Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The God Game - A Dan Sharp Mystery - cover

The God Game - A Dan Sharp Mystery

Jeffrey Round

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Private investigator Dan Sharp finds himself caught up in a political murder. 
 


When the husband of a Queen’s Park aide runs off to escape his gambling debts, private investigator Dan Sharp is hired to track him down. As the city’s political landscape verges on the bizarre — with a crack-using mayor and a major scandal looming — Dan finds himself pitted against a mysterious figure known for making or breaking the reputations of upcoming politicians. It’s not until a body turns up on his doorstep that Dan realizes he’s being punished for sticking his nose into dirty politics. It’s left to him to catch the killer and prove his own innocence.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Darker Shade of Sweden - Original Stories by Sweden's Greatest Crime Writers - cover

    A Darker Shade of Sweden -...

    Henning Mankell, Henning Nesser,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ever since Stieg Larsson shone a light on the brilliance of Swedish crime writing with his acclaimed and bestselling Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy, readers around the world have devoured fiction by some of the greatest masters of the genre. In this landmark and unique publication, Sweden’s most distinguished and best-loved crime writers have contributed stories to an anthology that promises to sate the desire to read about the dark side of Sweden.Containing seventeen stories, never before published in English, A Darker Shade of Sweden illuminates this beguiling country and its inhabitants as never before. Included are stories from such Swedish literary luminaries as:• Stieg Larsson• Henning Mankell• Åsa Larsson• Eva Gabrielsson
    Show book
  • Tears of Angels The - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Tears of Angels The - A Scottish...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Past crimes cause new murder in this tense and twisting psychological thriller
    
    A few days before the summer solstice a 92-year-old woman is found burned to death in her home. On the same day, a man’s mutilated corpse is discovered in a field, his arms ripped from their sockets, a Tarot card depicting The Fool inserted in his mouth.
    
    When the victim is identified as someone for whom the police have been looking for almost a year, detectives Anderson and Costello find themselves caught up in a case where nothing is as it seems. Was the dead man really responsible for three child murders? And what is the connection with the death of the elderly woman?
    
    The investigation leads to the tranquil shores of Loch Lomond where Anderson and Costello will finally uncover the shocking truth.
    Show book
  • The Planck Factor - cover

    The Planck Factor

    Debbi Mack

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    "Thoroughly intriguing! A real page-turner."— Zoë Sharp, author of the best-selling Charlie Fox series
     
    On a dare, grad student Jessica Evans writes a thriller, creating a nightmare scenario based upon the theory that the speed of light is not a constant—one that has a dark application. Her protagonist (the fiancé of a scientist killed in a car crash) is pursued by those who want to use the theory to create the world’s most powerful weapon.
     
    However, Jessica is soon running for her life when events mimic that of her protagonist. She’s threatened by terrorist conspirators who intend to use the knowledge to create an event that causes mass destruction—even threatens the global extinction of all life. As the clock ticks down, Jessica must outwit the enemies and avert an apocalypse.
     
    MORE REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS“Does art hold a mirror to life? Or does life mirror art? New York Times best-selling author Debbi Mack builds this surprising thriller layer upon layer with an ending that will make you want to read it all over again.” — Donna Fletcher Crow, author of An All-Consuming Fire, The Monastery Murders“Mack takes her reader on a roller-coaster ride with science, imagination, and a terrible possibility.” — Peg Brantley, author of the Aspen Falls Thriller series"[A] sleek tour-de-force exercise in Hitchcockian suspense about domestic terrorism, in which the McGuffin is a novel-within-the-novel and the novelist and her work intersect in unpredictable ways. Reality and fiction clash and spar for supremacy until the final paragraph."— W.D. Gagliani, author of Wolf's Blind (The Nick Lupo Series) and Savage Nights ABOUT THE AUTHOR
     
    Debbi Mack is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sam McRae Mystery Series. She's also published one young novel. In addition, she's a Derringer-nominated short story writer, whose work has been published in various anthologies.
     
    Debbi is also a screenwriter and aspiring indie filmmaker. Her first screenplay, The Enemy Within, made the Second Round in the 2014 Austin Film Festival screenplay contest and semifinals in the 2016 Scriptapalooza contest.
     
    A former attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies and espresso--not necessarily in that order.
    Show book
  • The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

    The Pallbearer - A Novel

    Jordan Farmer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
    The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
    Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
    The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.
    Show book
  • Hercule Poirot and the Greenshore Folly - cover

    Hercule Poirot and the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Never before published—the lost classic, unseen for sixty years! 
    A party game goes dead wrong in this ingenious mystery from the most beloved novelist of all time. Hercule Poirot, the world's favorite detective, has agreed to take part in a mock murder mystery in a charming English village—but when tragedy strikes, a different sort of game begins ... 
    In 1954, Agatha Christie wrote this novella with the intention of donating the proceeds to a fund set up to buy stained glass windows for her local church at Churston Ferrers, and she filled the story with references to local places, including her own home of Greenway. But, having completed it, she decided instead to expand the story into a full-length novel, Dead Man's Folly, which was published two years later, and donated a Miss Marple story (Greenshaw's Folly) to the church fund instead. 
    Unseen for sixty years, Hercule Poirot and the Greenshore Folly is finally published in this ebook-exclusive edition.
    Show book
  • The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery - cover

    The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery

    Bonnie C. Monte

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    Thirty-five-year-old Rae Sullivan owns a thriving home décor shop in the San Francisco Bay area, near majestic Mt. Tamalpais (to locals, The Sleeping Lady). But when her business partner, Thalia, confides that she has a lover in France, Rae’s comfortable life starts to unravel. Soon, an anonymous note-writer threatens to reveal the affair, and Thalia—who, unswayed by Rae’s warnings, insists on confronting the blackmailer—turns up dead in Golden Gate Park.
    
    The police, convinced the crime was a random mugging, are dismissive of Rae’s story of blackmail. Then a scandal from Rae’s past job comes to light, and the police start to eye her as a suspect. To clear her reputation and ensure justice for Thalia, Rae decides it’s up to her to unmask the murderer—despite her husband’s objections.
    
    Rae’s sleuthing leads her to France, where she enlists the help of Thalia’s handsome half brother. As they collaborate to catch the killer, sparks fly between them, and Rae has to contend with these newly aroused feelings—even as she strives to outmaneuver a cold-blooded murderer who wants to silence her.
    Show book