Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Peter Pan - Peter and Wendy - cover

Peter Pan - Peter and Wendy

J. M. Barrie

Publisher: Passerino

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Peter Pan is a fictional character created by Scottish novelist and playwright J. M. Barrie. A free-spirited and mischievous young boy who can fly and never grows up, Peter Pan spends his never-ending childhood having adventures on the mythical island of Neverland as the leader of the Lost Boys, interacting with fairies, pirates, mermaids, Native Americans, and occasionally ordinary children from the world outside Neverland. Peter Pan has become a cultural icon symbolizing youthful innocence and escapism. In addition to two distinct works by Barrie, The Little White Bird (1902, with chapters 13–18 published in Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens in 1906), and the West End stage play Peter Pan; or, the Boy Who Wouldn't Grow Up (1904, which expanded into the 1911 novel Peter and Wendy), the character has been featured in a variety of media and merchandise, both adapting and expanding on Barrie's works. These include the 1924 silent film, 1953 Disney animated film, a 2003 dramatic/live-action film, a television series and many other works.

Sir James Matthew Barrie (9 May 1860 – 19 June 1937) was a Scottish novelist and playwright, best remembered as the creator of Peter Pan. He was born and educated in Scotland and then moved to London, where he wrote a number of successful novels and plays. There he met the Llewelyn Davies boys, who inspired him to write about a baby boy who has magical adventures in Kensington Gardens (first included in Barrie's 1902 adult novel The Little White Bird), then to write Peter Pan, or The Boy Who Wouldn't Grow Up, a 1904 "fairy play" about an ageless boy and an ordinary girl named Wendy who have adventures in the fantasy setting of Neverland.

Other books that might interest you

  • Savage Lands - A Novel - cover

    Savage Lands - A Novel

    Clare Clark

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of In the Full Light of the Sun “treats the founding of French Louisiana with her signature dark realism and beautiful handling of character” (Library Journal). 
     
    Praised by Hilary Mantel, Amanda Foreman, and the New York Times Book Review for her “verve and intelligence . . . [and] the originality of her imagination,” Clare Clark has become a rising star in historical fiction. Elisabeth is among twenty-three girls who set sail from France for the new colony of Louisiana to be married to strangers. Although she has little hope for happiness in her new life, she finds herself passionately in love with her new husband, Jean-Claude, a charismatic and ruthlessly ambitious soldier. But betrayal is as much a part of the new world as the old, and when Elisabeth finds herself deceived by her husband she also finds herself bound to a poor cabin boy in a way she never anticipated. Clark creates a world that is both incredibly real and incredibly dazzling. And with the same compelling prose and vividly realized characters that won her widespread acclaim for The Great Stink and The Nature of Monsters, she takes us deep into the heart of colonial French Louisiana. 
     
    “It is well told and well paced, with an easy narrative flow. The story offers strong personalities and a complicated, interesting plot, stretching over a couple of decades, set in an unfamiliar, truly exotic place and era.” —The Guardian 
     
    “Clark’s vast store of historical and geographical detail enriches the portraits of her three vibrant characters, whose destinies are inextricably, and memorably, bound.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Light of Western Stars - cover

    The Light of Western Stars

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This 1914 novel of frontier romance by “the greatest Western writer of all time” was the basis for the classic film starring Victor Jory (Jackson Cain, author of Hellbreak Country).Feeling constrained by her high-society life back east, Madeline Hammond decides to join her brother Alfred at his cattle ranch in El Cajon, New Mexico. But she gets a rude introduction to frontier living when she encounters a drunken cowboy named Gene Stewart. Though his rough demeanor is a shock to Madeline’s refined sensibilities, she comes to realize that he means no harm—and soon learns there are far worse characters for her to worry about. There are some bad men who would do anything to see Alfred run off his land. While Gene tries to prove to Madeline that he can change for the better, tensions in El Cajon are on the rise. And when violence breaks out, Madeline discovers courage matters a lot more than manners on the frontier
    Show book
  • People of Abandoned Character - cover

    People of Abandoned Character

    Clare Whitfield

    • 3
    • 10
    • 2
    What if you thought your husband was Jack the Ripper?
     
    London, 1888. Susannah rushes into marriage to a young and wealthy surgeon. After a passionate honeymoon, she returns home with her new husband wrapped around her little finger. But then everything changes. His behaviour becomes increasingly volatile and violent. He stays out all night, returning home bloodied and full of secrets.
     
    Lonely and frustrated, Susannah starts following the gruesome reports of a spate of murders in Whitechapel. But as the killings continue, her mind takes her down the darkest path imaginable. Every time he stays out late, another victim is found dead. Is it coincidence? Or is her husband the man the papers call Jack the Ripper?
     
    Reviews for People of Abandoned Character:'A mistreated wife suspects her husband might be the Whitechapel killer ... Compelling' Sunday Times'An astonishing book' M.W. Craven'A gripping and original take on the world's most notorious serial killer. A perfectly thrilling read for those long winter nights' Adam Hamdy'This impressive debut builds up pace, pathos and intrigue superbly, with plenty of twists and turns' Woman's Weekly
    Show book
  • Murder on the Island - A Gripping Murder Mystery - cover

    Murder on the Island - A...

    Daisy White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Death visits the island of Bermuda. “A solid start to this cozy mystery series with a wonderful tropical setting.” —On the Shelf Reviews When recently divorced Chloe Canton is gifted her grandmother’s house in Bermuda in her will, it seems a perfect time for a fresh start. Her chance at paradise comes with unprofitable horse stables, a neighbor who is putting pressure on her to sell up for development, and another who quickly makes herself comfortable in Chloe’s house. If that wasn’t enough, Chloe discovers a dead body on the local riding trail soon after she arrives and finds herself dragged into a murder investigation. With tensions rising and island gossip to contend with, as well as a murderer in their midst, has Chloe bitten off more than she can chew? Will Chloe stick it out and help solve the case or will paradise turn out to be too hot to handle?“It’s definitely a pleasant ride along the way . . . her descriptions are so lush and vivid, this book is like a vacation between covers.” —Crime Fiction Lover “I enjoyed this escapist cozy mystery . . . The author does a wonderful job of bringing Chloe and the island to life.” —Avonna Loves Genres
    Show book
  • The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery Series Books 1–3 - Deal Gone Dead; Decluttered and Dead; and Signed Sealed and Dead - cover

    The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Lily Sprayberry. Selling homes is her career. Solving crimes, her calling. Now get the first three books of the Southern mystery series in one volume!   Deal Gone Dead When Bramblett County, Georgia's number one realtor, Lily Sprayberry, finds her cantankerous older client dead on the kitchen floor, she lands herself smack dab in the middle of a long-running property battle and a one-hundred-year-old rumor.  Decluttered and Dead When a member of Lily’s decluttering and staging class winds up dead, the small-town realtor takes it personally and sets out to find the killer. But the truth isn’t always pretty, and when she discovers a friend from her past may be the murderer, she vows to find out.  Signed, Sealed and Dead As realtor Lily preps for the annual community yard sale fundraiser, she discovers the body of the newly hired lacrosse coach lying in the high school gym. As she searches for answers, she’s dragged deeper into an angry mob of high school sports parents all seeking revenge and gunning for their kids to sign with the most elite schools offering the best scholarships.  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit.” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book