Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Journal of the Dead - A Story of Friendship and Murder in the New Mexico Desert - cover

Journal of the Dead - A Story of Friendship and Murder in the New Mexico Desert

Jason Kersten

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

I killed and buried my best friend today ... 
When authorities found Raffi Kodikian -- barely alive -- four days after he and his friend David Coughlin became lost in Rattlesnake Canyon, they made a grim and shocking discovery. Kodikian freely admitted that he had stabbed Coughlin twice in the heart. Had there been a darker motive than mercy? And how could anyone, under any circumstances, kill his best friend? 
Armed with the journal Kodikian and Coughlin carried into Rattle- snake Canyon, Jason Kersten re-creates in riveting detail those fateful days that led to the killing in an infamously unforgiving wilderness.

Who read this book also read:

  • Breaking Point - cover

    Breaking Point

    Suzy Spencer

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of THE FORTUNE HUNTER
    Andrea Yates, a suburban Houston mother of five, horrified the nation on June 20, 2001, when she dialed 911 and said, "I killed my children."
    While her husband Rusty, a NASA engineer, was at work, Andrea filled the family bathtub with water and systematically drowned their children, ages six months to seven years. As her eldest child lay lifeless in the bathtub and the bodies of her four youngest rested in her bed, Andrea, a devoted Christian wife and former nurse, called the police to confess her sin.
    The investigations by the prosecutors, by the defense, and by the press delved deeper into Andrea’s mind and history, revealing a disturbing web of suicidal tendencies, depression, and psychoses. While her husband struggled between his overwhelming grief and his loyalty to his incarcerated wife, an outraged nation asked one question after another: How could anyone do this? What would drive a mother to kill her children?
    Drawing from hundreds of hours of interviews, court testimony, and medical records, including new access to psychiatric and legal files, BREAKING POINT traces the story of an all-American family struggling with the darkness of a mental illness that twisted a loving mother into a killer obsessed with hellfire.
    "BREAKING POINT is a truly spellbinding read."—Aphrodite Jones, bestselling author of CRUEL SACRIFICE
    “Suzy Spencer weaves the dark threads of mental illness, infanticide, and punishment into a classic true-crime tapestry that is both thorough and gut-wrenching.”—Ron Franscell, bestselling author of THE DARKEST NIGHT
    This new edition of BREAKING POINT has been updated throughout.
    Show book
  • Chasing Diana - Perception vs Reality - cover

    Chasing Diana - Perception vs...

    Jack Firestone, Robin Firestone

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
      
    TAGLINE: While vacationing in Paris 20 years ago, the lives of an American family collide with the fatal automobile crash of the world’s most beloved Princess. INSPIRED BY A TRUE STORY. 
    Princess Diana was killed on August 31, 1997 in a car crash in Paris. Where were you when you heard the news? Everybody has an answer, but nobody has an answer quite like Robin Firestone and Jack Firestone, the wife-and-husband team who have co-authored "CHASING DIANA: PERCEPTION VS. REALITY." 
    The happenstance and capriciousness of life places an American family in the seminal historic moment of the shocking death of Princess Diana in this dramatic, though breezy and light thriller/drama. A bit off-the-wall at times, yet always laced with a serious dose of wry humor and pathos, this book has the quirky endearing feel of THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL but with the macabre darkness and ironic style of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN. With an urbane sensibility coupled with a universally recognized subject matter, "CHASING DIANA: PERCEPTION VS. REALITY" will appeal to international audiences. 
    Included in this volume is a very rare Afterword, as the reader experiences a behind-the-scenes look at the trial that shook Great Britain to its core. After ten years of trying in vain to bring the truth to the forefront, on December 3, 2007, the Firestones were finally called upon to give live testimony in London at the Royal Courts of Justice for the "Coroner's Inquests into the Deaths of Diana, Princess of Wales and Mr. Dodi Al Fayed." They describe their ordeal for the first time ever in print, in this Special Edition. 
    And also included is Mr. Firestone's personal journal entitled "Tunnel Vision," which gives personal insight, from a subjective point-of-view, to the car crash, the investigation, the police, the paparazzi... and the relentlessness and restlessness of the news media that controls our lives. 
    Visit us at www.ChasingDiana.com and www.Facebook.com/ChasingDiana
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood' New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300 patients, he was also perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American history. Cullen's murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned sixteen years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
     Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a surprisingly intelligent and complicated young man whose promising career was overwhelmed by his compulsion to kill, and whose shy demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to his family and friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two former Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of Cullen's professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put everything at risk, including her job and the safety of her children, there's no telling how many more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse does more than chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless efforts to stop him; it paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and betrayal.
    Show book