the animal kingdom, highlighting some of the incredible feats that animals can achieve, which might seem possible only in comic books but are actually completely true. 
    Don't miss Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey and Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts!
    Show book
  • The Girl Guide - 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body - cover

    The Girl Guide - 50 Ways to...

    Marawa Ibrahim

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    For every tween girl wondering about her changing body and changing brain, this funny and highly illustrated guide is the answer. Packed with advice about everything from periods to bras to body hair—PLUS tips on how to deal with crushes, new emotions, and all the chaos in between! This middle grade book is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
      
    Growing up is fun . . . but it’s tough, too. There are a lot of unknowns and it can be weird and messy for girls. Worry not! This book covers EVERYTHING girls need to know, and it's all been reviewed and fact-checked by medical consultant Dr. Radha Modgil.  
    Learn how:  
    To make your body your best friend (not your enemy). 
    To get out there and do YOU (even when you don’t want to move off the couch). 
    The thoughts and feelings that make you feel alone are shared by every girl on the planet. 
    To feel amazing through exercise, nutrition, and skin care. 
    And so much more!  
    Great for those who loved The Care and Keeping of You or What's Happening to My Body?
    Show book
  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #4: Sign of the Moon - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #4:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The end of the stars draws near. Three must become four to battle the darkness that lasts forever. . . .  
    The dark forces that have driven a rift between the four warrior Clans are growing stronger. Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw now know that unless they can unravel the true meaning behind the prophecy that binds them, the warrior code could be destroyed forever. 
    While Lionblaze remains focused on protecting ThunderClan from another deadly battle, Jayfeather receives a desperate plea for help from the Tribe of Rushing Water. He must travel to the mountains in search of answers that link the Clans to the Tribe in ways no cat could have imagined. But with the summons comes an ominous warning that suggests the power of the stars may not be enough to save the Clans.
    Show book
  • Everyone Poops - cover

    Everyone Poops

    Taro Gomi

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The beloved, bestselling potty-training classic, now re-released for a new generation! An elephant makes a big poop. A mouse makes a tiny poop. Everyone eats, so of course: everyone poops!Taro Gomi's classic, go-to picture book for straight-talk on all things "number 2" is back, as fresh and funny as ever.• Both a matter-of-fact, educational guide and a hilarious romp through poop territory• Filled with timeless OMG moments for both kids and adults• Colorful and content-rich picture bookThe concept of going to the bathroom is made concrete through this illustrated narrative that is both verbally and visually engaging.Everyone Poops is just right for potty-training and everyday reading with smart, curious readers.• Perfect for children ages 0 to 3 years old• Equal parts educational and entertaining, this makes a great book for parents and grandparents who are potty-training their toddler.• You'll love this book if you love books like P is for Potty! (Sesame Street) by Naomi Kleinberg, Potty by Leslie Patricelli, The Potty Train by David Hochman and Ruth Kennison.
    Show book