Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Where the Ice Falls - The Falls Mysteries - cover

Where the Ice Falls - The Falls Mysteries

J.E. Barnard

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a reluctant psychic finds a frozen intern at her boss’s ski-chalet, a sceptical ex-cop braves the winter wilderness to hunt the killer.
Sleuth Lacey McCrae suffers from PTSD from her RCMP career and is recovering from her marriage to an abusive ex-husband
Lacey and close friend Dee struggle when Dee’s terminally ill mother applies for medically assisted dying
Author has a background in psychology, including PTSD education and volunteering with abused women

Other books that might interest you

  • Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold murder mystery - cover

    Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold...

    Stella Cameron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Second in the traditional British mystery series featuring rural inn owner and amateur sleuth Alex Duggins: an intriguing departure for bestselling romantic suspense author Stella Cameron.
    
    Once again Alex Duggins and her veterinarian friend Tony Harrison are thrown into a major murder investigation. An almost fresh body is discovered in a disused well among the ruins of a 14th-century manor house … the motive for the killing a baffling mystery. The victim was a widow who had lived quietly in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Folly-on-Weir for the past ten years. Who on earth could want her dead, and by such brutal means?
    
    As rumour and speculation engulf the town, another woman is attacked – and Alex  discovers that behind a tranquil face lurks a cunning and vengeful mind. Despite warnings from the police to stop interfering, she finds herself in the sights of a ruthless killer who has decided she knows too much … 
     
    The Alex Duggins series will appeal to fans of Louise Penny and Elizabeth George.
    Show book
  • Nothing Else Remains - The compulsive read - cover

    Nothing Else Remains - The...

    Robert Scragg

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    'Intricately plotted and expertly paced, Nothing Else Remains is British crime writing at its finest' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show 
    When Max Brennan’s estranged father and then his own girlfriend go missing in quick succession, he turns to his old friend Detective Jake Porter for help. As Max is then attacked in his own home, Porter and his partner Nick Styles waste no time in investigating. But when their main suspect turns up dead, alongside a list of other targets, it seems the case is much bigger than it first appeared. With events spiraling, can Porter and Styles catch the killer before another victim is claimed?
    Show book
  • A Sanctuary of Spirits - cover

    A Sanctuary of Spirits

    Leanna Renee Hieber

    • 4
    • 24
    • 0
    As the twentieth century approaches, New York’s Ghost Precinct crosses a threshold into the land of the dead in this paranormal gaslamp mystery.  New York City, 1899. The NYPD’s Ghost Precinct, an all-female team of psychics and spiritualists led by gifted young medium Eve Whitby, is unconventional to say the least. And now they’re stepping even further outside the bounds of normal police work—into an otherworldly realm known as the Ghost Sanctuary. It’s a place where the dead can provide answers. But will Eve and her colleagues pay a price for venturing beyond the land of the living?   Investigating a mortician’s sudden disappearance, Eve encounters a charismatic magician and mesmerist whose abilities are unlike any she’s seen before. Is he connected to the mysterious deaths around the city—or a link to the Ghost Sanctuary? Torn between the bonds of her team and her growing relationship with the dashing Detective Horowitz, Eve must discern truth from illusion and friend from foe before another soul vanishes into the ether.  Praise for The Eterna Files “Smart, boundlessly creative gaslamp fantasy.” —RT Book Reviews   “Will have readers chomping at the bit for more.” —Suspense Magazine on Eterna and Omega
    Show book
  • Closing Time - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Closing Time - A Stonechild and...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    Secrets abound at a northern Ontario lodge when a teenage employee is murdered. 
     
    
    
    It’s late summer and a restless Officer Kala Stonechild has taken her foster niece, Dawn, on a canoe trip at Pine Hollow Lodge in the wilderness north of Sault Ste. Marie. But the getaway turns deadly when a teenage girl goes missing on her way home from an evening shift at the lodge’s restaurant. 
     
    
    
    After the girl’s body is found between the lodge and the nearby town of Searchmont, Stonechild reluctantly agrees to help with the investigation. She’s teamed with Clark Harrison, an officer she worked with during her last posting in northwestern Ontario. As the investigation heats up, Stonechild’s past threatens the close bonds she’s forged back home. Will she return to her life in Kingston, or will the rekindling of an old relationship lure her away for good?
    Show book
  • Proof of Guilt - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    Proof of Guilt - An Inspector...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Ian Rutledge of Scotland Yard must contend with two dangerous enemies in New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd's Proof of Guilt. 
    Can Rutledge solve the apparent murder of a top wine merchant while dealing with interference from his superior, the new Acting Chief Superintendent? 
    Readers of Charles Todd’s Bess Crawford books and London-based Ian Rutledge mysteries will be thrilled with Proof of Guilt, clue by clue.
    Show book
  • Trap Lane - cover

    Trap Lane

    Stella Cameron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The troubled past of the Black Dog’s manager returns to haunt him in the intriguing new Cotswold village mystery featuring pub owner Alex Duggins.
    Although he has always kept his past carefully hidden, as the ever-reliable manager of her well-stocked pub, The Black Dog, Hugh Rhys has Alex Duggins’ total trust. However the unexpected arrival of two women from his past raises the fury of the usually even-tempered Hugh, threatens his carefully-crafted reputation and sends shockwaves through the village.
    When a battered body is discovered in a deep pond near Hugh’s estate, Alex and her partner Tony are once again pulled into a chilling murder investigation. With Hugh’s odd behaviour ensuring that he becomes the police’s chief suspect, Alex determines to prove his innocence. But she’s about to find herself walking a dangerous line, looking for a killer she may wish she had never found …
    Show book