You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Substrate Wars - cover

The Substrate Wars

Jeb Kinnison

Publisher: Jeb Kinnison Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Graduate students discover instantaneous quantum gateways and use their discovery to rebel against the repressive security state the US has become. A fast-paced page-turner, with the world's governments trying to stop the rebels as they colonize a distant planet and use it as their base to change the world and open the universe to human colonization.  
 
"... Sci-fi series follows idealistic rebels who can manipulate reality using quantum portals... Kinnison bursts wide the scope of his continuously rewarding series in this latest entry. As in the previous novels, he challenges his characters to evolve morally as well as technologically; when Justin and Steve appear secretive about the discoveries on an alien ship, NASA astronaut Maddy Rahama reminds them why they fought the United States when she says, "I thought you guys were going to be the most transparent government ever." Keen sociological insights are crucial to the plot, as when Justin says, "Just because no one goes hungry, doesn't mean people stop envying and hating." The narrative, despite approaching war, proves riveting in the classic mold of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein's works, in which action never eclipses heart and intellect. A novel about a galactic threat that offers an addictive barrage of lofty ideas infused with soul. ~ Kirkus Reviews 
"Kinnison has crafted a futuristic world that touches on philosophical, moral, and ethical ramifications of survival... engaging and intriguing... a captivating entry in the series and a stellar piece of sci-fi."  ~ IndieReader.

Other books that might interest you

  • Starlight - A Starlight Chronicles Novella - cover

    Starlight - A Starlight...

    P. S. Malcolm

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A treaty upholds the peaceful lands of Ersarence— who have suffered from the spilt blood of their humble goddess, Titania, which stains the hands of the ruthless Urenphians.Julian Rancewood— a small town delivery boy— wishes he could afford to save his dying mother. He never imagined a larger life for himself until he meets Adrina Hesfetter, the village seamstress's daughter.After striking a deal with the elusive King's advisor and joining the royal army, he finds himself helping to search for a missing, unknown heir. Against all odds, Adrina and Julian soon meet again within the palace walls.When Julian discovers Adrina’s fire magic— an impossibility among non-royals— they uncover a scandalous secret that will cause whispers of a Urenphian rebellion to travel through the kingdom. A thirst for revenge and a passionate romance causes the two villagers to set the events in motion which will bring down the entire Starlight Kingdom.A Starlight Chronicles Novella.
    Show book
  • The Werewolf Queen - cover

    The Werewolf Queen

    Brandi Elledge

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    I always wished I had supernatural powers. Now I wish I didn’t.Sadie’s a dud, a failure–the only one in high school who doesn’t have any kind of supernatural powers. Her psychic bff, Jo, knows something about Sadie’s future, but just won’t tell. And what the heck is going on when one of her teachers starts looking at her while he’s going on about powerful lost keys, portals of madness, and destinies?Then it all starts.On her 18th birthday, Sadie starts to feel weird. And when werewolves, vampires, and demons all turn up to spoil her party, the weirdness really ramps up.Leaving her best friend, her family, and the only town she’s ever known, Sadie must find safety. But while the king of the werewolves can offer her somewhere to hide while she’s learning about her new powers, he can’t stop his psycho witch fiancée from finding new ways to try and kill her. Of course, the murderous tendencies of this psycho witch only get worse when she realises the Werewolf King is, um… attracted to Sadie.And all that’s before Sadie sets off to try and find one of the lost keys. Before she visits hell. Before she picks up a pet ogre.And before she realizes just how powerful she can become.But if it really is her destiny to collect one of the lost keys, will she be able control her newfound power and help save the world and all the people in it she loves? Or will she buckle under the pressure?She’s about to find out. A mansion surrounded by demons and full of vampires and witches intent on her destruction awaits. Oh, and that psycho-witch fiancée of the Werewolf King. What could possibly go wrong?
    Show book
  • The Legion Under the Hill - cover

    The Legion Under the Hill

    Sawyer Black

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Can a world-weary vet keep his small town together when aliens arrive?
     
    Richard Helms doesn’t believe he deserves to be happy. His new business, the Bottom of the Hill Bar and Grill, is booming. There’s even the possibility of a romance with the local veterinarian who helped him nurse his pet raccoon back to health. But for the 32-year-old war vet, permanently injured by a roadside bomb, all this success and happiness is too much. Richard just wants to see his friends happy and healthy without him.
     
    So when an alien invasion turns his small town of Hollow Hills, Ohio, into a hotbed of corruption and violence, Richard is sure this is the perfect time to go out in a blaze of glory.
     
    But nothing is that easy when aliens come calling.
     
    Legion Under the Hill is the first book in Sawyer Black’s new Legion series, set in the bestselling Invasion Universe. If you are looking for a grim, action-packed thrill ride reminiscent of Under the Dome and Alien Nation, you’ll love Legion Under the Hill. Pick up your copy today!
    Show book
  • Elemental Thief - cover

    Elemental Thief

    Rachel Morgan

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    She's a thief. He's the guy she just stole from. Now they'll have to work together.
     
    On an average night, seventeen-year-old Ridley uses her forbidden magic to steal from the wealthy and secretly give to those in need.But tonight, someone follows her home—and ends up murdered outside her apartment.The guy who happens to be too close to the scene?Archer Davenport, heir to the city's largest fortune.He's also the guy Ridley just stole from.Archer reveals a dangerous truth: the artifact Ridley stole from him contains secrets that could put many lives in danger.Which means Ridley has to get it back.And Archer doesn't trust her to do it alone.Together, they'll journey into the hidden parts of the city, searching for the artifact while Ridley tries to unravel the mystery of the murder.She's determined to find answers.Even if it means putting her own life at risk.A near-future city, forbidden magic, and plenty of secrets.Start reading today to get lost in a dystopian urban fantasy adventure!
     
    ~ ~ ~THE RIDLEY KAYNE CHRONICLES:Elemental Thief - out now!Elemental Power - out now!Elemental Heir - 2020
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    "OH MY GOSH THIS WAS SO GOOD!"~ Caitlin on Goodreads ★★★★★"A real page-turner, couldn't put it down."~ Lisa K. on Goodreads ★★★★★"... mesmerizing from the word go!"~ Angie T. on Goodreads ★★★★★"Spellbinding! I absolutely loved it!"~ Ashley M. on Goodreads ★★★★"Rachel Morgan is one of my auto-buy authors."~ Rachel on Goodreads ★★★★★
    Show book
  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 5
    • 23
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • Sands and Starlight - A Bejewelled Fairytale - cover

    Sands and Starlight - A...

    Charlotte E. English

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Distantly upon the horizon, bejewelled light shone like stars; tantalising, inviting.
     
    Then the palace-in-glass was gone, fading away into the velvet night like a snuffed lamp.
     
    Between the sands and the starlight, ancient powers rise, and the oldest of tales becomes new. 
     
    An old sorcerer travels the starlight bazaars: cursed and magic-blighted, he has glass where his heart should be.
     
    A half-jinni enchantress seeks her missing son: daughter of a fallen king, hers is a great and daunting power.
     
    A trio of camels walks the sands: loyal sisters in service, there is more to their past than meets the eye.  
     
    What unites these tales (and many more) is a marvel of sorcery and beauty: a great palace of ensorcelled glass, glimpsed only under the stars, and vanishing with the dawn...
     
    The third Wonder Tale from Charlotte E. English combines the magic and colour of ancient stories with her trademark wit and whimsy. A fresh journey into the strange lands of fairytales.
    Show book