Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Long Game - A Fixer Novel - cover

The Long Game - A Fixer Novel

Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

The Kendricks help make the problems of the Washington elite disappear. . . . but some secrets won't stay buried. 
 
For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets. 
 
Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can – and cannot – be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in Washington, but she's about to discover firsthand that power always comes with a price. 
 
Perfect for fans of Scandal, Harlan Coben, and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.  
 
Don't miss any of these other books by Jennifer Lynn Barnes:  
 
The Naturals 
The Naturals  
Killer Instinct 
All In 
Bad Blood  
Twelve  
 
Raised by Wolves:  
Raised by Wolves  
Taken by Storm 
Trial by Fire  
 
The Squad  
Perfect Cover 
Killer Spirit  
 
Tattoo: 
Tattoo 
Fate  
 
The Fixer 
Nobody 
Every Other Day  
Platinum 
Golden

Other books that might interest you

  • Tower of Dawn - cover

    Tower of Dawn

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 13
    • 1
    In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire. 
     
    Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken. 
     
    His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica--the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them. 
     
    But what they discover in Antica will change them both--and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 67
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • Piecing Me Together - cover

    Piecing Me Together

    Renée Watson

    • 7
    • 245
    • 0
    Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
    New York Times bestseller 
    "Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
    "Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
     
    Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
     
    Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
     
    NPR's Best Books of 2017 
    A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
    Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
    A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
    Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
    2018 Josette Frank Award Winner
    Show book
  • The Assassin and the Pirate Lord - A Throne of Glass Novella - cover

    The Assassin and the Pirate Lord...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 1
    • 0
    On a remote island in a tropical sea, Celaena Sardothien, feared assassin, has come for retribution. She's been sent by the Assassin's Guild to collect on a debt they are owed by the Lord of the Pirates.  But when Celaena learns that the agreed payment is not in money, but in slaves, her mission suddenly changes - and she will risk everything to right the wrong she's been sent to bring about.
    Show book
  • Limelight - cover

    Limelight

    Solli Raphael

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Limelight is a unique collection of slam poetry paired with inspirational writing techniques. With over 30 original poems in different forms, Raphael's work tackles current social concerns for his generation, such as sustainability and social equality, all while amplifying his uplifting message of hope. Solli’s book also contains 5 chapters on how to write and read poetry, how to manage stage fright and writer’s block, and encouraging tips on how we can all make tomorrow better than today.As a voice of his generation, and at a time when youth movements worldwide hold much importance, Raphael is taking on the world...one word at a time.The future needs you and meto create equalityacross all levelsof humanity-Solli
    Show book