Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
My Elusive Earl - cover

My Elusive Earl

Jean Hart Stewart

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Earl of Cade had given up the battle of his emotions. Travis had fought as hard as he was able and lost. He knew beyond doubt that Elizabeth would always be lodged in his heart. He'd made the decision to keep her near him but vowed she would never have the least inkling of how strongly he desired her. 
Never knowing when another painful health crisis would strike again, he reinforced the knowledge he could never marry. 
But Elizabeth has her eyes set on him. Will he be able to resist her charms?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Children of Lovely Lane - cover

    The Children of Lovely Lane

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. 
     
    The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. 
     
    St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. 
     
    The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. 
     
    Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. 
     
    Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! 
     
     What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 
     
    'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 
     
    'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 
     
    'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 
     
    'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
    Show book
  • In the Heart of the Garden - cover

    In the Heart of the Garden

    Leah Fleming

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Iris Bagshott strolls down the paths of her ancient garden, close to Lichfield in the heart of England, wondering if it is time to sell her house and land for development. 
     
    She is unaware that around every corner myriad family secrets from the past unfold. 
     
    From a Saxon clearing to a monastery, Tudor dwelling to the present day, this sacred plot has nurtured her ancestors. Generations of Bagshott women have found refuge and solace tending it through years of plague, civil war and beyond. 
     
    This is their story.
    Show book
  • War and Peace - cover

    War and Peace

    Leo Tolstoy

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Hailed as one of the greatest novels of all time and a classic of world literature, War and Peace is a tale of strivers in a world fraught with conflict, social and political change, and spiritual confusion, Tolstoy's magnificent work continues to entertain, enlighten, and inspire readers around the world. Both an intimate study of individual passions and an epic history of Russia and its people, 'War and Peace' is nothing more or less than a complete portrait of human existence.
    Among its many unforgettable characters is Prince Andrey Bolkonsky, a proud, dashing man who, despising the artifice of high society, joins the army to achieve glory. Badly wounded at Austerlitz, he begins to discover the emptiness of everything to which he has devoted himself. His death scene is considered one of the greatest passages in Russian literature. Terror swiftly engulfs the country as Napoleon's army marches on Russia, and the lives of three young people are changed forever. The stories of quixotic Pierre, cynical Andrey and impetuous Natasha interweave with a huge cast, from aristocrats and peasants, to soldiers and Napoleon himself. In War and Peace (1868-9), Tolstoy entwines grand themes—conflict and love, birth and death, free will and fate.
    Show book
  • The Lady Chapel - The Owen Archer Series - Book Two - cover

    The Lady Chapel - The Owen...

    Candace Robb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A lovingly detailed background informs and animates the plot at every point.” —KIRKUS
    
    Perfect for fans of both Ellis Peters and CJ Sansom, THE LADY CHAPEL is a vivid and immersive portrait of court intrigue and a testament to the power of the medieval guilds.
     
    Summer in the year of our Lord 1365. On the night after the Corpus Christi procession, a man is brutally murdered on the steps of York Minster. The next morning his severed hand is found in a room at the York Tavern—a room hastily vacated by a fellow guild member who had quarreled with the victim. 
    
    Archbishop Thoresby calls on Owen Archer to investigate. As Owen tracks the fleeing merchant, he uncovers a conspiracy involving a powerful company of traders, but his only witness is a young boy who has gone into hiding, and his only suspect is a mysterious cloaked woman. When Owen discovers a link between the traders and a powerful coterie in the royal court, he brings his apothecary wife Lucie into the race to find the boy before he is silenced forever by the murderers.
    Show book
  • The Duke and the Lady in Red - cover

    The Duke and the Lady in Red

    Lorraine Heath

    • 5
    • 60
    • 0
    Sparks fly in the finale of the Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James Place series, as the last wicked rogue meets his match. 
    When Rosalind Sharpe gains the attention of the deliciously wicked Duke of Avendale, she’s torn between her distracting attraction to the notorious rogue and the knowledge that he—rich as Croesus—is the perfect target for a deception that will put her swindling days behind her. 
    However, Avendale is no fool. After he discovers the tantalizing lady packing up to leave London with his coins in tow, he confronts her with a scandalous proposition: she can have all the money she requires…for a week in his bed. 
    Desperate for the funds, Rose agrees, but on one condition: he must never question her motives. Avendale quickly sees beneath her mask and discovers she is more than passion and pleasure—she is everything he has ever desired. But claiming her requires he unveil her secrets and lose her forever. Unless he can put his own dark past aside and risk everything for a chance at love.
    Show book
  • In the Shadow of Wolves - cover

    In the Shadow of Wolves

    Alvydas Šlepikas

    • 0
    • 6
    • 1
    The Second World War is drawing to a close, but the world is far from safe. Left to fend for themselves, women and children are forced out of their homes in East Prussia to make way for the advancing victors. As the Russian soldiers arrive, the women know that they are still very much in danger, and that for them, the fight for survival is only just beginning.
    
    Facing critical food shortages and the onset of a bitter cold winter without heat, the women send their children into the nearby forests where they secretly cross the border into Lithuania, begging the local farmers for work or food to take back home to their waiting families. Along the way the children find cruelty, hardship and violence, but also kindness, hope, and the promise of a new and better future.
    
    Based on meticulous research, this stunning and powerful debut novel by Alvydas Slepikas tells for the first time the story of the ‘wolf children’ and the measures many families were forced to take in order to survive.
    Show book