Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

The Miniaturist - A Novel

Jessie Burton

Publisher: Ecco

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS 
Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bed of Bones - Sloane Monroe Series #5 - cover

    Bed of Bones - Sloane Monroe...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Sometimes even the deepest, darkest secrets find their way to the surface.  
      
    Thirteen-year-old Willie Compton and his younger brother Leonard stumble upon a mine shaft while hiking the hills of Park City, Utah. A Slinky Leonard's been flipping back and forth between his hands slips through his fingers. Leonard bolts forward and reaches out to grab it, but he slips, then he falls into the shaft.  
      
    Bed of Bones tells a tale of murder, shining a big, bold light on Park City's tragic past. A past that's about to revisit the present. 
      
    If you enjoy stories full of twists and turns, Bed of Bones will keep you guessing.  
     
    A New York Times bestselling series.  
      
    "An intricately woven mystery that'll have you turning the pages faster than a force ten gale." 
      
    "Fast-paced, modern-day novel that combines the best elements of both the mystery and thriller genres."
    Show book
  • The Night Thief - cover

    The Night Thief

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Simple country handyman Cedric O’Toole relies on his organic vegetable garden to supplement his meager income, so he’s upset when vegetables begin disappearing. After several futile attempts to protect the garden, he stakes it out one night with his shotgun and spots a shadowy figure running into the woods. Cedric follows and finds a young boy living rough on his land. The boy has never been taught to read or write, and no one has reported him missing. No stranger to childhood neglect himself, Cedric takes the boy under his wing and tries to find answers. Who is the mystery boy, and why is he hiding in the woods? The Night Thief is the third novel in a series featuring reluctant sleuth Cedric O’Toole.
    Show book
  • The Big Midget Murders - cover

    The Big Midget Murders

    Craig Rice

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    It’s murder backstage for a cynical Chicago attorney—from “the Dorothy Parker of detective fiction” (William Ruehlmann).   It’s part casino, part nightclub, and part circus. For its new owners, Jake Justus and his socialite wife, Helene, it’s also a gamble. Luckily they have Jay Otto. Next to a bouncy burlesque bit, Otto’s high-wire act is the hottest draw in the joint. But the crowd isn’t the only thing left breathless. The performer has just been found in his dressing room, doped up, dead, and hanging by eleven silk stockings. The method is fetching. The probable motive? Otto was the nastiest, most hateful, devious, blackmailing little cuss on the circuit.   But Jake’s friend, attorney John J. Malone, thinks this is more than a case of justifiable homicide—especially when Otto isn’t the last on the bill to get all choked up. Now Malone has a lot of secrets to untangle so he can collar the killer, because Jake and Helene’s necks could be next on the line.  The Big Midget Murders is “expertly timed . . . and frenzied . . . with lavish accompaniment of good wise-cracking. Verdict: Superior” (TheSaturday Review of Literature). “Call it screwball noir, call it hard-boiled farce, call it whatever you want . . . Craig Rice did it with John J. Malone, her ne-er-do-well bibulous attorney” (Thrilling Detective).
    Show book
  • Dead Air - cover

    Dead Air

    Scott Overton

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    It’s a hard thing to
    accept that someone wants you dead. It forces you to decide if you have anything
    worth living for.
When radio morning host Lee Garrett finds a death threat on
    his control console, he shrugs it off as a prank. Until a series of minor
    harassments turns into undeniable attempts on his life. The suspects are
    many—he’s made enemies—and the police are strangely uncooperative. The radio
    career he loved has turned sour, leaving behind a dwindling audience and the
    wreckage of his marriage. Then the friendship of a newly blind boy and the
    boy’s attractive teacher offer unexpected hope. Maybe he can make a fresh
    start.
    
     
    
    
     
    But when the deadliest
    assault yet claims an innocent victim, Garrett knows he has no choice—he has to
    find his persecutors and force a confrontation. The extraordinary outcome will
    test the limits of an ordinary man
    
     
    
    
     
    “A gripping, insightful debut from a
    veteran radio personality and gifted wordsmith.” —Sean Costello, author of Here
    After
    
     
    “Scott Overton is a storyteller of
    boundless skill…a writer to watch.” —Mark Leslie, author of Haunted Hamilton and
    I, Death
    Show book
  • Edwina Currie - Diaries 1987-1992 - cover

    Edwina Currie - Diaries 1987-1992

    Edwina Currie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After Margaret Thatcher, Edwina Currie was the second most prominent woman in British politics during the 1980s. Indeed, she was often spoken of as a potential Prime Minister. Her outspokenness and her lively, media-friendly personality won her a much higher profile than her status as a junior minister would otherwise have commanded. When she was forced to resign from the government after warning of the danger signs of salmonella infection in eggs, she was already a national figure. Revealing her four-year affair with former Prime Minister John Major, Edwina's diaries caused a media sensation. A decade on, and now with previously unpublished material, the diaries still provide a remarkable insight into politics at the top by a writer with an observant eye and a sharp sense of humour. Edwina Currie's honesty, her frankness and her courage make these unexpurgated diaries an irresistible read.
    Show book
  • Fire in the Stars - An Amanda Doucette Mystery - cover

    Fire in the Stars - An Amanda...

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A former aid worker returns home haunted by her time in Africa and channels her pain into a murder investigation that’s all too personal. 
    
     
    
    After surviving a horrific trauma in Nigeria, international aid worker Amanda Doucette returns to Canada to rebuild her life and her shaken ideals. There, the once-passionate, adventurous woman needs all her strength and ingenuity when a friend and fellow survivor goes missing along with his son. 
    
     
    
    A trained first-aid and crisis responder, Doucette — always accompanied by her beloved dog Kaylee — joins forces with RCMP officer Chris Tymko to discover the truth about the disappearance. Their search leads them to the Great Northern Peninsula, a rugged landscape of Viking history, icebergs, whales, and fierce ocean storms. Elsewhere, a body gets hauled up in a fisherman’s net, and evidence is mounting of an unsettling connection with Amanda’s search for her friend. Fradkin writes evocatively of the beautiful, often hostile, Newfoundland landscape where Amanda soon finds herself fighting for her very survival.
    Show book