Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Chief of Rally Tree - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Chief of Rally Tree

Jennifer Boyden

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Dina’s gone. She left a note, she left her plants, and she left what her husband, Roal, thought was her entire world. Nothing remained but some frozen dinners and the mysterious last line of her final message: I do love you ever Dina.

 

Professor Roal Bowman, best known in the sleepy college town of Braddock as a fake Zen master who used to pretend to be Native American and never lived up to his potential, by no means saw it coming. How could he have guessed that his wife would run away to help the famous Winter Patent, a man who had literally lived with wolves, on a grand project to embrace the consciousness of trees? He thought Dina had been happy. But the more Roal digs, the more he realizes that he never truly knew or understood his wife, that he never really listened, and that now that Dina has disappeared, he must become something more—something real—if he hopes to get her back. And he’ll have to do it quickly: he’s not the only one who wants to find Dina and Winter. 

 

The Chief of Rally Tree unfolds around Roal’s fumbling, poignant, darkly hilarious awakening to adventure and loss as he watches his life gain focus only once he understands how it might look on the evening news. Jennifer Boyden explores in poetic prose the essential questions about what identity is when it is open for collective definition, the effects of looking to media for structure and meaning, the pull toward eco-consciousness, and what our grand moment of action reveals about who we hope to become, even as we remain open to the surprise of how.

Other books that might interest you

  • An Ideal Husband - cover

    An Ideal Husband

    Oscar Wilde

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Wilde's dramatic masterpiece set in London. Many of the themes of An Ideal Husband were influenced by the situation Oscar Wilde found himself in during the early 1890s. 'Sooner or later we shall all have to pay for what we do. But no one should be entirely judged by their past.' The play opens during a dinner party at the home of Sir Robert Chiltern in London's fashionable Grosvenor Square. Sir Robert, a prestigious member of the House of Commons, and his wife, Lady Chiltern, are hosting a gathering that includes his friend Lord Goring, a dandified bachelor and close friend to the Chilterns, Mabel Chiltern, and other genteel guests.
    Show book
  • Blood on the Bayou - cover

    Blood on the Bayou

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this New Orleans–set mystery, the author of Cajun Nights “combines an insider’s knowledge with a real flair for making the reader’s skin crawl” (Booklist).   There’s a killer stalking the New Orleans French Quarter. Each victim is found in the same gruesome condition: the body bloodied by a gardening fork, and the throat torn out by . . . what exactly?   That’s the question on the minds of medical examiner Andy Broussard and his young partner, criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn. Broussard suspects the perpetrator isn’t human at all, but a monster of terrifying legend. Only when their investigation draws them deep into Bayou country do Broussard and Franklyn discover just how monstrous some humans can be . . .   With this second sharp-witted mystery in the series featuring Broussard and Franklyn, “it’s hard to beat [Donaldson’s] combination of cool science and explosive passion in the heart of humid Louisiana” (The Commercial Appeal, Memphis).
    Show book
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray - cover

    The Picture of Dorian Gray

    Oscar Wilde

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Dorian is a cultured, wealthy, and impossibly beautiful young man. He becomes a disciple of the new Hedonism and proposes to live a life dedicated to the pursuit of pleasure. Lord Henry gives Dorian a book that describes the wicked exploits of a nineteenth-century Frenchman; it becomes Dorian’s bible as he sinks ever deeper into a life of sin and corruption. Dorian’s reputation suffers in circles of polite London society, where rumours spread regarding his scandalous exploits. His peers nevertheless continue to accept him because he remains young and beautiful.
    Show book
  • Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop - A Novel - cover

    Christmas at Rosie Hopkins'...

    Jenny Colgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fans of Debbie Macomber and Jojo Moyes will love this warm, funny, moving holiday tale from the New York Times bestselling author of Christmas at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. 
    It’s a white Christmas in England, and Rosie Hopkins is feeling festive: Her sweetshop is festooned with striped candy canes, luscious chocolate boxes, and happy, sticky children, and she and her boyfriend are eagerly awaiting the arrival of their families. 
    But when a tragedy strikes at the heart of their charming town, all of Rosie's plans for the future seem to be blown apart. Can she and her loved ones see their way through the difficult times? 
    Sweet and soulful, heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is the perfect novel for the holidays (or any time of year).
    Show book
  • Just Where You Left It and Other Poems - cover

    Just Where You Left It and Other...

    David Roche

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Just Where You Left It... and other Poems is a collection of humorous poetry about how to survive school, parents and everything else that’s unfair in life.  
    From David Roche come these simple and charming rhymes designed to make parents and children alike fall in love with poetry again… or maybe for the first time. It all started with a poem about the agony of poetry recitation, written by David for his son. 
    In fact, all of these poems were written for his three sons, touching on everything they might encounter growing up: exams, school meals, bullying, sports days, embarrassing Dads and nagging and know-it-all Mums were fair game.  
    These are poems for parents, poems for children and poems for parents to read to their children, offering a witty and charming take on life for every stage of growing up. If you grew up in a world of Ogden Nash and Shel Silverstein, then this is the book for you.
    Show book
  • Choose Your Own Misery: The Holidays - The Holidays - cover

    Choose Your Own Misery: The...

    Mike MacDonald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    “Bah! Humbug! An ideal choice for holiday haters and readers who enjoy David Sedaris’s hysterically funny take, Holidays on Ice” (Library Journal).   From two alumni of The Onion, this is part of the hilarious series “for former Choose Your Own Adventure fans and devotees of dark, dark humor” (Publishers Weekly).   This is the year you’re going to do it: you’re going to avoid Christmas completely!   . . . or you were, until your island getaway got washed out by a hurricane. Now you have to choose: should you spend the holiday with your shrewish sister and her Europhile husband, or endure your new girlfriend’s family for a week? Help chop down a tree even though it might throw out your back, or endure the icy judgment of a woman who thinks only children and pussies help bake cookies? Jet off to the glamorous slums of Kingston, Jamaica, or accept the offer of a ride from a man who never stops smiling . . . and is probably going to turn you into a skin suit?   From the writers who brought you the hilarious parody Choose Your Own Misery: The Office comes a second helping of misery with a festive twist. Christmas is full of fun surprises for kids, but for adults, it’s just an endless series of aggressive crowds, overwhelming credit card debt, and pretending to like the people you’re forced to spend it with.   Once you unwrap all the holiday misery hiding in these pages, the blackness of your heart will rival any lump of coal.   “I played this book thirty times and the happiest ending I got was one where I got to eat turkey with a badly burned hand. Seems about right. Hilarious every time.” —Ryan North, New York Times–bestselling author of Romeo And/Or Juliet  
    Show book