Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Wake Up and Live: The Life of Bob Marley - cover

Wake Up and Live: The Life of Bob Marley

Jim McCarthy

Publisher: Omnibus Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Wake Up and Live is a bold graphic novel depicting the life of Jamaican reggae singer, songwriter and musician Bob Marley. As a committed Rastafari, he became a symbol of Jamaican culture and identity, a harbinger of peace and truth who resonated with audiences worldwide. 
 
Diagnosed with cancer in 1977, Bob Marley finally succumbed to the disease on 11 May 1981 at the age of 36. A hero in his own time, he is now considered one of the most influential musicians ever. Wake Up and Live celebrates this journey, capturing the spirit of both the man and the music in every vivid frame. 
 
When he died, the Jamaican Prime Minister said Bob Marley had been 'an experience which left an indelible imprint with each encounter. Such a man cannot be erased from the mind. He is part of the collective consciousness of the nation'.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Baddest Bitch in the Room - A Memoir - cover

    The Baddest Bitch in the Room -...

    Sophia Chang

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is powerful as hell and the author is a total badass. 
    A poignant blend of memoir and actionable inspiration that goes beyond stories of celebrities and eschews insider gossip for a clear-eyed and open-hearted perspective on motherhood, desire and sexuality, aging, music, and professional life as an Asian woman in a male-dominated industry.
    This author is a juggernaut of self-promotion, confident, well-spoken, experienced, widely and deeply well-connected, and frequently speaks to audiences of hundreds of people (most recently at places like Spotify corporate, Conde Nast corporate, etc) 
    The marketplace has seen outstanding sales for books like The Last Black Unicorn, Let Love Have the Last Word, and Go Ahead in the Rain in recent years; however, there are still very few memoirs published by powerful Asian American women in the arts. The Baddest Bitch in the Room is groundbreaking as one of the only books at the intersection of memoir, personal growth, and inspiration written by a powerful, middle-aged, Asian American pioneer of the music business 
    Catapult is publishing this as TPO after Reese Witherspoon personally persuaded the author to take an audio-only deal with Hello Sunshine / Audible as part of the partnership's 6-title audio-only publication in September 2019; Six weeks after the audio book was released, THE BADDEST BITCH IN THE ROOM was still a #1 Audible bestseller; so this book is also groundbreaking in its very publishing model, an angle we'll be exploring
    To appeal to readers of Brene Brown, Michelle Obama, Nicole Chung, or Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic; it's also for fans of hip-hop, including artists Wu-Tang Clan, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, D'Angelo, and for fans of popular music history 
    Sophia Chang is a Korean-Canadian who left Vancouver for New York in 1987, when she first worked as an assistant to Paul Simon, and from there built her storied career at such record companies as Atlantic, Jive, and Universal Music Group. In 1993, Sophia met a Staten Island rapper named Prince Rakeem, now known as the RZA, founder of the Wu-Tang Clan, perhaps the most revered and influential rap group in hip-hop history. This meeting not only led to a deep, lasting friendship between Sophia and the Wu-Tang Clan that continues to this day, but also took Sophia’s life in new directions. Since then, she has managed Wu-Tang members ODB, GZA, RZA as well as Q-Tip, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, and D'Angelo. In 1995, Chang left the music business to be trained in kung fu and to manage the USA Shaolin Temple with her then partner with whom she has two children. She currently splits her time between LA and New York
    Catapult's edition will feature expanded content and extensive visuals
    Author will speak at major venues and corporate partners (Spotify, MailChimp, Google, Apple), and we're pitching 92nd St Y, Los Angeles Public Library, Asian American museums and cultural institutions
    Show book
  • Visualizing Equality - African American Rights and Visual Culture in the Nineteenth Century - cover

    Visualizing Equality - African...

    Aston Gonzalez

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The fight for racial equality in the nineteenth century played out not only in marches and political conventions but also in the print and visual culture created and disseminated throughout the United States by African Americans. Advances in visual technologies--daguerreotypes, lithographs, cartes de visite, and steam printing presses--enabled people to see and participate in social reform movements in new ways. African American activists seized these opportunities and produced images that advanced campaigns for black rights. In this book, Aston Gonzalez charts the changing roles of African American visual artists as they helped build the world they envisioned. 
      
    Understudied artists such as Robert Douglass Jr., Patrick Henry Reason, James Presley Ball, and Augustus Washington produced images to persuade viewers of the necessity for racial equality, black political leadership, and freedom from slavery. Moreover, these activist artists' networks of transatlantic patronage and travels to Europe, the Caribbean, and Africa reveal their extensive involvement in the most pressing concerns for black people in the Atlantic world. Their work demonstrates how images became central to the ways that people developed ideas about race, citizenship, and politics during the nineteenth century.
    Show book
  • The True Story Behind Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds - Stranger Than Fiction #2 - cover

    The True Story Behind Alfred...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Birds was different from most of Hitchcock's work.  
     
    For admirers of Hitchcock, The Birds also raises disturbing questions about the director as a person. He was a complex and confusing character in many ways, and perhaps it's not surprising that someone who built a career out of creating suspense and fear on-screen might also have had some darker sides to his personal life. 
     
    Beyond the details of the story and how it came to be filmed, though, one of the most interesting questions about The Birds is why Hitchcock made it in the first place. It took its title from a short story by English author Daphne du Maurier, but beyond the basic idea of people being attacked by birds, it didn't take much else from it. The storyline was pure Hitchcock. So where did it come from? 
     
    It turns out that his inspiration was a strange and alarming incident that happened just a few miles from his home in California.  
     
    This book uncovers the truth behind the plot as well as other factoids that fascinate any fan of the film.
    Show book
  • The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle - cover

    The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle

    J. A. Giles, J. Ingram

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle is a collection of annals in Old English chronicling the history of the Anglo-Saxons. The original manuscript of the Chronicle was created late in the 9th century, probably in Wessex, during the reign of Alfred the Great (r. 871–899). Multiple copies were made of that one original and then distributed to monasteries across England, where they were independently updated. In one case, the Chronicle was still being actively updated in 1154.
    
    The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle is an invaluable resource for anyone studying the history of England. It is definitely not light reading, but it is filled with fascinating and intriguing details of life in England before to just after the Norman Conquest.
    
    Michael Swanton's edition of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle is a good, handy reference in modern English. A group of manuscripts (eight in all) rather than a single unified book, the Chronicle is the first continuously-maintained vernacular national historical work in Western history. Swanton has here translated and edited the manuscripts to form a continuous whole, and included extensive notes.
    
    A good successor to Garmonsway's parallel translation of the various Chronicle texts - good translation, ample notes, solid introduction. It also has good maps and supplementary material for the history.
    Show book
  • The Madman - His Parables and Poems - cover

    The Madman - His Parables and Poems

    Kahlil Gibran

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gibran Khalil Gibran (1883 – 1931) was a Lebanese-American poet, writer, and artist best known as the author of “The Prophet” (1923), which is one of the best-selling books of all time. Gibran's work covers such themes as justice, religion, science, free will, love, happiness, the soul, the body, and death. He is widely considered to have been one of the most important figures in Arabic poetry and literature during the first half of the twentieth century. Originally published in 1918, “The Madman" is a thought-provoking collection of aphoristic parables and poetry that explores the desires and motivations of humankind. Contents include: “How I Became a Madman," "The Two Hermits," "The Wise Dog," "The Good God and the Evil God," "Night and the Madman," "The Three Ants," "When My Sorrow Was Born," "And When My Joy Was Born," etc. Other notable works by this author include: “Music” (1905), “Rebellious Spirits” (1908), and “Broken Wings” (1912). This volume is highly recommended for fans Gibran's seminal work and it would make for a worthy addition to any collection. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially-commissioned new biography of the author.
    Show book
  • Hundreds - Dollar #3 - cover

    Hundreds - Dollar #3

    Pepper Winters

    • 1
    • 50
    • 0
    “I'm done hurting her. She's been hurt enough. It's time I set her free...” 
    Once upon a time, I wished to go home and forget. 
    Now, I’m strong and ready to fight. 
    Seduced and claimed, Elder no longer just demands my voice, he commands me to be a thief like him. 
    I refuse. 
    But he offers me things I shouldn’t want, favours I should run from. 
    In return for his protection, I’m ordered to steal enough pennies and dollars to buy back my freedom. 
    Only, we both aren’t prepared for how he changes me, evolves me. 
    And now, it’s my turn to learn about him. 
    Book 3 in the USA Today Bestselling Romance, Dollar Series
    Show book