Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
December Dread - cover

December Dread

Jess Lourey

Publisher: Toadhouse Books

  • 0
  • 9
  • 1

Summary

Finalist for The Lefty Award for Best Humorous Mystery!Silent Night, Deadly NightWith Christmas just over a week away, 'tis the season for grinning elves, maddeningly jolly Muzak, and a guilty Nut Goodie addiction. But the holidays are marred by something far worse―a serial killer leaving candy canes as his calling card.His target? Thirty-something brunettes who look just like Mira James. When a woman from her high school graduating class becomes his latest victim, Mira plows through a case of online dating turned deadly with Mrs. Berns at her side.Will she earn her detective stripes...or end up deader than the Ghost of Christmas Past?December Dread is a suspenseful, laugh-out-loud romantic comic caper, perfect for readers who enjoy the humorous mysteries of Joanne Fluke, Liliana Hart, Chelsea Field, Gina LaManna, Janet Evanovich, Denise Grover Swank, Jana DeLeon, Amy Vansant, and Stephanie Bond. If you love to laugh while reading a page-turning mystery, this series is for you!December Dread is the eighth in an ongoing series featuring Mira James, an urban woman with rural Minnesota roots. The books can be read in any order; each novel stands alone. Get all the Mira James mysteries today!May DayJune BugKnee High by the Fourth of JulyAugust MoonSeptember MournOctober FestNovember HuntDecember DreadJanuary ThawFebruary FeverMarch of CrimeOr, if you love to sink into a satisfying binge read, check out the bundles!Mira James Mysteries Summer Bundle, Books 1-4 (May, June, July, and August)Mira James Mysteries Fall Bundle, Books 5-7 (September, October, November)Mira James Mysteries Winter Bundle, Books 8-10 (December, January, February)PRAISE FOR DECEMBER DREAD"Awesome read! Even with threat of a hurricane, nothing could make me put this book down." ―Dru Love (Amazon reviewer, five stars)"Loved it! I have read and enjoyed all of the murder by month books by Jess Lourey. December Dread - all I can say is that I couldn't put it down. Well written, suspenseful and great characters." ―Deborah Jackson (Amazon reviewer, five stars)"Excellent mystery. Can't wait to read more by this author. Loved the characters. It was a page turner―very easy to read." ―Maggie Hubbard (Amazon reviewer, five stars)"Lourey pulls out all the stops in this eighth case." ―Library Journal"Lourey creates a splendid mix of humor and suspense." ―Booklist"Lourey, who keeps her secrets well, delivers a breathtaking finale." ―Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Paula Daly

    • 1
    • 24
    • 0
    From acclaimed novelist and “master of psychological thrillers” (Library Journal) Paula Daly, Open Your Eyes follows a bestselling crime novelist’s tragic turn from fictional perpetrator into real-life victim.
     
    Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon—a bestselling crime writer—take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?
     
    But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband—and why—Jane must take matters into her own hands.
     
    A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.
    Show book
  • The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery - cover

    The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery

    Bonnie C. Monte

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    Thirty-five-year-old Rae Sullivan owns a thriving home décor shop in the San Francisco Bay area, near majestic Mt. Tamalpais (to locals, The Sleeping Lady). But when her business partner, Thalia, confides that she has a lover in France, Rae’s comfortable life starts to unravel. Soon, an anonymous note-writer threatens to reveal the affair, and Thalia—who, unswayed by Rae’s warnings, insists on confronting the blackmailer—turns up dead in Golden Gate Park.
    
    The police, convinced the crime was a random mugging, are dismissive of Rae’s story of blackmail. Then a scandal from Rae’s past job comes to light, and the police start to eye her as a suspect. To clear her reputation and ensure justice for Thalia, Rae decides it’s up to her to unmask the murderer—despite her husband’s objections.
    
    Rae’s sleuthing leads her to France, where she enlists the help of Thalia’s handsome half brother. As they collaborate to catch the killer, sparks fly between them, and Rae has to contend with these newly aroused feelings—even as she strives to outmaneuver a cold-blooded murderer who wants to silence her.
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • Before He Takes (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 4) - cover

    Before He Takes (A Mackenzie...

    Blake Pierce

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    From Blake Pierce, bestselling author of ONCE GONE (a #1 bestseller with over 800 five star reviews), comes book #4 in the heart-pounding Mackenzie White mystery series.
    
    In BEFORE HE TAKES (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 4), newly minted FBI agent Mackenzie White is ordered to take on a new and disturbing case. Women are going missing in rural Iowa, and a pattern is emerging. It is feared a serial killer is on a rampage, his pace increasing. Given her Midwestern roots, Mackenzie is chosen as the perfect fit.
    
    But Mackenzie is reluctant to return to the Midwest, this time to a starkly rural setting that reminds her too much of her upbringing, of her own ghosts in her closet. She also seeks her own father’s murderer, with darkness haunting her at every turn of her trip. Plunged deep into the world of farms, of silos, of slaughterhouses, of long stretches on empty highways, Mackenzie feels as if she’s falling back into the depths of her psyche, and into the nightmares she always feared to face.
    
    In the deadly game of cat-and-mouse, she finally realizes the psychosis of the killer she is up against, and comes to realize that the land of her upbringing is holding even darker and more twisted horrors than she could imagine.
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, BEFORE HE TAKES is book #4 in a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #5 in the Mackenzie White Mystery series will be available soon. 
    
    Also available by Blake Pierce is ONCE GONE (A Riley Paige mystery—Book #1), a #1 bestseller with over 800 five star reviews!
    Show book
  • The G-String Murders - cover

    The G-String Murders

    Craig Rice

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It’s a killer bump and grind for Gypsy Rose Lee, the Queen of Burlesque, in this “rich and lusty” bestselling mystery (Life).   Strippers gotta have a gimmick, but being strangled to death is a pretty short-lived stunt. Ask class-A headliner Gypsy Rose Lee. The ecdysiast extraordinaire has just found sewer-mouthed Burly Q tart Lolita La Verne in the dressing room with a rhinestone G-string wrapped tight around her freshly powdered neck. It’s enough to give a decent dame the shakes.   It’s also casting a hot-pink spotlight on a roster of suspects including Dynamic Dolly, notorious for her backstage brawls. Not to mention the loitering thugs, oily managers, frustrated sugar daddies, and any number of low-end Times Square artistes looking for a bump up on the bill. But when La Verne is only the first runway quiver-girl to get wrung out, it’s up Gypsy to put the moves on the killer—and fast. She’s feeling pretty exposed herself right now.   Adapted into Lady of Burlesque, the 1943 film starring Barbara Stanwyck, The G-String Murders remains “a lurid, witty, and highly competent detective story . . . that builds up to a hair-raising climax” (Time).  
    Show book
  • Poppet - cover

    Poppet

    Mo Hayder

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mo Hayder has for years been a master of chilling, seamlessly-plotted  thrillers that keep the reader glued to the page long after lights out, and fresh off of winning the Edgar Award for Best Novel for Gone, Hayder is at the top of her game. Her latest novel, Poppet, is Hayder at her most terrifying: a gripping novel about the search for a dangerous mental patient on the loose.Everything goes according to procedure when a patient, Isaac, is released into the community from a high security mental health ward. But when the staff realize that he was connected to a series of unexplained episodes of self-harm amongst the ward’s patients, and furthermore that he was released in error, they call on Detective Jack Caffery to investigate, and to track Isaac down before he can kill again. Will the terrifying little effigies Isaac made explain the incidents around the ward, or provide the clue Caffery needs to predict what he's got planned?Mo Hayder is renowned for conjuring nightmares that sink under the skin, and in Poppet she has delivered a taut, unbearably suspenseful novel that will not let readers go.
    Show book