Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Where the Ice Falls - The Falls Mysteries - cover

Where the Ice Falls - The Falls Mysteries

J.E. Barnard

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a reluctant psychic finds a frozen intern at her boss’s ski-chalet, a sceptical ex-cop braves the winter wilderness to hunt the killer.
Sleuth Lacey McCrae suffers from PTSD from her RCMP career and is recovering from her marriage to an abusive ex-husband
Lacey and close friend Dee struggle when Dee’s terminally ill mother applies for medically assisted dying
Author has a background in psychology, including PTSD education and volunteering with abused women

Other books that might interest you

  • The Pupil - An unforgettable psychological thriller with a shocking twist perfect for summer reading - cover

    The Pupil - An unforgettable...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One moment of carelessness. Four shattered lives. A chance for revenge. 
     
    Viola Matthews is sure she's met Katherine Baxter before. So when her husband Samuel Morton introduces Viola to the quiet, unassuming woman he has offered to mentor, she vows to discover the truth and why exactly she can't remember their meeting. 
     
    As their worlds collide and the bond between Samuel and Katherine deepens, Viola realises she must take control. As memories begin to filter back and the tension in her relationship rises, Viola begins to piece together the truth and Katherine needs to pay for what happened twelve years ago... 
     
    Perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Mother in Law, Mel Sherratt and Claire Allan.
    Show book
  • Beneath the Ashes - cover

    Beneath the Ashes

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “carefully executed police procedural, that hits all the targets” from the bestselling author of Before It’s Too Late and The Lies Within (Angela Clarke, author of On My Life).  The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.  When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate. Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house had been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realizes that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret. Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim? “I thought I’d never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A sharp, gripping read which drew me in from the first page. With engaging characters and an impressive level of authenticity, this is a police procedural that you won’t be able to put down.”—Caroline Mitchell, author of Silent Victim  “If you like pacy convincing police procedurals this is one for you.”—Kate Ellis, author of the DI Wesley Peterson crime series
    Show book
  • House of the Patriarch The - cover

    House of the Patriarch The

    Barbara Hambly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    No one can talk to the dead . . . can they? Free man of color Benjamin January gets caught up in a strange, spiritual world that might lead to his own demise, as he hunts for a missing teenager in this gripping, atmospheric historical mystery.
    New Orleans, 1840. Freshly home from a dangerous journey, that last thing Benjamin January wants to do is leave his wife and young sons again. But when old friends Henri and Chloe Viellard ask for his help tracking down a missing girl in distant New York, he can't say no. 
    Three weeks ago, seventeen-year-old Eve Russell boarded a steam-boat - and never got off it. Mrs Russell is adamant Eve's been kidnapped, but how could someone remove a teenager from a crowded deck in broad daylight? And why would anyone target Eve?
    The answer lies in New York, a hotbed of new religions and beliefs, of human circuses and freak shows . . . and of blackbirders, who'll use any opportunity to kidnap a free man of color and sell him into slavery. January's determined to uncover the truth, but will he ever be able to return to New Orleans to share it?
    Show book
  • Damaged Goods - cover

    Damaged Goods

    Debbi Mack

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A Marine veteran may have survived combat, but can she survive this case?
     
    Unlicensed private eye Erica Jensen works as a “researcher” who performs background checks, conducts surveillance, and takes on other dubious assignments while battling post-traumatic stress and an opioid addiction. When a wealthy man hires her to find his missing daughter, Erica ends up with more work than she bargained for: a murder victim and unwanted attention from the killers.
     
    While seeking the daughter, Erica uncovers evidence that raises questions about the dead man. Did the missing daughter know him? Did the victim have ties to an artifacts smuggling ring? Erica’s search for answers puts her in the crosshairs of people who kill to keep secrets.
     
    PRAISE FOR THE BOOK
     
    “Debbi Mack’s novella, Damaged Goods, is a fulfilling and exciting read and proof that the novella is alive and well. Highly recommended.”— David Swinson, author of The Second Girl and Trigger
     
    "Pitch perfect pace and plot with a well-drawn protagonist."— M. Ruth Myers, Shamus Award winning author of the Maggie Sullivan mystery series
     
    “Marine veteran turned unlicensed PI Erica Jensen is a flawed and intriguing heroine in this meticulous mystery. Charlie Fox would work alongside her any day!” — Zoë Sharp, author of Bad Turn
     
    "A gritty, stunning portrayal of the impact and response to post-traumatic stress, packaged inside a compelling mystery."— Frank Zafiro, author of the Charlie-316 series
     
    "Mack keeps the action rolling along while fleshing out a keeper of a protagonist. Excellent read for neo-noir and private eye fans!"— W.D. Gagliani, author of The Judas Hit and the Nick Lupo Series
    Show book
  • The Last Seance - Tales of the Supernatural - cover

    The Last Seance - Tales of the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Reading a perfectly plotted Agatha Christie is like crunching into a perfect apple: that pure, crisp, absolute satisfaction.”—Tana French, New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    From the Queen of Suspense, an all-new collection of her spookiest and most sinister stories, including an Agatha Christie story never before published in the USA, The Wife of Kenite! 
    For lovers of the supernatural and the macabre comes this collection of ghostly and chilling stories from legendary mystery writer Agatha Christie. Fantastic psychic visions, specters looming in the shadows, encounters with deities, a man who switches bodies with a cat—be sure to keep the light on whilst reading these tales.  
    The Last Séance gathers twenty stories, some featuring Christie’s beloved detectives Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, in one haunting compendium that explores all things occult and paranormal, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.
    Show book
  • Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone Thriller—Book 4) - cover

    Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone...

    Jack Mars

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    “One of the best thrillers I have read this year. The plot is intelligent and will keep you hooked from the beginning. The author did a superb job creating a set of characters who are fully developed and very much enjoyable. I can hardly wait for the sequel.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Any Means Necessary)
    
    OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling Luke Stone thriller series, which begins with ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1)!
    
    A small arsenal of U.S. nuclear weapons are stolen from a NATO base in Europe. The world scrambles to figure out who the culprits are and what their target is—and to stop them before they unleash hell on humanity.
    
    With only hours left before it is too late, the President has no choice but to call in Luke Stone, the former head of an elite FBI para-military team. Finally getting his life back in order, and with devastating news on his own family front, Luke does not want the job. But with the newly elected female President desperate for his help, he realizes he cannot turn his back on her.
    
    In the action-packed, international cat-and-mouse chase that follows, Luke, Ed and his former team will have to be more daring, and break more rules, than ever before. With the fate of the world at stake, Luke heads into the murky fog of war and espionage, and discovers the culprit is not who he thinks it is after all.
    
    A political thriller with non-stop action, dramatic international settings and heart-pounding suspense, OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling and critically-acclaimed Luke Stone series, an explosive new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #5 in the Luke Stone series will be available soon.
    Show book