Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The River Home - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The River Home

Jerry Dennis

Publisher: DCA, Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this remarkable collection of essays and stories, winner of the Best Book of the Year Award from the Outdoor Writers Association of America, Jerry Dennis demonstrates why he has emerged as one of America's finest writers on nature and the outdoors. In prose that has drawn comparisons with John Voelker, Sigurd Olson, and Aldo Leopold, Dennis celebrates the simple pleasures and complex challenges of family life, the allure of giant trout, the sacredness of secret places, and such wonders as bad weather, quirky fishing companions, and the occasional naked angler. Ranging from northern Michigan to Iceland, Chile, and the fabled rivers of the American West, The River Home is a passionate record of a life lived fully, crafted with clarity, insight, and good humor—by a writer gifted with an instinct for what matters. PRAISE:"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well." —Lisa Faye Kaplan, USA Today“Collections of essays about the outdoors and fishing crowd the shelves, but Dennis’s fresh writing and marvelous insights merit special attention. This fine collection will appeal to fans of Hal Borland, W.D. Wetherell, and Nick Lyons, as well as to those who enjoy the essays of fiction writers William Tapply and Thomas McGuane.” —Booklist“Even if you’ve never pulled on a pair of waders, you should read this funny and wise book about fly fishing – and a lot more.” —Georgia Times-Union“In this book, Dennis elevates the typical ‘outdoor’ essay, usually a mere recollection of adventures while hunting, fishing, camping, canoeing, or pursuing other outdoor activities. He has transcended the typical by blending in elements of ‘nature’ writing: observation, research, speculation about the world in which the sportsman places himself.” —The Oakland Press
Available since: 01/30/2014.

Other books that might interest you

  • Émile Zola - A Very Short Introduction - cover

    Émile Zola - A Very Short...

    Brian Nelson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Émile Zola was the leader of the literary movement known as "naturalism" and is one of the great figures of the novel. In his monumental Les Rougon-Macquart (1871-93), he explored the social and cultural landscape of the late nineteenth century in ways that scandalized bourgeois society. Zola opened the novel up to a new realm of subjects, including the realities of working-class life, class relations, and questions of gender and sexuality, and his writing embodied a new freedom of expression, with his bold, outspoken voice often inviting controversy.In this Very Short Introduction, Brian Nelson examines Zola's major themes and narrative art. He illuminates the social and political contexts of Zola's work, and provides readings of five individual novels (The Belly of Paris, L'Assommoir, The Ladies' Paradise, Germinal, and Earth). Zola's naturalist theories, which attempted to align literature with science, helped to generate the stereotypical notion that his fiction was somehow nonfictional. Nelson, however, reveals how the most distinctive elements of Zola's writing go far beyond his theoretical naturalism, giving his novels their unique force. Throughout, he sets Zola's work in context, considering his relations with contemporary painters, his role in the Dreyfus Affair, and his eventual murder.
    Show book
  • The Wolf in the Parlor - The Eternal Connection Between Humans and Dogs - cover

    The Wolf in the Parlor - The...

    Jon Franklin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Of all the things hidden in plain sight, dogs are one of the most enigmatic. They are everywhere, but how much do we really know about where they came from and what the implications are of their place in our world? Jon Franklin set out to find out and ended up spending a decade studying the origins and significance of the dog and its peculiar attachment to humans. As the intellectual pursuit of his subject began to take over Franklin's life, he married a dog lover and was quickly introduced to an ancient and powerful law of nature: Love me, love my dog. Soon Franklin was sharing hearth and home with a soulful and clever poodle named Charlie.And so began one man's journey to the dogs, an odyssey that would take him from a 12,000-year-old grave to a conclusion so remarkable as to change our perception of ourselves. Building on evolutionary science, archaeology, behavioral science, and the firsthand experience of watching his own dog evolve from puppy to family member, Franklin posits that man and dog are more than just inseparable; they are part and parcel of the same creature. Along the way, The Wolf in the Parlor imparts a substantial yet painless education on subjects as far-ranging as psychological evolution and neurochemistry. In this groundbreaking book, master storyteller Franklin shatters the lens through which we see the world and shows us an unexpected, enthralling picture of the human/canine relationship.
    Show book
  • Ballad of Another Ophelia - cover

    Ballad of Another Ophelia

    D. H. Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox volunteers bring you 16 recordings of the haunting Ballad of Another Ophelia by D. H. Lawrence. This was the Fortnightly Poetry project for March 24, 2013.
    Show book
  • History's Greatest Speeches - Vol VI - cover

    History's Greatest Speeches -...

    Cato the Elder, Ernestine Rose,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The most profound and important speeches ever delivered are here collected in this anthology, featuring some of the most influential figures in world history. From ancient times to the American Revolution to as recently as this past century, Fort Raphael Publishing has collected some of the most important and iconic speeches of all time and recorded them for this series.  This is a SoundCraft Audiobooks production and the speeches are presented in an immersive audio style, allowing the listener to experience what it must have been like to be present when these speeches were first delivered.Volume VI features such disparate historical characters as Cato the Elder (Joe D. Lauck) opposing the repeal of the oppressive Oppian Law, Ernestine Rose (Linda Kimbrough), an early pioneer for women’s rights, abolitionist John Brown’s (Robert Koon) fiery speech at the conclusion of his trial for treason, Booker T. Washington (Will Chris) speaking of the struggle of Black Americans to make economic and social advancements, Mary E. Church Terrell (Casaundra Freeman) on the challenges of living as a Black woman in the nation’s Capitol, Theodore Roosevelt’s (Ted Koch) astonishing speech from a 1912 campaign stop, which he delivered moments after being shot by an assassin and the closing remarks from the Defendants in the Sacco and Vanzetti murder trials (Christopher Tiffany and Paul Stroili, with Lawrence Theis as the judge). This collection of powerful and moving speeches pays tribute to these great orators and to the words they used to inspire millions.This is the sixth volume of this series.
    Show book
  • Frontier Follies - Adventures in Marriage and Motherhood in the Middle of Nowhere - cover

    Frontier Follies - Adventures in...

    Ree Drummond

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A down-to-earth, hilarious collection of stories and musings on marriage, motherhood, and country life from the #1 New York Times bestselling author and star of the Food Network show The Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond. 
    In this relatable, charming book, Ree unveils real goings-on in the Drummond house and around the ranch. In stories brimming with the lively wit and humor found in her cookbooks and her bestselling love story, The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels, Ree pulls back the curtain and shares her experiences with childbirth, wildlife, isolation, teenagers, in-laws, and a twenty-five-year marriage to a cowboy/rancher. 
    A celebration of family life, love, and (mostly) laughter, Frontier Follies is a keepsake to curl up with, have a good laugh, and remember all that’s wonderful (and funny) about family. 
    Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.
    Show book
  • Thunderbolts over Burma - A Pilot's War Against the Japanese in 1945 & the Battle of Sittang Bend - cover

    Thunderbolts over Burma - A...

    Mark Hillier, Angus Findon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Royal Air Force pilot shares a riveting account of flying into combat against the Japanese in this WWII memoir supported by additional research. 
     
    Though ill health initially kept Angus Findon from joining the Royal Air Force, he never gave up his dream. In 1945 he joined 34 Squadron and was soon flying Republic P-47 Thunderbolts in the last battles of the Second World War. He and his fellow Thunderbolt pilots often operating alongside RAF Spitfires, played a vital part in the Battle of the Sittang Bend. 
     
    Allied intelligence knew of a planned Japanese break-out at Pegu. When the attack came, the Allies forces were ready. The RAF response was swift, destructive, and devastating for the Japanese. The Battle of Sittang Bend effectively brought the war in Burma to an end. 
     
    In his remarkable memoir, Angus Findon details his journey from initial training to Allied victory. Supported by additional research by aviation historian Mark Hillier, Thunderbolts Over Burma graphically recounts what it was like to fly the Thunderbolt and operate in the harsh conditions of the Burmese airfields during the final months of the Second World War.
    Show book