Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Animalia - A Novel - cover

Animalia - A Novel

Jean-Baptiste Del Amo

Translator Frank Wynne

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Animalia epitomizes a new literary naturalism, reading like a classic French epic in the tradition of Balzac and Zola. Set in southwestern France and written in relentless, sometimes brutal prose, the novel is an expansive story of five generations of pig farmers who battle forces both natural and familial. Animalia's blistering prose and unflinching treatment of his subject matter will resonate with readers of Cormac McCarthy and László Krasznahorkai, while its moments of profound beauty and sublimity recalls writers like Marilynne Robinson. Del Amo is one of the most prominent public voices on vegetarianism, veganism, and animal rights in France, and takes the brutality of the meat industry to task in Animalia, especially in the latter half of the novel set in the 1980s. Del Amo's stridently progressive views on the topic are at odds with his country’s more traditional general opinion, which offers a fascinating possible subject for written features and radio. The highly regarded UK publisher Fitzcarraldo Editions will be publishing Animalia as one of its lead titles in March 2019. They expect major review attention and are hoping for award shortlists, hopefully mimicking the success of such writers as Svetlana Alexievich and Olga Tokarczuk. Del Amo is a rising star in France; he won the Goncourt First Novel Prize in 2009 for his book Une éducation libertine. His books have been recently published or are forthcoming in German, Italian, Spanish, and Romanian, but Animalia is his first work to appear in English. Del Amo would be an ideal subject for a profile. He lives in the French countryside where he runs a small animal refuge. His political engagement recalls writers like Édouard Louis and Valeria Luiselli. We will be reaching out to major writers for blurbs, such as Ali Smith, J. M. Coetzee, and Lydia Davis, as well as well-known vegetarian writers, including Jonathan Safran Foer. It is possible that Del Amo will come to the United States in the fall for the annual Festival Albertine. Animalia was the recipient of the prestigious Prix du Livre Inter in 2017, as well as three other major French prizes. The novel is translated by celebrated translator Frank Wynne, two-time winner of the Scott Moncrieff Translation Prize. His translations have won awards including the IMPAC and Independent foreign fiction prize and have been shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize. “Is there a more gifted or versatile translator working today?” asked Parul Sehgal in her recent New York Times review of Javier Cercas’s The Impostor.

Other books that might interest you

  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - A gripping escapist thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Richard & Judy pick Dark Winter - cover

    Into the Woods - A gripping...

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    If you go into the woods, you're in for a dark surprise. 
     
    Thirty years ago, three girls followed a stranger into the woods. Only two returned. The surviving pair have never been able to remember what happened or what the fate of the third girl was. Local rumours talk of hippies and drugs and mystic rituals, but no one has learned the truth.
     
    This story is just what Rowan Blake needs. He's in debt, his journalistic career is in tatters – as well as his damaged body – and he's retreated to the Lake District to write. Yet even Rowan isn't prepared for the evil he is about to unearth, for the secrets that have been buried in that wood for far too long...
     
    Praise for David Mark: 
     
    'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' DAILY MAIL
     
    'Breathtaking' PETER MAY
     
    'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' PETER JAMES
     
    'Brilliantly written – a cracking story' RICHARD MADELEY, Richard and Judy Book Club
     
    'To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting. Beautifully crafted, filled with flashbacks, horror, angst, and chilling detail' KIRKUS REVIEWS
     
    'Exceptional ... Mark is writing at the top of his game' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review
     
    'A master of the dark psychological thriller' KIRKUS
    Show book
  • Pinky and the Beast - cover

    Pinky and the Beast

    Ana Alexander

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Sophie :
    Being an assistant is easy. You have to be organized (I mostly am), have lots of patience (they should make me the poster girl for it), and the ability to smile even when you want to cry (the smiley face emoji is my spirit animal). Being star linebacker Max Kingston`s super-secret assistant/sobriety companion? Not so easy when I also happen to have a major crush on him.
    
    Max :
    
    I have a crazy person living in my house, and I can`t get her out. An unfortunate problem regarding pain medicine has landed me in the position of having to endure living with a pink-haired,yoga-loving, hippie odd-ball. The worse part? I`m starting to like her a little too much. She`s not my type, but I keep forgetting that.
    Send help!
    Show book
  • Shadowborn - cover

    Shadowborn

    Katie MacAlister

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The New York Times–bestselling author of Fireborn and Starborn returns to a magical fantasy realm where warriors of the light fight for everlasting peace.   Liberated from exile, the brutal god Nezu is leveling his vengeful wrath against the blessed lands of Alba, and only three heroes stand a chance of stopping him. Fireborn Allegria, with her ability to harness the power of light; her Starborn lover, Hallow, who leads the society of mages; and Deo, a warrior born of both worlds . . .   But the circle of friendship is broken when Allegria is imprisoned in the spirit world of the Thane. Surrounded by long dead warriors bent on revenge, Allegria is losing her grasp on the mortal realm. Now she must fight to hold on to the memories she has left—and the hope that help is coming from a world away.   The ultimate battle between good and evil is breaking, and Hallow and Deo need Allegria to win it. But even then, how can they achieve the impossible? For it’s not just one destructive god they must face, but also his creator. Only an arcane prophecy and the untried power of their joined magics can save the Fourth Age.
    Show book
  • Conan - cover

    Conan

    Robert E. Howard

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    "Know, oh prince, that between the years when the oceans drank Atlantis and the gleaming cities, and the years of the rise of the Sons of Aryas, there was an Age undreamed of, when shining kingdoms lay spread across the world like blue mantles beneath the stars—Nemedia, Ophir, Brythunia, Hyperborea, Zamora with its dark-haired women and towers of spider-haunted mystery, Zingara with its chivalry, Koth that bordered on the pastoral lands of Shem, Stygia with its shadow-guarded tombs, Hyrkania whose riders wore steel and silk and gold. But the proudest kingdom of the world was Aquilonia, reigning supreme in the dreaming west. Hither came Conan, the Cimmerian, black-haired, sullen- eyed,sword in hand, a thief, a reaver, a slayer, with gigantic melancholies and gigantic mirth, to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet."
    The complete Robert E. Howard's Conan in a new omnibus edition that includes:
    The Frost Giant's Daughter
    The Tower of The Elephant
    The God in The Bowl
    Rogues in The House
    Queen of The Black Coast
    The Vale of Lost Women
    Black Colossus
    Shadows in The Moonlight
    A Witch Shall Be Born
    Shadows in Zamboula
    Xuthal Of the Dusk
    The Devil in Iron
    The People of The Black Circle
    The Black Stranger
    The Pool of The Black One
    Red Nails
    Jewels of Gwahlur
    Beyond the Black River
    The Phoenix on the Sword
    The Scarlet Citadel
    The Hour of the Dragon
    Synopsis, Drafts and Unfinished Stories
    The Hyborian Age
    Show book
  • Show Me A Mountain - cover

    Show Me A Mountain

    Kerry Young

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A story of revolution and oppression, privilege and poverty, love and betrayal from the critically acclaimed author of Pao 
     
    Fay Wong is caught between worlds. Her father is a Chinese immigrant who conjured a fortune from nothing; her African heritage mother grew up on a plantation and now reigns over their mansion in Lady Musgrave Road. 
     
    But her father's Chinatown haunts are out of bounds and the airy rooms of their home are filled with her mother's uncontrollable rages – rages against which Fay rebels as she grows into a headstrong woman. 
     
    As she tries to escape the restraints of her privileged upbringing, Fay's eyes are opened to a Jamaica she was never meant to see. And when her mother decides that she must marry the racketeer Yang Pao, she finds herself on a journey that will lead to sacrifice and betrayal.
    Show book