Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Winter Glory - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Winter Glory

J.M. Ney-Grimm

Publisher: J.M. Ney-Grimm

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the cold, forested North-lands—redolent with the aroma of pine, shrouded in snow, and prowled by ice tigers and trolls—Ivvar seeks only to meet his newborn great granddaughter. 
 
Someone else has the same plan. 
 
Traversing the wilderness toward the infant's home camp, Ivvar must face the woman he once cherished and an ancient scourge of the chilly woodlands in a complicated dance of love and death. 
 
Ivvar's second chance at happiness—and his life—hang in the balance. 
 
 
PRAISE FOR WINTER GLORY 
 
"A little atmospheric gem of a novella... interesting, beautifully written, and worth re-reading." —RS 
 
"In the starkly beautiful North-lands - a place that Ney-Grimm conveys so clearly it's like watching a movie on the inside of your skull - two people who once knew and loved each other meet up again. This is their story..." —L. Montgomery 
 
"The descriptive language is nothing short of gorgeous... I love that the protagonists are older... and they stuck with me long after I had finished reading." —MA 
 
"The writing is lucid, elegant, smooth. Ney-Grimm creates a fantasy world of Norse legends, but with real people..." —Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt 
 
"...in the midst of this excellent adventure story comes an insight so brilliant..."—Pat Patterson 
 
 
EXCERPT FROM WINTER GLORY 
 
His gaze stopped on a woman sitting alone in the booth at the far left corner. 
 
She wore Hammarleeding garb—wool tunic and leggings like his—hers drab in subdued ecru decorated by patterns of gray and white. She was bony, rangy, likely quite tall . . . and she held herself like a queen, straight and graceful as she sipped her cup of tea. 
 
The frontiersmen began a rollicking ballad about bears dancing in the woods, and the Hammarleeding woman turned her face toward them. 
 
Ivvar felt all the air punch out of his lungs. 
 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR 
 
J.M. Ney-Grimm lives with her husband and children in Virginia, just east of the Blue Ridge Mountains. She's learning about permaculture gardening and debunking popular myths about food. The rest of the time she reads Robin McKinley, Diana Wynne Jones, and Lois McMaster Bujold, plays boardgames like Settlers of Catan, rears her twins, and writes stories set in her troll-infested North-lands. Look for her novels and novellas at your favorite bookstore—online or on Main Street.

Other books that might interest you

  • Barrow Witch - cover

    Barrow Witch

    Craig Comer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Comer concludes his trilogy with flourishing aplomb . . . we reach the ultimate high of fey steampunk fantasy that the series has always delivered.” —Ahimsa Kerp, author of Beneath the MantleWith a treaty to bring peace to the Scottish fey hanging in the balance, Effie of Glen Coe must claim her place as the heart of the Seily Court if she is to defeat the dark madness of the Barrow Witch. The treaty that will bring peace to the fey of Scotland is within Effie of Glen Coe’s grasp. Yet the lords of London will not consent to such an accord until the madness spreading across the empire is halted and its source destroyed. As Effie and her allies hunt for the ancient being known as the Barrow Witch, they uncover her sinister plot. The Barrow Witch has found an alchemic means to transform fey into devilish creatures bent on her will. Using these marauding bands, she seeks to enslave not only the empire, but all of fey kind. Effie’s fight takes her from haunted cities to ruined castles, but it is not until Caledon, Steward of the Seily Court, is captured that she must finally confront her own self-doubts and the legacy of her family’s treacherous past. For only by accepting she has become the very heart of the Scottish fey can she learn to unravel the schemes of their enemy and rally the empires of man and fey toward an ultimate confrontation with the Barrow Witch.“Brings human and magical beings together brilliantly! . . . This intricate tale is woven with much lore, mysticism, clever banter, and incredible characters that readers will instantly love!” —InD’tale
    Show book
  • The House of Untold Stories - 50 Unexpected Tales - cover

    The House of Untold Stories - 50...

    Peter Chiykowski

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An orphanage for wayward stories. A labyrinth of secrets. A home on the border of reality…Open each door to find a world of magic and menace waiting for you, if you dare. In The House of Untold Stories, every page is a door, and every door leads to a new tale of heartbreak, triumph, horror, or imagination. Wander into an enchanted mansion of pocket universes and miniature tales, where each door leads to a micro-fiction story. With tales about anger thieves, a deadly pizza delivery service, haunted music boxes, and more, each room will take you on an unexpected journey.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Seirei Gensouki: Spirit Chronicles Volume 16 - cover

    Seirei Gensouki: Spirit...

    Yuri Kitayama

    • 2
    • 75
    • 0
    After successfully escaping an ambush in the Rubia Kingdom, Rio escorts Beltrum's royal sisters to the Galarc Castle, where he is given a place of residence for his repeated achievements. However, an investigation over a series of unsettling, cross-kingdom incidents continues to complicate matters.
     
    But in a stunning turn of events, with Princess Charlotte's affections now directed at Rio, will our fateful knight be able to weather the storm of love that is brewing?
    Show book