Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Chasing the Cup - My America's Cup Journey - cover

Chasing the Cup - My America's Cup Journey

Jimmy Spithill

Publisher: Adlard Coles

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Jimmy Spithill is arguably one of the world's greatest skippers: the youngest and double winner of the America's Cup, the oceanic version of Formula 1; winner of the Sydney Hobart; multiple world champion in match and fleet racing... the list goes on. And on a day off he'll paddleboard 32 miles through Hawaiian double overhead waves. 
 
What goes on inside the head of this extremely focused man who is a true pioneer in the game called sailing? Here he tells his rags-to-riches story of fierce determination, court cases, seasickness, crashed boats and cars, alcohol, the greatest comeback ever in sporting history and the dramatic 2017 America's Cup defence. All of it contributed to turning a quiet, bullied, water-loving blue-collar redhead born in Sydney into one of sailing's biggest rockstars. 
 
Far from the official media-trained account so often found in the closed-off world of the America's Cup, Jimmy's open, honest style gives us a rare insight into what goes on inside the head of a man at the top of his game. A compelling read, with many lessons in leadership, teamwork and achieving your dreams, no matter how impossible they might seem.

Other books that might interest you

  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Miscarriage of Justice: The Murder of Teresa de Simone - Murder and Mayhem #6 - cover

    Miscarriage of Justice: The...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ★★★  One of the strangest true crime stories you'll read  ★★★ 
      
    The murder was brutal--raped and strangled. The case was open and shut--a man had confessed to the murder, and he was easily convicted. There was a problem with the man's testimony, however...he was a pathological liar who had confessed to over 200 other crimes--many of which never happened. 
      
    For over 27 years, Sean Hodgson, the convicted murderer, sat in prison for a crime he didn't commit. The real killer, 17-year-old David Lace, had also confessed to the crime, but police didn't believe him. 
      
    This gripping short book takes the reader on the hunt for the real killer and reveals the creation of Operation Iceberg--the operation that led to the DNA review of over 240 other convictions.
    Show book
  • The Mistresses of Henry VIII - cover

    The Mistresses of Henry VIII

    Kelly Hart

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Seventeen-year-old Henry VIII was 'a youngling, he cares for nothing but girls and hunting.' Henry was considered a demi-god by his subjects, so each woman he chose was someone who had managed to stand out in a crowd of stunning ladies. This book offers an insight into the love life of Henry, and the twelve women who knew the man behind the mask.
    Show book