Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

The Miniaturist - A Novel

Jessie Burton

Publisher: Ecco

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

Who read this book also read:

  • I Am Vidocq: A Mystery of Old Paris - cover

    I Am Vidocq: A Mystery of Old Paris

    Vincent McConnor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A number of baffling cases confront the renowned Vidocq, chief of the famed Surete Nationale, and his loyal staff of reformed criminals that hot summer of 1823. There is the murder of the famous Parisian jeweler, and the murder of Maya, the Spanish whore, shot with the same gun -- and systematic looting of treasures from the great chateaux by The Black Devil, and more. With a heady, rich nineteenth century atmosphere, this mystery is a keeper!
    Show book
  • The Bilbao Looking Glass - cover

    The Bilbao Looking Glass

    Charlotte MacLeod

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A couple finds an antique mirror that isn’t broken, but still brings bad luck—“MacLeod can be counted on for a witty, literate, and charming mystery” (Publishers Weekly).  According to Max Bittersohn, he and Sarah Kelling have witnessed enough murder and unhappiness, so it’s high time they got married. And though Sarah hasn’t yet agreed to such drastic measures, she invites Max to summer with her at Ireson’s Landing. But they haven’t been in the house ten minutes when they stumble upon summer’s first mystery—a mint-condition, antique Spanish mirror that is tremendously rare and valuable. Sarah has never seen it before and she doesn’t know how it ended up in the summerhouse, but the sleuthing couple will soon find this looking glass to be more troublesome than anything Lewis Carroll ever invented. As the zany Kelling clan descends on Ireson’s Landing, Sarah and her beau try to uncover the mystery of the Bilbao looking glass—a quest that is disrupted when a vicious next-door neighbor is found hacked to death with a woodshed ax. By summer’s end, Sarah and Max will learn that some murders can be solved simply by looking in the mirror.
    Show book
  • A Case for Julie - A Julie Sinclair Investigates Novella - cover

    A Case for Julie - A Julie...

    Terry H. Watson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Julie Sinclair, writer and author, has her peaceful village life disrupted when several mysterious events occur, causing her to move into detective mode to restore tranquillity to the community. 
    What is meant by the sudden appearance of black vases, a tragic event at the local rescue animal centre, and puzzling activities in the attic of the oldest house in the village? 
    Julie, observant and inquisitive, finds herself as an unintentional sleuth. Lovers of the Miss Marple stories will enjoy the adventures in this little novella, the first in a series of stories featuring Julie.
    Show book
  • The Sudden Star - cover

    The Sudden Star

    Pamela Sargent

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The appearance of a white star bathing the world in a deadly glare turns Earth into a nightmare of fear and death. Rape and murder are as common as suicide. Medical help is allowed only for certain diseases, and only the most resourceful and corrupt survive. Dr. Simon Negron dares to defy the medical code by giving insulin to a diabetic. His crime makes him a fugitive with only a young prostitute as an ally, a haunted man running for his life in a nightmare world of increasing madness. Published in the UK under the title The White Death.
    Show book
  • One Grave Too Many - cover

    One Grave Too Many

    Ron Goulart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As earthquakes shake Los Angeles, John Easy looks for a missing admanJohn Easy never likes to get out of bed, especially when the woman beside him is as beautiful as Jill Jeffers, but no man can argue with an earthquake. The quake subsides after a few moments, but another one is coming. Something fierce is about to rock Los Angeles, and California’s hippest private detective is going to be right in the middle of it. Gay Holland, Easy’s newest client, is rich, lonely, and missing her brother Gary. The owner of a boutique radio advertising firm, Gary is recently divorced and has a married girlfriend. His apartment has been trashed, and whoever did it was violent, professional, and in search of something to do with Gary’s collection of archaeology texts. Finding Gary will mean digging deep under Los Angeles—assuming the next quake doesn’t shake the city apart first.
    Show book
  • The Emerald Lie - A Jack Taylor Novel - cover

    The Emerald Lie - A Jack Taylor...

    Ken Bruen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ken Bruen, the “Godfather of the modern Irish crime novel” (Irish Independent), is beloved for his black humor, verse-like prose, and irascible protagonist Jack Taylor, an ex-cop who is as addicted to trouble as he is to Jameson, pills, and pop culture.In The Emerald Lie, the latest terror to be visited upon the dark Galway streets arrives in a most unusual form: a Cambridge graduate who becomes murderous over split infinitives, dangling modifiers, and any other sign of bad grammar. Meanwhile, Jack is approached by a grieving father with a pocketful of cash on offer if Jack will help exact revenge on those responsible for his daughter’s brutal rape and murder. Though hesitant to get involved, Jack agrees to get a read on the likely perpetrators. But Jack is soon derailed by the reappearance of Emily (previous alias: Emerald), the chameleon-like young woman who joined forces with Jack to take down her pedophile father in Green Hell and who remains passionate, clever, and utterly homicidal. She will use any sort of coercion to get Jack to conspire with her against the serial killer the Garda have nicknamed “the Grammarian,” but her most destructive obsession just might be Jack himself.
    Show book