Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
December Dread - cover

December Dread

Jess Lourey

Publisher: Toadhouse Books

  • 0
  • 9
  • 1

Summary

Finalist for The Lefty Award for Best Humorous Mystery!Silent Night, Deadly NightWith Christmas just over a week away, 'tis the season for grinning elves, maddeningly jolly Muzak, and a guilty Nut Goodie addiction. But the holidays are marred by something far worse―a serial killer leaving candy canes as his calling card.His target? Thirty-something brunettes who look just like Mira James. When a woman from her high school graduating class becomes his latest victim, Mira plows through a case of online dating turned deadly with Mrs. Berns at her side.Will she earn her detective stripes...or end up deader than the Ghost of Christmas Past?December Dread is a suspenseful, laugh-out-loud romantic comic caper, perfect for readers who enjoy the humorous mysteries of Joanne Fluke, Liliana Hart, Chelsea Field, Gina LaManna, Janet Evanovich, Denise Grover Swank, Jana DeLeon, Amy Vansant, and Stephanie Bond. If you love to laugh while reading a page-turning mystery, this series is for you!December Dread is the eighth in an ongoing series featuring Mira James, an urban woman with rural Minnesota roots. The books can be read in any order; each novel stands alone. PRAISE FOR DECEMBER DREAD"Awesome read! Even with threat of a hurricane, nothing could make me put this book down." ―Dru Love (Amazon reviewer, five stars)"Loved it! I have read and enjoyed all of the murder by month books by Jess Lourey. December Dread - all I can say is that I couldn't put it down. Well written, suspenseful and great characters." ―Deborah Jackson (Amazon reviewer, five stars)"Excellent mystery. Can't wait to read more by this author. Loved the characters. It was a page turner―very easy to read." ―Maggie Hubbard (Amazon reviewer, five stars)"Lourey pulls out all the stops in this eighth case." ―Library Journal"Lourey creates a splendid mix of humor and suspense." ―Booklist"Lourey, who keeps her secrets well, delivers a breathtaking finale." ―Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • Hercule Poirot and the Greenshore Folly - cover

    Hercule Poirot and the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Never before published—the lost classic, unseen for sixty years! 
    A party game goes dead wrong in this ingenious mystery from the most beloved novelist of all time. Hercule Poirot, the world's favorite detective, has agreed to take part in a mock murder mystery in a charming English village—but when tragedy strikes, a different sort of game begins ... 
    In 1954, Agatha Christie wrote this novella with the intention of donating the proceeds to a fund set up to buy stained glass windows for her local church at Churston Ferrers, and she filled the story with references to local places, including her own home of Greenway. But, having completed it, she decided instead to expand the story into a full-length novel, Dead Man's Folly, which was published two years later, and donated a Miss Marple story (Greenshaw's Folly) to the church fund instead. 
    Unseen for sixty years, Hercule Poirot and the Greenshore Folly is finally published in this ebook-exclusive edition.
    Show book
  • The Monogram Murders - A Hercule Poirot Mystery - cover

    The Monogram Murders - A Hercule...

    Agatha Christie, Sophie Hannah

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Since the publication of her first novel in 1920, more than two billion copies of Agatha Christie's books have been sold around the globe. Now, for the first time ever, the guardians of her legacy have approved a brand-new novel featuring Dame Agatha's most beloved creation, Hercule Poirot. 
    Internationally bestselling author Sophie Hannah breathes new life into the incomparable detective. In this thrilling tale, Poirot plunges into a mystery set in 1920s London—a diabolically clever puzzle that will test his brilliant skills and baffle and delight longtime Christie fans and new generations of readers discovering him for the first time. Authorized by Christie's family, and featuring the most iconic detective of all time, this instant Christie classic is sure to be celebrated by mystery lovers the world over.
    Show book
  • The Breakdown: A Novel - cover

    The Breakdown: A Novel

    B. A. Paris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?
    
    Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods. It was on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, and a woman was sitting inside—the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm, and she probably would have been hurt herself if she’d stopped. Not only that, her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home.
    
    But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing. Where she left the car; if she took her pills; even the alarm code.
    
    The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.
    
    And the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…
    Show book
  • The secret adversary - cover

    The secret adversary

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This eBook has been formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
    The Great War is over, and jobs are scarce. Tommy Beresford and Prudence "Tuppence" Cowley meet and agree to start their own business as The Young Adventurers. They are hired for a job that leads them both to many dangerous situations, meeting allies as well, including an American millionaire in search of his cousin...
    Show book
  • The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

    The Pallbearer - A Novel

    Jordan Farmer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
    The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
    Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
    The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.
    Show book
  • Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #2 - cover

    Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9...

    Jen Blood

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    K-9 handler Jamie Flint and her team – both human and canine – search for a group that’s mysteriously vanished during a dog sledding expedition for battered women in Maine’s Mahoosuc Mountains. When the authorities learn that a rogue gunman was at the heart of the disappearance, the question turns to which abusive partner is behind the violence. Jamie Flint, herself a survivor of domestic abuse, is haunted by memories of her own experiences as she and her dog, Phantom, fight to find the missing women before the shooter does.
    Show book