Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Your Lovely Small Face - An Algonquin E-Short - cover

Your Lovely Small Face - An Algonquin E-Short

Jeff Backhaus

Publisher: Algonquin Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“Your Lovely Small Face” is the story of an American who's just immigrated to Korea in a risky scheme to resurrect his shattered career, prepare a home for his wife and daughter (who have promised to follow as soon as he lays a suitable foundation), and help his wife launch her own entrepreneurial venture.The story is told through posts on a fictional Tumblr page, which the couple sets up to share their now-separate worlds. We watch as they communicate and miscommunicate with each other through their posts and photos, as they try to be honest about their lives but end up irresistibly manipulating their own experiences to get what they want.Author Jeff Backhaus wrote the story based on thirty-nine photos he assembled from the thousands he's taken around the world—thin slices of his past severed from his actual experience to create an illusion, a photofiction, a story. Includes a special preview of Backhaus's debut novel Hikikomori and the Rental Sister. 

Who read this book also read:

  • Employed by the Boss - Managing the Bosses Series #7 - cover

    Employed by the Boss - Managing...

    Lexy Timms

    • 1
    • 29
    • 0
    From Bestselling Author, Lexy Timms, comes a billionaire romance that'll make you swoon and fall in love all over again.  
     
    “We may fight and we may cry, but we’ll get back because you’re the reason I survive.”  
     
    The face of Reid Enterprises is slowly changing. Alex has always been at the forefront but now with a family, his priorities are changing. However, the change isn’t instant and along with it come challenges and complications.  
    Jamie and Alex try to focus on the positive, but eventually self-doubt bring on arguments and Jamie’s not sure how much their relationship can survive.  
     
    Alex's brother, Mark is leaving the company and moving on. He’s starting his own business and desperately wants a love like Jamie and Alex’s. However, nothing seems to come easy these days and jealousy can turn the most beautiful things ugly.  
     
    ** Employed by the Boss is book 7 in the Managing the Bosses series. **   
    Managing the Bosses Series:  
    The Boss  
    The Boss Too  
    Who's the Boss Now  
    * Gift for the Boss (Christmas Novella)  
    Love the Boss  
    I Do the Boss  
    Wife to the Boss  
    Employed by the Boss   
    Brother to the Boss  
    Senior Advisor to the Boss  
    Forever the Boss  
     
    This is steamy romance, NOT erotica.
    Show book
  • The Date - A Billionaire Matchmaker Novel - cover

    The Date - A Billionaire...

    Charlotte Byrd

    • 6
    • 26
    • 0
    When Chloe get her first wardrobe stylist job, she meets an arrogant and self-absorbed movie star, Finn Dalton. Finn is People’s Sexiest Man Alive and everyone thinks he’s a God, but Chloe doesn’t get it. He’s hot. His body looks like it had been chiseled from stone. But his attitude definitely needs an adjustment.  
     
    Finn is a famous and gorgeous playboy. He’s surrounded by women, but not the kind you can bring as a date to the Governor’s Ball. When he reaches out to Dolly Monroe, a billionaire matchmaker, she sets him up with the one girl who seems to be impervious to his charms.  
     
    Quickly, Chloe and Finn get locked in a game of seduction. But games of love are dangerous games to play…  
     
    This standalone novel contains a substantial excerpt of the first standalone novel in the series, Malibu Connection. Both are steamy books which follow two different couples.  
     
    This is a hot and steamy romance, which is ideal for fans of Sylvia Day, E. L. James, J.S. Cooper, and Lauren Blakely  
     
    This is a full-length novel with NO CLIFFHANGER and an HEA.  
     
    Show book
  • Seduced by a Marquis (Regency Unlaced 8) - Regency Unlaced #8 - cover

    Seduced by a Marquis (Regency...

    Carole Mortimer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Seduced by a Marquis is the 8th book in USA Today bestselling author, Carole Mortimer’s, Amazon #1 and highly acclaimed Regency Unlaced Series. 
     
    Author’s Note: The stories in the Regency Unlaced, Knight Security, and Alpha Series, have stronger sexual content and language than my other books. 
     
    Bella is tired of being forced into obeying her older brother’s dictates, but each time she tries to rebel he uses the one thing he knows will make her agree to do anything he asks of her. Her younger sister, Esther. 
     
    Lord Lysander Falkner has only been the Marquis of Trent for a matter of months, and already he’s grown tired and jaded, of Society and the over eager mamas and their daughters all trying to tempt him into marriage. When he meets Isabella Reynolds he believes she’s different, that he might finally have found a woman who isn’t only interested in his title and fortune. 
     
    Within a matter of days he discovers how mistaken he was. 
     
    When Bella finds herself actually betrothed to the handsome marquis, a man she is deeply attracted to but she knows has every reason to distrust her, her future looks bleaker than ever. 
     
    But someone doesn’t want to see the two of them married, and when an attempt is made on their lives the only people they can trust is each other. 
     
    Other books by Carole Mortimer
    Show book
  • Alone in the Darkness - The Chronicles of Kerrigan Prequel #5 - cover

    Alone in the Darkness - The...

    W.J. May

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Learn how it all began … before Rae Kerrigan. 
    The sins of the father are the sins of the son. 
    What did Rae’s father do that put fear in people’s eyes at the name Kerrigan?   
    Simon Kerrigan is standing at a crossroads. Torn between two paths. 
    The life of a Privy Council spy—complete with friends, white picket fences, and an undisclosed relationship with the girl he loves. Or another life. A life in untested waters, pushing the boundaries to see what lies beyond—no matter the cost. 
    While playing the role of a dutiful boyfriend and crazy-talented spy, Simon finds himself sinking ever deeper into the darkest part of his consciousness. What happens if you mix different kinds of tatùs? Why was it so wrong? What if he left the PCs? Who would stand by him? Who would join him in the inevitable fight? Could it be possible that such a little device could bring an entire county to its knees? 
    More importantly, who is this mysterious C? 
    In a twisted quest for knowledge and a growing obsession with the ‘ultimate power,’ he crosses one line after another. Until finally, he crosses so many, he has to ask himself the question… 
    …Can he ever go back? 
    The Chronicles of Kerrigan Prequel is the beginning of the story before Rae Kerrigan. Christmas Before the Magic is just the beginning (but not the end...)  Prequel Series: 
    Christmas Before the Magic 
    Question the Darkness 
    Into the Darkness 
    Fight the Darkness 
    Alone in the Darkness 
    Lost in the Darkness 
    The Chronicles of Kerrigan Series 
    Rae of Hope 
    Dark Nebula 
    House of Cards 
    Royal Tea 
    Under Fire 
    End in Sight 
    Hidden Darkness 
    Twisted Together 
    Mark of Fate 
    Strength & Power 
    Last One Standing 
    Rae of Light 
    CoK Sequel 
    A Matter of Time
    Show book
  • Knight of My Dreams - (Originally published under the title MOTHER MAY I? in the print anthology A MOTHER'S WAY) - cover

    Knight of My Dreams -...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    Originally appeared in the print anthology A Mother's Way, under the title "Mother May I?" 
    From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lynsay Sands comes a classic short story of a knight in need of a bride … 
    Lady Alice knows she is not the type to entice a man. She's too voluptuous, too intelligent, too strong minded. Why, she even reads! But then Jonathan, Earl of Fairley, arrives at court. Tall, dark and handsome, the knight is any woman's dream. And he has just been ordered by the king to find a bride … and Alice is to help him! 
    Jonathan has been evading his mother's matchmaking schemes for years, so why does she insist that Lady Alice isn't for him? Alice is only to aid in his search for a bride, yet Jonathan can't help but be distracted by her glorious hair—the color of a sunset—and a figure that is like a lush berry about to burst to full ripeness … Has Jonathan fallen prey to love?
    Show book
  • The Mountain of Love - cover

    The Mountain of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    When the Duke of Barningforde was told by his second son, Alastair, that he had married an actress in Paris without his approval, he exiled Alastair from England with only a very small allowance. His wife, Grace, actually came from a good Scottish family and was not an actress, but had a very fine soprano voice and sang with a famous French orchestra. But the Duke would not listen and Alastair and Grace never again set foot in their homeland. They were blessed with one beautiful daughter, Kayla, who is well educated thanks to Grace's efforts after Alastair's untimely death. Then Grace dies and Kayla, now eighteen, is left all alone in the world. At her mother's suggestion, she returns to England and throws herself on the mercy of her grandfather, the Duke. Grudgingly the Duke takes her in to Forde Hall and is permanently hostile towards her, but at least she has somewhere to live. Then, to score off his neighbour, the Earl of Rothwoode, the Duke arranges for Kayla at a moment's notice to marry his son, Christopher, the Viscount Roth. They do not meet until their wedding day and they both hate the marriage forced on them and inevitably dislike each other. To distance himself from his father, Christopher then sets out for Nepal with his new bride. How in that beautiful country, called 'the roof of the world', Kayla and Christopher find the key to everything they are both seeking in life is told in this unusual romance by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book