The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Journal of a Sneaky Twerp - cover

Journal of a Sneaky Twerp

Jest Ninney

Publisher: Jest Ninney

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Boys are semi-literate brutes―or are they? 
  
Gregor "Shmegegge" Hufflepuff finds himself thrust into the world beyond his insulated cul-de-sac, where sneaky twerps like him have to share the air with kids who, terrifyingly, are slightly different. But nothing scares Gregor more than the slice of metaphorical cheese moldering deep within his soul. Can he and his friend-of-convenience, Jowley Monticello, make it through the year without having to learn anything about themselves? 
  
The pitfalls of avoiding growing up are uniquely revealed through the pompous musings and slapdash graffiti of Gregor's so-called journal. 
  
For teens and adults who vaguely remember reading the Wimpy Kid series. 
  
"Wimpy Kid got my reluctant reader flipping pages. But as a teen, after reading Sneaky Twerp, he swears he'll never pick up another book again!" —Frazzled Soccer Mom 
  
"Wimpy Kid is one of the most disrespectful, cynical, negative books I have ever read. I don't see how this cynical ripoff is going to be any different." —bellumromanum 
  
"There are no positive themes in Wimpy Kid. Not one. In fact, I would have to say that the main character is the single most unlikeable child I've ever met in a book for adolescents. By contrast, the protagonist of Sneaky Twerp comes off as not insufferable." —Lede Gershwin Blue Mitchell 
 
"My 13 year old son began reading Sneaky Twerp just as he was learning to rebel. Many times he would read it before bed, and I would hear him cackling maniacally in his room. Now, 14 years old, he will often pick it up and read it again. It's sardonic, but the appeal to his age demographic is actually amazing to me. I didn't have to make him think for himself ... he wants to. And he loves it. I would recommend the book to any teen who is learning to read texts with a critical eye rather than lazily accept them at face value." —Pierced Pastor

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Love Me Like You Do - an emotional story of love and finding yourself - cover

    Love Me Like You Do - an...

    Aimee Brown

    • 3
    • 28
    • 1
    A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them. 
     
    Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. When she's dumped moments before walking down the aisle, she didn't expect to run into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she? 
     
    When Liam agreed to go on yet another blind date, he didn't expect his escape would lead him to the emergency room with a runaway bride. She might have just been left at the altar, but he's immediately drawn to her fiery spirit, kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that's haunting him, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in. 
     
    Will these two strangers allow serendipity to force them together, or will their fears keep them apart? 
     
    From the bestselling author of The Lucky Dress comes a story about love, finding yourself and living your dreams.
    Show book
  • Macho Meditations - cover

    Macho Meditations

    Thomas W. Cathcart, Daniel M. Klein

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An uproariously funny daily inspirational guide for manly men. Ralph and Reggie—two regular, blue-collar buds from Boston—offer one-a-day mcnuggets of affirmation, inspiration, manly wisdom and earth-shaking epiphanies from the end of the bar on the inner issues that truly matter—everything from sex to sports to sex to imported vs. domestic to sex to the meaning of life.
    Show book
  • Pulp - cover

    Pulp

    Charles Bukowski

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    Opening with the exotic Lady Death entering the gumshoe-writer's seedy office in pursuit of a writer named Celine, this novel demonstrates Bukowski's own brand of humour and realism, opening up a landscape of seamy Los Angeles.
    Show book
  • Women - A Novel - cover

    Women - A Novel

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 55
    • 0
    Low-life writer and unrepentant alcoholic Henry Chinaski was born to survive. After decades of slacking off at low-paying dead-end jobs, blowing his cash on booze and women, and scrimping by in flea-bitten apartments, Chinaski sees his poetic star rising at last. Now, at fifty, he is reveling in his sudden rock-star life, running three hundred hangovers a year, and maintaining a sex life that would cripple Casanova. 
     
    With all of Bukowski's trademark humor and gritty, dark honesty, this 1978 follow-up to Post Office and Factotum is an uncompromising account of life on the edge.
    Show book
  • What Matters Most is How Well You - cover

    What Matters Most is How Well You

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    This second posthumous collection from Charles Bukowski takes readers deep into the raw, wild vein of writing that extends from the early 70s to the 1990s.
    Show book