Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked - cover

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked

Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Publisher: Walden Pond Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a series of zany, action-packed middle grade mysteries featuring platypus police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley. 
  
When a call comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O’Malley are going to have to learn to set their differences aside if they want to get to the bottom of this. Especially when the clues all point to Frank Pandini Jr., Kallamazoo’s first son and its most powerful, well-respected businessman. 
  
Fans of Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s own Lunch Lady graphic novels will flip for Jarrett’s series of funny illustrated Platypus Police Squad middle grade novels!

Other books that might interest you

  • Throne of Glass - cover

    Throne of Glass

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 38
    • 0
    After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. 
     
    Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.  
     
    Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 
     
    Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.
    Show book
  • Tower of Dawn - cover

    Tower of Dawn

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 6
    • 0
    In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire. 
     
    Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken. 
     
    His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica--the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them. 
     
    But what they discover in Antica will change them both--and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.
    Show book
  • Crown of Midnight - cover

    Crown of Midnight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known. 
    But does she have the heart of a killer? 
     
    After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin.  But Calaena is far from loyal to the crown. Keeping up the charade - while pretending to do the king's bidding - will test her skills in an entirely new way.  And it certainly isn't the only point of confusion for the young girl.  Because though she's made her choice between Dorian and Chaol, the ways of the heart are never simple...
    Show book
  • So You Think You Know About Stegosaurus? - cover

    So You Think You Know About...

    Ben Garrod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Biologist and TV scientist Professor Ben Garrod's fun, funny, informative and collectable series of books about dinosaurs is the most up-to-date on the market. 
     
    Following Tyrannosaurus rex, Triceratops and Diplodocus, the series continues with Velociraptor, Stegosaurus and Spinosaurus. Highly collectable and pocket-size, with an introduction by Dr Jane Goodall. 
     
    Did you know that not all dinosaurs were green and scaly, some were ginger and feathered, or that they didn't all roar, they cooed like pigeons, or that the ultimate prehistoric predator was actually not a dinosaur? 
     
    TV scientist, Ben Garrod, is proud to be a geek as he mixes hard science and humour to prove that science is for everyone. Looking at the evolutionary arms race, prey, predators, place, time, groups and species, Ben reveals new-look dinosaurs. Additional sections include: Ask an Expert, New Science and Fossil Finder as well as quizzes to test your dinosaur knowledge. 
     
    Praise for Professor Ben Garrod: 
     
    'A celebration of everything that science is really about' NatSCA. 
     
    'A perfect primer for kids to learn more about the amazing "terrible lizards"' BBC Wildlife Magazine. 
     
    'Shines a fresh, contemporary light on this ever-popular topic' The Bookseller. 
     
    'Collectable and eye-catching, with plenty of diagrams and illustrations' Books for Keeps.
    Show book
  • Mimi and the Mountain Dragon - cover

    Mimi and the Mountain Dragon

    Michael Morpurgo

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As soon as the bells stop ringing, I¹m going to carry you home to your mother, back up to the Mountain Dragon's castle  . . . 
    Mimi and the Mountain Dragon is a beautifully poignant and atmospheric Christmas story from War Horse author Michael Morpurgo and illustrated by Helen Stephens, the talent behind How to Hide a Lion from Grandma. 
    In her castle lair high in the mountains of Switzerland, lives a terrible dragon. In the village below, lives a little girl called Mimi. When she finds a baby dragon in the woodshed, she makes a brave decision that will bring joy and peace to the village for ever. 
    A heart-warming Christmas adventure, that all the family can share. The perfect combination of magic, adventure and Christmas cheer – and makes an ideal festive stocking filler for kids aged 5 and up. Look out for Michael's other Christmas classics The Goose is Getting Fat, The Best of Times, The Best Christmas Present in the World and On Angel Wings. 
    Michael Morpurgo is the master storyteller of Kensuke's Kingdom, An Eagle in the Snow, Listen to the Moon, Shadow, and An Elephant in the Garden. Michael has written more than a hundred books and won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children’s Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times. 
    Helen Stephens is the award winning illustrator of How to Hide a Lion, Fleabag and The Night Iceberg (Alison Green Books). Known for her line work and bright and instantly recognisable illustrations, Helen has both collaborated with authors (Sophie Hannah, Roger McGough and Michael Morpurgo) and written and illustrated her own picture books including The Big Adventures of the Smalls and the Betsey series, both with Egmont. Helen lives in Northumberland, by the sea, with her family.
    Show book
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin - cover

    A Court of Wings and Ruin

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 15
    • 0
    Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series. 
     
    Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. 
     
    As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.  
     
    In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.
    Show book