As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Animalia - A Novel - cover

Animalia - A Novel

Jean-Baptiste Del Amo

Translator Frank Wynne

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Animalia epitomizes a new literary naturalism, reading like a classic French epic in the tradition of Balzac and Zola. Set in southwestern France and written in relentless, sometimes brutal prose, the novel is an expansive story of five generations of pig farmers who battle forces both natural and familial. Animalia's blistering prose and unflinching treatment of his subject matter will resonate with readers of Cormac McCarthy and László Krasznahorkai, while its moments of profound beauty and sublimity recalls writers like Marilynne Robinson. Del Amo is one of the most prominent public voices on vegetarianism, veganism, and animal rights in France, and takes the brutality of the meat industry to task in Animalia, especially in the latter half of the novel set in the 1980s. Del Amo's stridently progressive views on the topic are at odds with his country’s more traditional general opinion, which offers a fascinating possible subject for written features and radio. The highly regarded UK publisher Fitzcarraldo Editions will be publishing Animalia as one of its lead titles in March 2019. They expect major review attention and are hoping for award shortlists, hopefully mimicking the success of such writers as Svetlana Alexievich and Olga Tokarczuk. Del Amo is a rising star in France; he won the Goncourt First Novel Prize in 2009 for his book Une éducation libertine. His books have been recently published or are forthcoming in German, Italian, Spanish, and Romanian, but Animalia is his first work to appear in English. Del Amo would be an ideal subject for a profile. He lives in the French countryside where he runs a small animal refuge. His political engagement recalls writers like Édouard Louis and Valeria Luiselli. We will be reaching out to major writers for blurbs, such as Ali Smith, J. M. Coetzee, and Lydia Davis, as well as well-known vegetarian writers, including Jonathan Safran Foer. It is possible that Del Amo will come to the United States in the fall for the annual Festival Albertine. Animalia was the recipient of the prestigious Prix du Livre Inter in 2017, as well as three other major French prizes. The novel is translated by celebrated translator Frank Wynne, two-time winner of the Scott Moncrieff Translation Prize. His translations have won awards including the IMPAC and Independent foreign fiction prize and have been shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize. “Is there a more gifted or versatile translator working today?” asked Parul Sehgal in her recent New York Times review of Javier Cercas’s The Impostor.

Other books that might interest you

  • Lost in the City - cover

    Lost in the City

    Edward P. Jones

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Original and arresting….[Jones’s] stories will touch chords of empathy and recognition in all readers.”—Washington Post 
     “These 14 stories of African-American life…affirm humanity as only good literature can.” —Los Angeles Times 
    A magnificent collection of short fiction focusing on the lives of African-American men and women in Washington, D.C., Lost in the City is the book that first brought author Edward P. Jones to national attention. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and numerous other honors for his novel The Known World, Jones made his literary debut with these powerful tales of ordinary people who live in the shadows in this metropolis of great monuments and rich history. Lost in the City received the Pen/Hemingway Award for Best First Fiction and was a National Book Award Finalist. This beautiful 20th Anniversary Edition features a new introduction by the author, and is a wonderful companion piece to Jones’s masterful novel and his second acclaimed collection of stories, All Aunt Hagar’s Children.
    Show book
  • Night Theater - A Novel - cover

    Night Theater - A Novel

    Vikram Paralkar

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A surgeon must bring a dead family back to life in this fabulist debut novel set in rural India, called “otherworldly” and “a haunting contemplation of life, death, the liminal space in between, and the dogged search for resurrection” (Kirkus Reviews, starred). 
    Fleeing scandal in the city, a surgeon accepts a job at a village clinic. He buys antibiotics out of pocket, squashes roaches, and chafes at the interventions of the corrupt officer who oversees his work. 
    But his outlook on life changes one night when a teacher, his pregnant wife, and their young son appear. Killed in a violent robbery, they tell the surgeon that they have been offered a second chance at living if the surgeon can mend their wounds before sunrise. 
    So begins a night of quiet work, “as if the crickets had been bribed,” during which the surgeon realizes his future is tied more closely to that of the dead family than he could have imagined. By dawn, he and his assistant have gained knowledge no mortal should have. 
    In this inventive novel charged with philosophical gravity and sly humor, Vikram Paralkar takes on the practice of medicine in a time when the right to health care is frequently challenged. Engaging earthly injustice and imaginaries of the afterlife, he asks how we might navigate corrupt institutions to find a moral center. Encompassing social criticism and magically unreal drama, Night Theater is a first novel as satisfying for its existential inquiry as for its enthralling story of a skeptical physician who arrives at a greater understanding of life's miracles.
    Show book
  • The Empty Throne - A Novel - cover

    The Empty Throne - A Novel

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 16
    • 0
    The eighth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s New York Times bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit television series. 
    Britain, early tenth century AD: a time of change. There are new raids by the Vikings from Ireland and turmoil among the Saxons over the leadership of Mercia. A younger generation is taking over.  
    Æthelred, the ruler of Mercia, is dying, leaving no legitimate heir. The West Saxons want their king, but Uhtred has long supported Æthelflaed, sister to King Edward of Wessex and widow of Æthelred. Widely loved and respected, Æthelflaed has all the makings of a leader—but could Saxon warriors ever accept a woman as their ruler? The stage is set for rivals to fight for the empty throne.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes - cover

    Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, ‘one of the great creations of detective fiction’ (Alexander McCall Smith), investigates a highway robbery and finds himself unexpectedly enmeshed in a world of espionage and intrigue in this classic mystery – with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
    
    When an American visitor to India is killed on the lonely, dusty road between Poona and Bombay, it seems like a classic case of highway robbery. But what Inspector Ghote of the Bombay CID learns from the victim’s brother – the distinguished hydrology professor, Gregory Strongbow – soon makes him suspect that everything is not as it first appeared.
    
    Professor Strongbow is convinced that his brother, a prominent member of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, was assassinated – and Inspector Ghote is inclined to agree. But convincing his boss, the irritable Deputy Superintendent Samant, is only his first challenge, in a case that quickly enmeshes the good detective in a world of espionage and intrigue. Soon, Ghote finds his own life in danger, as he is faced with a conspiracy that reaches to the very highest level of Indian politics . . .
    Show book
  • By Invitation Only - A Novel - cover

    By Invitation Only - A Novel

    Dorothea Benton Frank

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    “If I could only read one writer from now until the end of my life, it would be Dorothea Benton Frank.” --Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of The Identicals  
    The Lowcountry of South Carolina is where By Invitation Only begins at a barbecue engagement party thrown by Diane English Stiftel, her brother Floyd, and her parents to celebrate her son’s engagement. On this gorgeous, magical night, the bride’s father, Alejandro Cambria, a wealthy power broker whose unbelievably successful career in private equity made him one of Chicago’s celebrated elite, discovers the limits and possibilities of cell phone range. While the mother of the bride, Susan Kennedy Cambria, who dabbles in the world of public relations and believes herself deserving of every square inch of her multimillion-dollar penthouse and imaginary carrara marble pedestal, learns about moonshine and dangerous liaisons. 
    Soon By Invitation Only zooms to Chicago, where the unraveling accelerates. Nearly a thousand miles away from her comfortable, familiar world, Diane is the antithesis of the bright lights and super-sophisticated guests attending her son Fred’s second engagement party. Why a second party? Maybe it had been assumed that the first one wouldn’t be up to snuff? Fred is marrying Shelby Cambria, also an only child. The Cambrias’ dearest wish is for their daughter to be happy. If Shelby wants to marry Frederick, aka Fred, they will not stand in her way—although Susan does hope her friends won’t think her daughter is marrying more than a few degrees beneath her socially. At the same time, Diane worries that her son will be lost to her forever. 
    By Invitation Only is a tale of two families, one struggling to do well, one well to do, and one young couple—the privileged daughter of Chicago’s crème de la crème and the son of hard -working Southern peach farmers. 
    Dorothea Benton Frank offers a funny, sharp, and deeply empathetic novel of two very different worlds—of limousines and pickup trucks, caviars and pigs, skyscrapers and ocean spray—filled with a delightful cast of characters who all have something to hide and a lot to learn. A difference in legal opinions, a headlong dive from grace, and an abrupt twist will reveal the truth of who they are and demonstrate, when it truly counts, what kind of grit they have. Are they living the life they want, what regrets do they hold, and how would they remake their lives if they were given the invitation to do so? 
    By Invitation Only is classic Dorothea Benton Frank—a mesmerizing Lowcountry Tale that roars with spirit, humor, and truth, and forces us to reconsider our notions of what it means to be a Have or a Have Not.
    Show book
  • Lost Girls - Short Stories - cover

    Lost Girls - Short Stories

    Ellen Birkett Morris

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    Lost Girls explores the experiences of women and girls as they grieve, find love, face uncertainty, take a stand, find their future, and say goodbye to the past. A young woman creates a ritual to celebrate the life of a kidnapped girl, an unmarried woman wanders into a breast feeder’s support group and stays, a grieving mother finds solace in an unlikely place, a young girl discovers more than she bargained for when she spies on her neighbors. Though they may seem lost, each finds their center as they confront the challenges and expectations of womanhood.
    Show book