Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Deepest Grave The - A Medieval Noir mystery - cover

Deepest Grave The - A Medieval Noir mystery

Jeri Westerson

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

London, 1392. Strange mischief is afoot at St Modwen’s Church. Are corpses stalking the graveyard at night, disturbing graves, and dragging coffins? When a fearful Father Bulthius begs Crispin Guest for his help, he agrees to investigate with his apprentice, Jack Tucker, intrigued by the horrific tales.Meanwhile, an urgent summons arrives from Crispin’s former love, Philippa Walcote. Her seven-year-old son, Christopher, has been accused of murder and of attempting to steal a family relic – the missing relic of St Modwen.

Who is behind the gruesome occurrences in the graveyard? Is Christopher guilty of murder? Crispin faces a desperate race against time to solve the strange goings-on at St Modwen’s and prove a child’s innocence.

Other books that might interest you

  • Tears of Angels The - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Tears of Angels The - A Scottish...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Past crimes cause new murder in this tense and twisting psychological thriller
    
    A few days before the summer solstice a 92-year-old woman is found burned to death in her home. On the same day, a man’s mutilated corpse is discovered in a field, his arms ripped from their sockets, a Tarot card depicting The Fool inserted in his mouth.
    
    When the victim is identified as someone for whom the police have been looking for almost a year, detectives Anderson and Costello find themselves caught up in a case where nothing is as it seems. Was the dead man really responsible for three child murders? And what is the connection with the death of the elderly woman?
    
    The investigation leads to the tranquil shores of Loch Lomond where Anderson and Costello will finally uncover the shocking truth.
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • A Tiding of Magpies - Birder Murder Mystery 5 - cover

    A Tiding of Magpies - Birder...

    Steve Burrows

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Birder Murder series opener A SIEGE OF BITTERNS won the Arthur Ellis Award and was shortlisted for the Kobo Emerging Writers Award
    The Birder Murder series is set in Britain’s prime birding country in Norfolk
    The fifth instalment of the popular Birder Murder series
    Show book
  • No Spoken Word - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    No Spoken Word - A Manchester...

    David Menon

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Why would a woman who runs a corner shop in South Manchester be shot dead in cold blood in apparently contract killing? Who could she have offended so much that they wanted her out of the way permanently? And what's happened to her partner? They're supposed to be inseperable but she hasn't been seen at all on the day of the killing and has disappeared.
    
     
    DSI Jeff Barton and his team, including newcomer Louisa Pilkington who joins as a civilian member but who holds a pretty big secret of her own, begin to unravel a complicated trail in pursuit of a killer who brings a touch of espionage and the Cold war into the investigation. More murders put the pressure on Jeff to find a way through and see what's really going on and apprehend a determined killer.
    Show book
  • Literature Help: Holes - cover

    Literature Help: Holes

    Students' Academy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The setting of the story is highly important. Camp Green Lake is located in Texas. The place is dry now but there used to be a lake in the past. It is not a green area because there is no lake now. The place does not have trees. The only two oak trees are there and they are owned by the Warden. 
    
    In 2003, the book was adapted as a movie and it was released in the same year by Walt Disney Pictures. The movie proved to be equally successful. 
    
    Literature Help: Holes 
    Copyright 
    Chapter One: Introduction 
    Chapter Two: Plot Overview 
    Chapter Three: Major Characters 
    Chapter Four: Complete Summary 
    Chapter Five: Critical Analysis
    Show book
  • The Quiet American - cover

    The Quiet American

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A “masterful . . . brilliantly constructed novel” of love and chaos in 1950s Vietnam (Zadie Smith, The Guardian).   It’s 1955 and British journalist Thomas Fowler has been in Vietnam for two years covering the insurgency against French colonial rule. But it’s not just a political tangle that’s kept him tethered to the country. There’s also his lover, Phuong, a young Vietnamese woman who clings to Fowler for protection. Then comes Alden Pyle, an idealistic American working in service of the CIA. Devotedly, disastrously patriotic, he believes neither communism nor colonialism is what’s best for Southeast Asia, but rather a “Third Force”: American democracy by any means necessary. His ideas of conquest include Phuong, to whom he promises a sweet life in the states. But as Pyle’s blind moral conviction wreaks havoc upon innocent lives, it’s ultimately his romantic compulsions that will play a role in his own undoing.   Although criticized upon publication as anti-American, Graham Greene’s “complex but compelling story of intrigue and counter-intrigue” would, in a few short years, prove prescient in its own condemnation of American interventionism (The New York Times).    
    Show book