Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Spiteful Bones - cover

Spiteful Bones

Jeri Westerson

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

The restoration of a crumbling manor house leaves Crispin Guest grappling with a troubling discovery in this entertaining medieval noir mystery.

Restoring his recently inherited family home is a daunting enough task for young lawyer Nigellus Cobmartin without the addition of any unwelcome discoveries. But when workmen turning the crumbling manor house into a grand home for Nigellus and his companion, John Rykener, uncover a skeleton bound, tied and hidden in the wall - and holding the precious relic that went missing from his father's estate nearly twenty years ago - Nigellus immediately calls on London tracker Crispin Guest for help.

Whose bones are they, and why was the valuable relic buried with the thief? Crispin and Jack are drawn into a mystery of dark secrets, family scandal and old grudges as they attempt to find the truth behind a load of old bones.

Other books that might interest you

  • Spaceside - cover

    Spaceside

    Michael Mammay

    • 0
    • 7
    • 1
    From the author of Planetside, a Best Book of 2018 (Library Journal)  
    A military legend is caught in the web between alien intrigue and human subterfuge… 
    Following his mission on Cappa, Colonel Carl Butler returns to a mixed reception. To some he is a do-or-die war hero. To the other half of the galaxy he’s a pariah. Forced into retirement, he has resettled on Talca Four where he’s now Deputy VP of Corporate Security, protecting a high-tech military company on the corporate battlefield—at least, that’s what the job description says. Really, he’s just there to impress clients and investors. It’s all relatively low risk—until he’s entrusted with new orders. A breach of a competitor’s computer network has Butler’s superiors feeling every bit as vulnerable. They need Butler to find who did it, how, and why no one’s taken credit for the ingenious attack. 
    As accustomed as Butler is to the reality of wargames—virtual and otherwise—this one screams something louder than a simple hack. Because no sooner does he start digging when his first contact is murdered, the death somehow kept secret from the media. As a prime suspect, he can’t shake the sensation he’s being watched…or finally succumbing to the stress of his past. Paranoid delusion or dangerous reality, Butler might be onto something much deeper than anyone imagined. But that’s where Butler thrives. 
    If he hasn’t signed his own death warrant. 
     
    Show book
  • A Cold White Fear - A Meg Harris Mystery - cover

    A Cold White Fear - A Meg Harris...

    R.J. Harlick

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Stranded by a blizzard at her isolated cabin, Meg Harris, an escapee from a failed marriage into the remote wilderness, finds herself in a desperate and terrifying situation when two strangers arrive. 
     
    
    
    As night approaches, a major blizzard has cut off road access to Meg Harris’s isolated wilderness home, Three Deer Point. She is alone with her young friend Adjidamo, preparing for Christmas, when a knock suddenly echoes through the house. She finds two strange men at her front door, one of them bleeding. Against her better judgment, she lets them in. At that moment, the power goes out, plunging the group into total darkness and severing all phone links to the outside world. So begin a terrifying twenty-four hours that have Meg summoning up a courage she didn’t know she had to get herself and Adjidamo out alive.
    Show book
  • Executive Command - cover

    Executive Command

    Gary Grossman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Secret Service agent must stop terrorists targeting America’s most valuable—and vulnerable—natural resource…“A great thrill ride.”—Dwight Jon Zimmerman, New York Times-bestselling coauthor of Lincoln’s Last Days The nation’s water resources are high on the terrorist target list—but low in America’s consciousness. Water sources are largely unprotected, providing open access to any enemy with chemicals and biotoxins. So far we’ve been lucky. But now that luck may be running out… This is the all-too-real-and-present danger facing President Morgan Taylor and Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke as they try to prevent terrorists from destroying America and its infrastructure city by city, state by state. Fact-based in frightening detail, Executive Command is a political thriller that will leave you wondering the next time you pour a glass of water.   “Moving at break-neck speed and nothing short of sensational. Grossman is a master storyteller who sets you up and delivers. Executive Command is not just a great book, it’s a riveting experience!”—W.G. Griffiths, award-winning and bestselling author of Methuselah’s Pillar
    Show book
  • Veil of Lies - cover

    Veil of Lies

    Jeri Westerson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “A disgraced knight earns a meager living as a private inquiry agent in 1383 London” in a series debut that “will appeal to mystery and history fans alike” (Kirkus Reviews). 
     
    Accused of treason and stripped of his knighthood, Crispin Guest has survived on gritty streets of London by reinventing himself as The Tracker, an investigator for hire who can locate lost objects and uncover secrets. When the merchant Nicholas Walcote hires Guest to investigate his young wife Philippa for adultery, he discovers an underground world of danger and dirty dealings. Philippa is indeed hiding something—but she’s not the only one. Walcote himself is rumored to possess a holy relic so powerful that some would even kill for it. 
     
    To get to the truth about the mysterious Walcotes, Guest must contend with his nemesis, Sheriff Simon Wynchcombe, as be becomes entangled in a strange world of superstition, seduction, and murder. With vivid period detail and a complex, thrilling story, Veil of Lies was a finalist for the Macavity and Shamus awards.
    Show book
  • The Hunting Party - A Novel - cover

    The Hunting Party - A Novel

    Lucy Foley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    “My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best -- with an extra dose of acid.” -- Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient  
     
    Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect... 
    During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.  
    The trip begins innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps, just as a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world. 
    Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead. . . and another of them did it.  
    Keep your friends close, the old adage says. But how close is too close? 
    DON'T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 12
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book