Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Red Collar - A Novel - cover

The Red Collar - A Novel

Jean-Christophe Rufin

Publisher: Europa Editions

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“A beautifully memorable and unusual story about war and what it does to us” from the bestselling author and founder of Doctors Without Borders (The Independent). 
 
In 1919, in a small town in the province of Berry, France, under the crushing heat of summer, a war hero is being held prisoner in an abandoned barracks. In front of the door to his prison, a mangy dog barks night and day. Miles from where he is being held, in the French countryside, a young extraordinarily intelligent woman works the land, waiting and hoping. A judge whose principles have been sorely shaken by the war is traveling to an unknown location to sort out certain affairs of which it is better not to speak. 
 
Three characters. In their midst, a dog who holds the key both to their destinies and to this intriguing plot. 
 
Full of poetry and life, The Red Collar is at once a delightfully simple narrative about the human spirit and a profound work about loyalty and love. 
 
“A superbly crafted little gem that does everything a novel can do in less than 150 pages . . . It’s a lucky reader who gets to experience the power of The Red Collar.” —Shelf Awareness 
 
“A graceful, unpretentious little miracle, a morality play of immense skill.” —The Irish Times 
 
“In The Red Collar, a delicate and poetic novel, Rufin examines that which makes us human.” —L’express (France) 
 
“Without special effects, with simplicity and the pure pleasure of telling a story, Jean-Christophe Rufin explores the meaning of faithfulness, loyalty, and honor.” —Le Figaro (France)
Available since: 07/21/2015.
Print length: 160 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blame - A Completely Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    Blame - A Completely Gripping...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A compelling exploration of the human psyche . . . stands out as an excellent piece of psychological fiction” from the bestselling author of #MeToo (Book Rant Reviews).What if the past came knocking? Frankie is running away from her past and the repercussions of a night that changed her life forever. Hoping for a fresh start she unexpectedly falls in love. Unbeknown to Frankie, the wheels of fate are set in motion when Herbert Dunne, a convicted murderer, is released from prison. When he moves in with Margaret, a woman he has formed an unlikely relationship with, their dark sides gradually emerge allowing their inner demons to blossom. News of Herbert’s release once again rocks the small village of Elkdale, as the locals remember the young woman he murdered. But what is Herbert hoping to achieve by stirring up the past? And who is behind the new spate of murders? One thing is clear—someone is out for revenge. Someone who thinks Frankie and her friends are to blame . . .“With settings I could get lost in, characters that inspired even my dark little heart and the thrill of bad meeting bad, I thoroughly recommend this.” —Melanie’s Reads
    Show book
  • The Settlers - cover

    The Settlers

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A RAW LAND DRENCHED IN BLOOD, PASSION, AND DREAMS...
    
    The third book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    England sends convicts to Australia, but among them, there are hard-working men and women who wish to create a new life for themselves. The same desire is shared by those who are free — but it will be a gruelling fight for survival.
    And the strong, young, and stubborn Jenny Taggart does not give up ...
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • 34 Days - cover

    34 Days

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An abused woman decides to escape her marriage—and learns how much a life can change in just thirty-four days—in this taut psychological thriller.Anna and Ray have been married for thirty-five years. Their three children are grown; they have grandkids; and to outsiders they appear to be a normal couple. But behind closed doors, something isn’t right. On the day of their wedding anniversary, Anna makes a decision that changes everything and throws her family into turmoil. But as she browses online for a place of her own in Sheffield, England, she doesn’t know that she isn’t the only one who has suffered—and by leaving Ray, she will spark a series of events so awful that they might just end in murder…
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes - Further Extraordinary Tales of the Famous Sleuth - cover

    The Return of Sherlock Holmes -...

    Maxim Jakubowski

    • 1
    • 12
    • 1
    Fifteen brand-new stories about the British super sleuth by an assortment of talented tale-tellers!   Sherlock Holmes and Watson have been household names for generations. In this new anthology from Maxim Jakubowski, you can read all about the dynamic duo in a new light and revisit the legacy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. From brand new stories to deeper looks into famous Sherlock Holmes cases, fans have a new chance to delve into the world of Holmes, Watson, and their crime-solving capers.   “One highlight is Paul A. Freeman’s imaginative ‘Sherlock Holmes and a Case of Humbug,’ in which the detective doubts Ebenezer Scrooge’s change of heart resulted from ghostly visitations and uncovers a violent crime. Another is Eric Brown’s eerie ‘The Curse of Carmody Grange,’ in which Holmes investigates a disappearance from a sealed room attributed to a centuries-old curse.” —Publishers Weekly   “I have been a fan of Maxim Jakubowski for years. There just is no finer mystery writer and editor anywhere.” ―Alexander Algren, author of Out in a Flash: Murder Mystery Flash Fiction
    Show book
  • Angel - cover

    Angel

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The sequel to Beautiful from the bestselling author of the Kat and Mouse Murder Mysteries. “A thriller so compelling that it takes your breath away.” —Betsy Reavley, bestselling author of Broken   What if your mother was murdered? And what if the man who murdered her took your daughter from you the day she was born? This is Lauren’s life. A life plagued by the existence of one man.   For as long as she can remember, the shadow of Ronald Treverick has cast over everything Lauren holds dear. She doesn’t know if she’ll ever get her daughter back, or if Treverick will triumph and destroy her family—one person at a time . . .   “Chilling . . .  these psychological exposés are a strength of Waller’s writing. Another strength is the author’s depiction of Cornwall.” —Crime Fiction Lover  Praise for Beautiful   “A remarkable debut that fills the void after Gone Girl.” —Betsy Reavley, bestselling author of Broken   “In a year that has seen a few great psychological thrillers published, Beautiful is a standout because of its compelling simplicity.” —Crime Fiction Lover   “You’ll be left thinking about this book long after you finish it.” —Florrie Palmer, songwriter and author of The Decoy
    Show book