Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Red Dog - A Novel - cover

Red Dog - A Novel

Jason miller

Publisher: Harper Paperbacks

  • 1
  • 1
  • 1

Summary

Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne’er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller’s wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series—perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. 
One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt—a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters—the self-appointed “redneck detective” known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for “bloodhounding”—tracking down missing persons the police can’t find or won’t—Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses’ red-haired purebred pitbull—and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off—Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. . .  all because he just wanted to get cool.As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Way Between the Worlds - cover

    Way Between the Worlds

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Aelf Fen medieval mystery - Come to me! I need you! These words bring apprentice healer Lassair awake one morning in the spring of 1092, trembling with terror. Soon Lassair is certain that one of her loved ones is in terrible danger . . . and when the news comes that a nun at Chatteris Abbey - where her beloved sister Elfritha lives - has been murdered, Lassair fears the worst. She sets off immediately, but the danger she will have to face may be greater than she is ready for . . .
    Show book
  • Me Myself and Them - cover

    Me Myself and Them

    Dan Mooney

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Winner of the 2016 Luke Bitmead Bursary 
    'I've never quite read anything like it... funny, moving and terrifying all at once' Rick O'Shea 
    Struggling to cope with a tragic loss, Denis Murphy has learned to live a bit differently. Both his friends are used to it - the only problem is his monstrous housemates. 
    When his enigmatic ex-girlfriend comes back into his life, she threatens to shatter the finely crafted world around him. 
    As Denis begins to re-emerge from his sheltered existence and rediscover the person he used to be, things turn nasty, and he is forced to confront the demons that share not only his house, but also his head. 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'One part The Rosie Project, one part personal Heart Of Darkness, one part Stephen King - I've never quite read anything like it...There are many novels around in recent years with characters struggling with their mental health but none that I've read as original as this. Me, Myself And Them incredibly manages to be funny, moving and terrifying all at once ...I started thinking it was a story of the absurd but welled up by the time I got to the end. Dan Mooney has something quite unique here in a story of one man's journey through (literally) his own imprisoning demons of mental health. Give it a try. I hope it finds the audience it deserves.' Rick O'Shea 
    'As witty as it is unsettling ... I missed my train stop, twice, because of this book ... Dan Mooney has crafted a story of the strongest kind, that is, one that holds the power to prompt thought and dialogue. And this is a story much needed.' The BookBag 
     
    'Remarkable, fascinating and unnerving. Dan warmly invites us in and shows us to our comfy seat as he introduces us to a shocking post-trauma world where everything and nothing makes perfect sense.' Annie West
    Show book
  • Land of the Silver Dragon - cover

    Land of the Silver Dragon

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Apprentice healer Lassair isn’t too alarmed when a travelling peddler relates a grisly tale of a red-bearded giant breaking into a woman’s home and caving in her skull like an eggshell; peddlers, she has observed, tend towards the dramatic. But her attitude changes when she learns that the dead woman is a distant relation. The incident makes Lassair’s family uneasy, for the intruder seemed to be searching for something. 
    What could it be? Lassair has no idea. But as the stranger grows increasingly desperate, his search brings violence to her very home.
    Show book
  • Out of the Dawn Light - cover

    Out of the Dawn Light

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A brand new medieval mystery from the author of the Hawkenlye series - England, 1087. On her sister's wedding day, Lassair meets an attractive and enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside world to her backwater Fenland village. When he asks Lassair to use her unique talents to help locate a mysterious treasure she accepts, despite the dangers. But this is no ordinary treasure hunt; the object of the perilous search is five hundred years old and has a terrifying power of its own . . .
    Show book
  • Worst Fears Realized - cover

    Worst Fears Realized

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Not a man to dwell on the past, Stone Barrington has no choice but to rattle old skeletons when the people closest to him start dying, and he has little to go on but the suspicion that the killer might be someone he once knew. The trip down memory lane isn't all bad though, for it reunites Stone with his ex-partner, Dino Bacchetti, now head of detectives in the nineteenth precinct. 
    Trying to find a brilliant killer in a sea of old faces is difficult enough without Stone's former love, Arrington, now Mrs. Vance Calder, resurfacing too—especially when she sets off her own fireworks coming nose to nose with his latest flame, a Mafia princess as beautiful as she is dangerous. 
    Caught on a thrill ride of a case that tests him as none has ever done before, Stone races to find a twisted madman with a taste for blood vengeance, with only a prayer to find him before Stone's worst fears are realized.
    Show book
  • Trust Me I'm Dead - cover

    Trust Me I'm Dead

    Sherryl Clark

    • 2
    • 17
    • 1
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 CWA DEBUT DAGGER FOR UNPUBLISHED FIRST NOVEL
     
    She hasn't seen her brother in years. Now, he's dead.
     
    When Judi Westerholme finds out her estranged brother has been murdered, she assumes it's connected to his long term drug addiction. Returning home, she is shocked to discover he had been clean for years, had a wife – now missing – a child and led a respectable life. But if he had turned his life around, why was he killed in a drug deal shooting? And where is his wife?
     
    Desperate to know what really happened, Judi sets out to uncover the truth, even though it means confronting her own traumatic past. But she's not the only one looking for answers...
     
    With a gutsy, unapologetic protagonist, Trust Me, I'm Dead is a gritty and bold crime thriller that explores the sacrifices people will make for their families.
     
    'Gripping and disturbing, Clark delves into dark places close to home. Trust Me, I’m Dead will linger in your mind after you have read it' - Leigh Russell, author of the bestselling Geraldine Steel series
    Show book