Don't miss out on our offer of unlimited reading for a whole year!
Only until 29 April!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Life After Life - A Novel - cover

Life After Life - A Novel

Jill McCorkle

Publisher: Shannon Ravenel Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Award-winning author Jill McCorkle takes us on a splendid journey through time and memory in this, her tenth work of fiction. Life After Life is filled with a sense of wonder at our capacity for self-discovery at any age. And the residents, staff, and neighbors of the Pine Haven retirement center (from twelve-year-old Abby to eighty-five-year-old Sadie) share some of life’s most profound discoveries and are some of the most true-to-life characters that you are ever likely to meet in fiction. Delivered with her trademark wit, Jill McCorkle’s constantly surprising novel illuminates the possibilities of second chances, hope, and rediscovering life right up to the very end. She has conjured an entire community that reminds us that grace and magic can—and do—appear when we least expect it. 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sirens - The Midnight Eye Files #2 - cover

    The Sirens - The Midnight Eye...

    William Meikle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Glasgow private investigator Derek Adams can't seem to get away from the otherworldly, especially not when it seems to be the only paying gig in town. So when an old widow offers him two grand to find her son-who isn't exactly missing...just not himself-it's not long before things start to get weird, and a road trip to the rural village of Skye turns into a detour to the twilight. Before long, Derek is on a remote island, hip-deep in mermaids, stalked by shape-shifters, and tangled in the nets of a diabolical fisher cult intent on waking an ancient god and unleashing the apocalypse. In other words, it's business as usual.
    Show book
  • The Sword Is Drawn - cover

    The Sword Is Drawn

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide.The House of Norreys—those merchants of gems for over three hundred years—faces its greatest crisis ever: the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands. The old Jonkheer lay dying in his bed when he called his grandson to be with him in the last hours of his life, and at this time, young Lorens van Norreys is entrusted with the future of Norreys. That future lies in the legendary Flower of Orange, a priceless baroque necklace that the Nazi scavengers burn to possess. It is up to Lorens to save the necklace and the House of Norreys. With the first encounter with the Nazi invaders, Lorens faces his challenge as The Sword Is Drawn.
    Show book
  • Thugs and the Women Who Love Them - cover

    Thugs and the Women Who Love Them

    Wahida Clark

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    New York Times best-selling author Wahida Clark is all too familiar with the terrifying truths of ghetto life. The first novel in her gritty, gripping Thug Series takes you into a world where a wrong choice can be the last choice a person ever makes. In a 'hood boiling over with sex, brutality, and crime, three friends are at a turning point. They can surrender to the streets and the murderous men who rule there, or walk a totally different path. But nothing is simple for women addicted to life on the edge. And everything has consequences. Angel, Jaz, and Kyra are all leading double lives, torn between working hard to leave the ghetto behind--and being dragged back in by the lying, pimping, drug-dealing men they can't seem to let go. From jealous rampages to bloody turf wars to rage-fueled vendettas, a tangled web of sex and violence binds these women to the very place that can destroy them. Get ready to enter a heart-pounding world of danger and eroticism mixed with a glimmer of hope.
    Show book
  • DI Will Jackman 2: Beneath the Ashes Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller with DI Will Jackman - cover

    DI Will Jackman 2: Beneath the...

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    DI Will Jackman Series - Amazon Top 5 Bestseller 
    'Carefully executed police procedural, that hits all the targets.' --Angela Clarke, author of Follow Me 
    'I thought I'd never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.' --Ian Patrick Writer and former DS with the Metropolitan Police 
    'A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.' --Rebecca Bradley, author of Shallow Waters 
    THE SECOND DI WILL JACKMAN CRIME THRILLER 
    The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid. 
    When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate. 
    Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret. 
    Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim? 
    A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book
  • Stone Unturned: A Legend of Ethshar - cover

    Stone Unturned: A Legend of Ethshar

    Lawrence Watt-Evans

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book
  • Bred Bareback by a Werewolf - cover

    Bred Bareback by a Werewolf

    Jade Bleu

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Marked and bred to sate a werewolf’s mating lust! 
    I had no idea that the wolf who’d been sniffing around the cabin had sensed that I was desperate for a man’s touch—and that I was fertile and ready to be taken. But all that was about to change when the wolf turned into a man, a hot, gorgeous man with an animal’s unyielding, unforgiving needs.
    
    An erotic short featuring hot, raw werewolf sex and fertile fun with a stranger.
    Show book